We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment”
Review of Giltar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Giltar Hotel
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We have just stayed at the Giltar hotel, for 3 nights... never again!! On a positive note, we were in a refurbished room which was excellent, and the sea view was amazing, but thats where it ends. We could not have our windows open at certain times of the day, between 8am and 9am,approx, and again between 4pm and 5pm, approx, as several coaches pulled up under our window with engines running either picking up a coach party or dropping them off. The first night we were served 'coach party' standard food which was very poor, and some of it was not edible, after complaining, we were not charged for it, we did not, however 'chance' having another evening meal at the hotel and we ate at a fabulous local restaurant the rest of our stay. The breakfasts were good, except on our last morning when we were ushered into a dining room with people from the coach parties, we were told the usual room was needed for a function later in the day, however, there were members of a coach party having their breakfast in that room !!! For the money we paid, £120 per night, we expect a higher standard of service, we did not have our usual choice of cereals, our cooked breakfast was poor, and generally, we could not wait to leave that dining room. On a final note, with respect to anyone on a coach holiday, we found these particular guests were very noisy once the evening entertainment had finished, when they were trying to find their rooms, some being very rude when asked to keep the noise down. When we told the duty manager of all our concerns during our stay when we booked out, all he did was shrug his shoulders and say sorry. We will NOTstay there again, and we CANNOT recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Our tip is, find another hotel !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank beverleymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    174
    59
    22
    14
See reviews for
125
313
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We decided to stay at the Giltar Hotel after seeing it on the television programme about Tenby. We booked one of the upgraded rooms and our room was really lovely with a beautiful view across to Caldy Island.

The staff are very helpful indeed and the breakfast delicious and was served hot which in some hotels is not the case.

We cannot wait to stay again and are already planning another night next month.

Well done Giltar Hotel for your excellent hospitality.

Room Tip: Dont be put off about the non upgraded rooms as we happened to see one which was being cleaned and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tess42uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We managed to be able to take advantage of last wekends Ocober heatwave and headed down to Tenby so did no research hotels before going down. The Giltar Hotel looks fab from the outside someone has certainly taken great trouble with the garden and planters at the front of the hotel. They only had one room left a standard Double so this is what we took.It had wonderful views of this magnificent coastline . The bed was very comfortable indeed and a nice little shower room all we needed really .This is one of the split bedrooms where the big room is divided into 2 so you effectivly share the double bay window but this was fine . It was extememly clean with nice crisp white duvet covers.

The service was especially pleasing, with the staff treating you like an old friend.
The breakfast was full English breakfast, served to you by a waiter/waitress and a help yourself buffet of cereal,fruit.juices and pastries.
This hotel is in a great location, walking distance to everything and wonderful views of the ocean.
If you want one of the refurbed rooms make sure you confirm at booking.But i was quite happy with the standard room as we came for the beach and only slept here .But it was lovely to see the sea when we woke and to hear the waves as we slept.
I would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want a refurbed /bigger room make sure you confirm it at booking stage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tt5th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We thought the rooms decor was a little tatty ( for the want of a better word!) However on saying that it was clean and tidy.The bed extremly comfortable. We understand that the hotel is undergoing a refurbishment so will be interesting to see the results.The staff were helpful and friendly. The meals were average, but well cooked and hot and served prompt. I would recommend this hotel if you want small friendly place that is not pretentious. I would return if i decide to come back to Tenby

Room Tip: the rooms on the lower floors i understand have been refurbished. The top floor rooms have windows t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KathyCliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We visited this hotel on an Alfa coach holiday. we were very pleased with our "standard" room I have stayed in ones a lot less comfortable and clean in other hotels that were suposed to be superior rooms. The television was able to receive All the Freeview TV and radio channels.
The views from our room were superb. The highlight of the week for us was the Tuesday evening concert by the famous Tenby Male Voice Choir.

Room Tip: Pay extra for sea view room 214 is excellent with dual aspect
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank saronie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
1.2 km away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#7 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.0 km away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.1 km away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
1.4 km away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giltar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giltar Hotel

Property: Giltar Hotel
Address: 9 Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tenby
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,232 - ₹ 11,284
Hotel Class:3 star — Giltar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the hotel was taken over ownership in 2008 we have gone through a refurbishment programme and now offer both Deluxe and Premier rooms individually designed to a high standard with unique features, most with sea views. Enjoy a relaxing drink or bite to eat in our Cwtch bar/lounge with views overlooking Caldey Island. Our restaurant is open to the public and for residents of the hotel throughout the year including Christmas Day. We're a short walk from the historic walled town of Tenby and a stone throw away from Tenby's South Beach with spectacular sea views overlooking Caldey Island. We have a small car park at the rear of the hotel with 14 parking spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Giltar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giltar Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing