We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Norbury House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We stayed at Norbury House for one night on Valentines night. It’s a lovely house that feels stylish and welcoming. We were greeted by Paula, who took the time to explain about the local area and also made some calls to local bars and restaurants regarding availability. (make sure you visit the bar Eklectick) The room (number 5) had a great view looking out over the town and sea. The bed was very comfy and we slept very well. Breakfast was also very delicious!

Overall, it was a great experience and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrismartinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    36
    5
    6
    2
See reviews for
60
163
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

I can't believe I've not written a review of this amazing place before now! We have stayed at Norbury House four times now, over the past few years and think Paula and Adam are the best hosts we have ever stayed with.

Norbury House is a lovely place to be, good views, perfectly out of the way of the town centre and close to costal walks; we even borrow Bovril (the resident dog) to make the walks that much more enjoyable. The house has been very fashionably decorated in a contemporary style that suits our tastes, making the stay relaxing and enjoyable in every way.

The breakfasts are fantastic, with great choices; the cooked breakfast being our favourite - a real treat.

But the best bit? Paula and Adam - they really are THE most fantastic hosts and make us feel welcome, comfortable and important. They make every effort to ensure each stay is enjoyable, relaxed and as perfect as possible.

It is always hard to leave and say goodbye, but we always know we will be back again before too long.

Room Tip: Love the views from room 5, looking over the town below. Always quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris-Hazel-Lander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Difficult to improve on previous comments. This is a 4star hotel with 5star owners, amazing breakfasts and incredibly relaxing. Adam, Paula and Bovril are wonderfully welcoming and brilliant hosts. They will help you plan your day/s and certainly know the best places to eat!
Great value for money

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cgt76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

This was the 7th (I've lost count) time I've stayed with Paula, Adam and Bovril. It's less like staying at a hotel and more like stopping with friends now. The honesty bar probably sums up the atmosphere and whole experience better than a 1,000 words - but I'll have a go at the words anyway! You will be assured of the warmest of welcomes - but don't assume the attention is over bearing - it's friendly, helpful and designed to ensure you enjoy everthing about your stay. Adam supplied surf reports (it was a surt trip his time) with breakfast and suggestions for restaurants (that can be booked for you) for evening meals. Local attractions, day trips, etc are discussed over breakfast. More importantly Adam and Paula want to hear your feedback so they can share the good reports (and bad if they occur) with future guests. The rooms I (and we as a family) have used have always been luxurious and spacious. Breakfast is great with a selection of offerings - I suggest you try the eggs benedict! Always a shame to have to pack up and leave, but you can always look forward to the next visit.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the house give great views over Ilfracombe and partial views to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biddenden, Kent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

What a find! This was the perfect place for a break. The room was comfortable, warm and above all blissfully quiet. And it had a fantastic view of the sea from the bed. The location was brilliant...easy walk to town or the coastal path just out the back. But above all it was Adam's friendly, welcoming and helpful attitude that was outstanding and makes Norbury House rise above other similar accommodation. At our request, he helped us plan our day, and advised on excellent restaurants and pubs for lunch and dinner. He was never intrusive and equally he never made us feel that we were intruding on his space. And...as other reviewers have mentioned...he was ably supported in this by the wonderful Bovril, probably the best behaved labrador we have ever met!

Room Tip: Room 3 was lovely...Very quiet with a view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dashmonden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
1.6 km away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.5 km away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
1.9 km away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.5 km away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.6 km away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norbury House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norbury House Hotel

Property: Norbury House Hotel
Address: Beechwood Hotel Torrs Park, Ilfracombe EX34 8AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ilfracombe
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,063 - ₹ 11,943
Hotel Class:4 star — Norbury House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Norbury House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norbury Hotel Ilfracombe
Norbury House Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing