We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveller rating
87
22
4
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
87
22
4
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews elemis products stunning hotel minor issue comfortable bed per day sea front lovely room short stay parking space nothing is too much trouble stayed nights little touches little gem yogurt hancocks harbour andy
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 120 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2016

We stayed for three nights over Saturday to Tuesday. As a family with 3 young children (1yr old twins) picked a family room with sea view.

Before I mention the room there is one big main point which is if you stay over a weekend then hardly anywhere serves food in the evening. With young children we asked about reseving a table for dinner as they eat about 5.30 ish only to be told the hotel doesn't serve food after 4.30pm on a Sunday?!? So we were left wondering what to do as the time was gone that already. No where is open hardly apart from a new starter bar and the Indian so that was our only choices.......not great. With a 5star rating we would expect at least a snack such as sandwiches to be on offer at least.

We were provided travel cots but no bedding for them was supplied so I asked for sheets to cover the bases (we have sleeping bags for them otherwise). Also the travel cots were not made up when the maid had been in which I think is bad as I was left to do it each day.

On arrival in the room the included robes and slippers were not provided, however this was rectified the next day when mentioned.

Our room was on the top floor and it is quite a hike up lots of stair cases.....not recommended for people with walking issues. If you have any issues there are no phones so you have to walk back down all the stairs, which is very annoying.

The bedside light was not working and when mentioning it they didn't stock spare bulbs and on the day that they said it was going to be fixed it still was not. Again this is not acceptable 5star standards.

Not the hotels fault on this but if you have a room facing to sea just beware in Friday and Saturday nights the noise if awful from the Weatherspoon pub and we had a terrible nights sleep with noise on the Saturday night. Earplugs are needed for sure!

In the bathroom there is hardly anywhere to put your washbag as the shelves as v small so had to use a ledge by the window where it kept falling into the bath.

Lack of drawer storage...a nice chest of drawers in the room would be a good idea as we just lived out of the suitcase as no where suitable to store non hanging clothes.

Plus lack of vanity area so washing hair is difficult with needing to sit down and straighten it.

Another traveler mentioned the lack of toiletries supplied and I would agree and say 1 tiny bottle of shampoo is not enough as it should be replaced daily.....which it wasn't.

On the plus side the staff are very friendly and smiley and one lady in particular was amazing with my our kids in giving us toys for them to play with.

The food is yummy and breakfast was a pleasure to go down to each day.

In my opinion this is a good hotel but it has quite a few things it needs to iron out to justify the high end rates. I would rate it 4 star........

Room tip: We stayed in room 10 nice view but stairs a pain
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honestasitgets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare N, Front Office Manager at The Habit Boutique Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and experience during your stay with us, please note that all of your points have been noted and raised with relevant staff members. Apologies that we didn't make you aware that our restaurant isn't open Sunday evenings during the winter, this should have been made apparent to you.

We apologise that bedding was not provided for the travel cots, we find that guests tend to bring their own but are obviously more than happy to provide if they don’t – the fact that the travel cots were not made up has been brought up with housekeeping as has the fact that slippers and robes were not already in the room for you. We have also raised the point of the light-bulbs and toiletries as this is part of their daily check-list.

Because we advertise as a restaurant with rooms and like to provide a personal service we don’t offer phones in the rooms like a hotel does, we are also looking into fitting shelves or drawers into that particular room.

Thank you for your compliments on our staff, it is very much appreciated that our service is being noted. We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best wishes, all @ The Habit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2016

My friend lives in Ilfracombe and suggested we give The Habit a try, for a cheeky afternoon drink. I have to say we were not disappointed. We had drinks on the terrace (cocktails approx £6.50 each) and blankets were available should we need them. The barman brought our drinks to us and we sat and watched the world go by. As the afternoon cooled off, we made our way back into the lounge which is furnished to a high standard. We sat on a comfy sofa and drank prosecco. We were joined by Boris the dog, a small friendly terrier, who was adorable. We will definitely be visiting The Habit again next time I am in Ilfracombe. I can't comment on the rooms as we did not stay, but the toilets were very lovely!

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Girlbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare N, Owner at The Habit Boutique Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2016

Thank you for spending time to review us... and I'm sure Boris is looking forward to your next visit too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2016

Book this as a surprised. Had to change booking as my fiancé is a nurse and had to work on the weekend I had booked. The reception staff were very understanding and helped me surprise my fiancé . Although parking was a little issue, perhaps because the weather was awful. We both got saturated with rain storm.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.The room was very nice. Not the largest but perfect for the two of us. We did have a booking in the restaurant , it was Easter and the staff were setting up tables in the bar to accommodate guests and walk in clients.
The staff tried to accommodate our food choices . We slept well but again we thought the breakfast times were a little early for a Sunday . But a nice small restaurant with rooms.

Room tip: Check out parking ahead of check in.
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BristolDawn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

Popped in for a bar meal and were amazed by how well this lovely old building has been updated. Can't wait to bring friends to sit in the sun on the terrace when the weather warms up. Good steak and friendly staff. There is a huge lounge and bar with squishy sofas and places to eat and the conservatory, part of the main restaurant, looked like another great dining area.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

Without a doubt the most welcoming, sincere, accommodating team I have ever had the pleasure of being looked after by.

Everyone from reception to housekeeping showed us an unparalleled level of service throughout our short stay.

The food is excellent, the room was worth twice the price paid and the shower! Knock out !

Highly recommend this small family run hotel.

A big thank you to everyone we met this weekend for making out stay so so pleasurable.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Shrab S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare N, Owner at The Habit Boutique Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2016

Thank you so much Shrab for the wonderful review.... we enjoyed playing our part in making the Wedding Weekend a happy, fun and memorable occasion. The only disappointment was, we didn't get to see Samantha in her wedding dress.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews