We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed Stay”
Review of Giltar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Giltar Hotel
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
South Wales UK
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Disappointed Stay”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We planned an overnight stay having dropped off our son at his new place of work.The Giltar sounded the perfect place to relax in comfort in a newly refurbished room and have a quiet drink in the hotel bar (which looked lush) before retiring to our room. We had a disappointed stay.
Informed on arrival that the bar was closed due to a private function , drinks could be served in the sitting room (which resembled a nursing home).
Room was small very clean. Thinking people were very noisy banging doors due to a private function realised the noise were sash windows .
Bedside lighting did not work which I reported . The reception staff stated there has been several reports about the electrics!!
We went out in the wintry wind and rain to find a more social ,cosy environment ( which we did ) as the hotel appeared involved with its private function .
We returned to our room which had been refurbished as stated in the brochure but still looked tired with original carpet and chairs.
The bath room was clean but had unfinished grouting etc, someone had left a tissue in one of the holes of the tiling !!
There was a small wall heater which was good and soon warmed up the room but the bathrom was so cold with a very noisy fan.
I was so looking forward to our overnight stay in Tenby especially having read the Giltar 's website but at 3 am wished I was in my own home tired from having very little sleep due to the constant banging and rattling of the windows
In the morning our room with its spectacular views were masked by the condensation (obviously an ongoing problem with blackened wooden frames) which when you wiped excess water dripped onto the carpeted floor and the glass quickly obscured to view again.
Breakfast was good however and on checking out management did apologise for us being disappointed with our stay !!
Reason for being disappointed - felt misled and expected a more relaxed comfortable stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chunkymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    176
    60
    22
    14
See reviews for
128
321
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Having stayed at this hotel recently for a family reunion, I can honestly say that the rooms were lovely and cosy. We had a sea view overlooking Caldy island, which was stunning. The welcome and friendly staff were second to none.
The evening meal that was provided for our large party was fantastic. We could not have wished for a better setting to celebrate my Dads 90 birthday. Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonySouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

My wife and I travelled with two other couples for a new year break by coach with Alfa Travel.
All the staff, from owners to waiting and cleaning staff were excellent and friendly.
We all had rooms which had still to be refurbished, (The hotel is part way through a major refurbishment of the bedrooms) but they were still clean and comfortable. The location was perfect, even if the weather was a bit damp even for the 1st January. The thing which really stood out was the quality and presentation of all the food. It was way beyond anything we were expecting from a three star hotel. We could not have complained if the catering was being advertised as five star. To put my money where my mouth is (it's the food again!) we are booking to go back for next New Year.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PickerB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The room itself was one of their older rooms without the seaview. The room was perfectly clean and everything worked as it should. We got a good nights sleep.

They could do with fixing the dodgy pool table in the bar so that the poor old bar staff dont have to keep apologising and getting the balls out manually... Drinks at the bar were very cheap.

Parking is quite limited and we had to park on the street about 200 metres away. This isn't really a problem and the streets around are low in traffic and seem quite safe and finding a spare parking space took about 5 minutes and there is no money grabbing pay and display there - which helps.

Breakfast was average.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W-Mark**
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Good hotel. Clean room. Good food. Room was a bit small for a double (and for a sea view). Nice hotel but i expected to get more for my money. Good location though.

Room Tip: When booking a sea view ask staff how large the windows facing the sea are (only one out of two of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ghostcymru13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.0 km away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
432 reviews
1.4 km away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
0.1 km away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#8 of 23 in Tenby
535 reviews
0.7 km away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#11 of 23 in Tenby
383 reviews
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giltar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giltar Hotel

Property: Giltar Hotel
Address: 9 Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tenby
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,207 - ₹ 11,239
Hotel Class:3 star — Giltar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the hotel was taken over ownership in 2008 we have gone through a refurbishment programme and now offer both Deluxe and Premier rooms individually designed to a high standard with unique features, most with sea views. Enjoy a relaxing drink or bite to eat in our Cwtch bar/lounge with views overlooking Caldey Island. Our restaurant is open to the public and for residents of the hotel throughout the year including Christmas Day. We're a short walk from the historic walled town of Tenby and a stone throw away from Tenby's South Beach with spectacular sea views overlooking Caldey Island. We have a small car park at the rear of the hotel with 14 parking spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Giltar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giltar Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing