We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The manager said, if you don't want stains on your sheets, don't book a standard room.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Giltar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Giltar Hotel
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The manager said, if you don't want stains on your sheets, don't book a standard room.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Looked nice online and from the outside, the further you go in, the worse it gets. Bedroom had stains on sheets and was generally unclean and poorly maintained. The manager said if you want a better room, you shouldn't have booked a standard room. We left immediately and stayed next door in the Atlantic hotel which was significantly better.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tr1angleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    164
    54
    22
    14
See reviews for
123
295
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

The decor of The Giltar's restaurant is lovely: all sophisticated colours, crisp white cloths and subtle flowers and prints. The rooms (there are two interconnecting ones) have big windows that offer views of the sea across the road. The staff are well presented and professional; they were smiling and friendly. For all of these reasons, it is a good place to go for a family lunch.

And now to the meal... I chose a nice retro starter - prawn cocktail - which was tasty but rather small. My main was roast beef, yorkshire pudding and vegetables. The beef was delicious. The yorkshire, pretty good. It was the extras that let the meal down. Roast potatoes weren't crisp, parsnips were too woody and inedible and the 'real' gravy was tasteless.

At £9.50 - the roast dinner needs to be better.

I have to apologise for not speaking to the staff at the end and not letting them know that parts of the meal were up to scratch. I was being treated to lunch by elderly in-laws and didn't want to cause a fuss.

If the Giltar's chef and his/her team can have more control over the food - this would be a really super place to eat!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docphot1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

Refurbished room was comfortable and specious enough. Food ok but not exceptional. Dinner ok but expensive for the quality. Staff were courteous, friendly and helpful - but then then why should we expect anything less, and go over the top praising people for doing what we've paid them to do and is in their own interest!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveWoodgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
narberth, pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Well, we have just returned from a fabulous Fathers Day Lunch at the Giltar
Hotel in Tenby. Very busy and a real family buzz......what else would you expect on
Fathers Day. Both dining rooms were packed yet not too intrusive, staff extremely busy
but always had time to attend to any request. The food was excellent, piping hot, plentiful and simply delicious! Can't wait to return.

My compliments to the proprietors Malcolm and Patrick, they have owned the hotel for a few
years now and have certainly done an excellent job of 'turning it around'.

Well done owners and well done staff.

Room Tip: I have stayed in the refurbished bedrooms in the past and they are excellent. They overlook the Sou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tumblejim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm B, Owner at Giltar Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed celebrating Fathers Day with us. We'll pass the message onto our staff who work very hard to make everyones visit as enjoyable as possible. We hope to see you back at the hotel sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Lovely overnight stay here. Attending a wedding in the Giltar. The customer service was fabulous from start to finish- prompt check-in, we evening had a sea view that we were not expecting. The room was compact but well-appointed and obviously with a great view on such a sunny weekend. The wedding breakfast food was lovely and exceeded my expectations, as did the evening buffet. The breakfast was lovely and served promptly- cereals, juices, pastries, sliced meat alongside a full English with toast and coffee. The waiter was really pleasant and efficient. The only negative was that the car park was completely full and we had to pay to park in the rectory car park, luckily it was a very short walk to the hotel. I really think the Giltar is worthy of 4*s and in some respects (customer service) is worthy of 5*s.

Room Tip: Room 113 has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ge0Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
0.0 km away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
1.2 km away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#9 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#4 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.1 km away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#11 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.7 km away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#12 of 24 in Tenby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giltar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giltar Hotel

Property: Giltar Hotel
Address: 9 Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tenby
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,504 - ₹ 10,757
Hotel Class:3 star — Giltar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the hotel was taken over ownership in 2008 we have gone through a refurbishment programme and now offer both Deluxe and Premier rooms individually designed to a high standard with unique features, most with sea views. Enjoy a relaxing drink or bite to eat in our Cwtch bar/lounge with views overlooking Caldey Island. Our restaurant is open to the public and for residents of the hotel throughout the year including Christmas Day. We're a short walk from the historic walled town of Tenby and a stone throw away from Tenby's South Beach with spectacular sea views overlooking Caldey Island. We have a small car park at the rear of the hotel with 14 parking spaces. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Giltar Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing