We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (326)
Filter reviews
326 results
Traveller rating
271
39
6
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
271
39
6
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty bar coastal path great hosts biscuits on arrival warm welcome local produce walk into town local area breakfast was delicious home from home family room places to visit wonderful weekend top floor little touches visiting ilfracombe
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 326 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We chose Norbury due to a recommendation. Adam and Paula were great hosts and the breakfast was very tasty and made of obviously high quality engredients. The house is lovely and decorated in a vintage/retro style which we both really liked....very cool. The hosts were great and very knowledgeable of the area. The house itself is just 10 min walk from the town centre. We had a great time experiencing some truly fantastic live music and lot's of great food....couldn't recommend enough and will definitely be going back

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank nathannyquist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We chose Norbury house because of the great reviews & we were not disappointed!!
Had a wedding booked for the sunday at tunnels beaches so thought we would make a long weekend of it.Adam & Paula are incredibly friendly,warm & great hosts...
Nothing is too much trouble from the delicious breakfast every morning (the full english is a must!!) to numerous cups of tea whenever you feel like it...also lots of advice on local places to eat,etc...
Paula & Adam kindly let us take their lovely dog Bovril out for not 1 but 2 long walks around the coastal path,which has wonderfull views..
All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay & will definately recommend to anyone...
Will definately be returning in the future...

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 534David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

We have just returned from a week here as a family and couldn’t have had or hoped for a nicer week. We have two young children and were attracted to the B&B by its stylish rooms and crucially the family room which has a separate adult room but not two entrance doors which for us is quite important with young kids.

On arrival Paula and Adam were both there to greet us and welcome us to their home; they helped us bring luggage to the room (we don’t travel light with kids!) and show us around. There is a very stylish lounge area for guests to use which has an honesty bar stocked with spirits and mixers; a lovely patio and garden area; and the dining room where breakfast is served. There is also a huge DVD collection to borrow from and free WiFi.

The family room we stayed in is on the first floor around a small corner to itself. It has 2 rooms, one with twin beds and the other with a double bed with the ensuite off the adult room. The rooms are separated by a curtain. There is ample storage (wardrobe, chest of drawers, desk), both rooms have a tv. The kids room has a PS4 and the adult room a DVD player. There is a kettle with tea and coffee and biscuits and iron in the room too. The bathroom although small does everything you need it to do, and if your children aren’t keen to shower the family room is right next door to the bathroom with a bath, which although not in the room itself is half a stride from the room on the same level as the family room and just enough out of view which means passing between the two rooms can be done quickly, quietly and discreetly. As the other rooms are ensuite the bathroom doesn’t get used, so it was nice to have use of it as we wanted / needed for the kids bath time.

Breakfast is from 8.30am, freshly cooked and delicious. Adam and Paula will cook you whatever combination you wish, and they were both incredibly good with the kids at breakfast time. They also both always offered tea or coffee when we returned from a day out.

The B&B is really well situated for exploring Ilfracombe and the surrounding area, the tunnels beaches are just at the bottom of the road and the southwest coastal path with spectacular cliff views of the coast is just out the back garden. Adam let our kids tag along with him to take Bovril their dog for a walk (which they absolutely loved).

All in all I couldn’t recommend a stay at Norbury House more, we had a fantastic week.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lewisreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

It was wonderful to be back once again at Norbury House Hotel, The proprietors, Adam and Paula cater for the requirements of all their guests, nothing is too much trouble. A warm friendly welcome awaits all guests.The rooms are excellent as is the delicious breakfast which sets you up for the day ahead.
Both Adam and Paula have extensive knowledge of their local area and of what may be of interest to their guests.
By choosing to stay at Norbury House with Adam, Paula and Bovril the handsome, friendly dog you are assured of a great holiday experience.

Room Tip: Having stayed in all rooms whichever you choose will live up to your expectations.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnorourke62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Sometimes in life you come across a little piece of magic - Norbury House was this - fabulous rooms with the most comfortable beds and breakfast was perfect whatever you chose. The welcome was so warm and Adam and Paula are the most delightful hosts. Easy access to the centre of Ilfracombe and also the coastal path and the old railway line. Without doubt a perfect place to stay - we will return.

Room Tip: The two front ensuite rooms offer space and direct views over the sea
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 1812annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews