We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel. Good value for money.”
Review of Dukes Folly Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dukes Folly Hotel
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice hotel. Good value for money.”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Friendly staff, nice rooms, good location. Would stay here again & recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    92
    44
    22
    12
See reviews for
36
137
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Catterick Garrison
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We were staying for a weekend get together, 13 of us in total and really enjoyed our stay, Hotel was lovely , we had all 6 themed rooms, all different but all very nice, Staff very friendly and polite, Breakfast was very good. liked the later breakfast , could have a lie in after a late night and still be up in time for breakfast,
We will certainly be staying again.

Room Tip: THa Castle room was superb and big, but all themed rooms were very nice .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank red3373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

My partner and i stayed there for valentines night,we had the castle room which was fabulous,the four poster bed was amazing,the room was spotless and lovely and warm,the service we received from John was second to none,we had a wonderful night in the themed room.the breakfast was very good,parking on site easy i would recommend the castle room to any couples who are looking for something a bit different , quirky and fun.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank matthew h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

made very welcome on arrival,with hot tea/coffee on cold +windy friday night, rooms very good,nice size.food excellent,hotel staff john,jim,peter all very helpful/polite.we had the castle room which we found very comfortable,clean.staff very knowledgeable about local area,eateries and attractions.have already rebooked for wedding anniversary,would recommend this hotel to friends and family. plenty of toiletries/clean towels.

Room Tip: try themed rooms,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank george b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Stayed at the Dukes folly for a short break with my boyfriend. We are a young couple and were made to feel at ease as soon as we arrived with the man giving us the door code "incase we went off clubbing" - i think thats nice as a lot of places can be a little funny about young couples and theyre usual habits - not that we aren't angels! The location of the hotel is fantastic for shopping on Lord Street and convinient for places to eat out and things to do such as cinema, bowling ect. The hotel looked lovely and welcoming all lit up when we arrived. The staff were very welcoming. We were on the top floor in a double room however the gentleman said we could move the next night to a bigger room. The first room was small but it was cosy and the bed was comfortable. From reading other reviews i can see that they have obviously taken note as i found the rooms clean and warm despite it being a very cold and windy weekend. Due to lazy lie ins we did miss breakfast so im not able to comment! But the next morning when we were ready we were moved to "The Castle Room". This room is a good size and has a bath. The furnishings including the four poster bed, medieval paintings and stain glass window on the bathroom were very apt! I think it was lovely of them to move us and was so pleased with the room it really made us smile and was the first experience of anything like a themed room! PLENTY of tea/coffee and milk which is always much appreciated. All in all i must say that for the price you pay for the room & breakfast; the staff, location and the rooms made it a great stay for us and we deffinatley will stay again.We even booked an extra night! Fair prices, good value for money... if you are an absolute clean freak i would look somewhere else but for a comfortable cosy and happy stay this was perfect.

Room Tip: The Castle Room was lovely would ask to stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Notnedj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.9 km away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
2,879 reviews
0.4 km away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.1 km away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
535 reviews
0.2 km away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.4 km away
Vincent
Vincent
#5 of 23 in Southport
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes Folly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Folly Hotel

Property: Dukes Folly Hotel
Address: 11 Duke Street, Southport PR8 1LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,288 - ₹ 9,905
Hotel Class:3 star — Dukes Folly Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke's Folly Hotel carries the legacy of being the first hotel in Southport. It is located just 30 yards from Lord Street, Southport's world famous Victorian Shopping Boulevard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Dukes Folly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing