We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Easter in Ilfracombe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Collingdale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Collingdale
Ranked #3 of 55 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Towcester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Easter in Ilfracombe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights over the easter bank holiday and had a great time. Weather was cold but the welcome was far from cold. Hotel is situated within easy walking distance of the towm centre for resturants etc. and within easy reach of many places to visit.
Sharon and Daryl made is very welcome and throughout our stay did all they could to make our visit memorable.
Breakfast was excellant A+.and the bar was an added extra
Would recommend this hotel to everone.

Room Tip: Try to get room on lowest floor and hotel has a lot of steps as does Ilfracombe
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francis-Towcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    61
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
53
197
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Sharon the owner is extremley friendly and cannot do enough for you. The room was clean and had a comfortable bed. The communal areas are also very spacious and relaxed. To top things off the breakfast is superb and well worth haviing the cornish option to start off the day :)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TSFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coulsdon, Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

A well maintained property with lots of extra touches that make it special e.g. the tea provided is from the local company Miles and the breakfast ingredients are all locally sourced and delicious. The owners Sharon & Daryl could not be more hospitable and we were impressed that Sharon phoned us to explain that the room we wanted with a sea view involved lots of stairs - she was right! - but it was nice to be pre-warned.
It's an old building so the bedrooms are not large after the en suite bathrooms have been fitted but we had a king size bed with good quality bedding and towels.
A very comfortable and enjoyable stay - we will recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: You need to be fit to get to the top floor rooms (7,8 & 9) but you do have a lovely view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coulsdonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at this charming B & B for two nights recently.Our room had superb views of the sea and harbour and had a very comfortable king size bed.The room also had en-siute facilities , all of which were spotless.We enjoyed a fantastic breakfast cooked to order by Daryl , which set us up for the day.

Sharon and Daryl were the perfect hosts and made us feel extremely welcome.They both had a good knowledge of the surrounding area and were able to advise on the best places to visit during our stay . Nothing was too much trouble for either of them.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Collingdale and would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linda l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Stayed here for three nights and enjoyed every minute. Our room was extremely comfortable and had lovely clean fresh sheets and a very comfy bed. Tea making facilities and bottled water were supplied and appreciated. En suite facilities were good and spotless although the bathroom was small. The Collingdale has a bar which is very welcome after walking back from the harbour.
The views are outstanding and the short walk to the harbour is worthwhile as there are some lovely restaurants and pubs to enjoy. The owners are very friendly and provided us with lots of information about the area. Gorgeous breakfasts with lots of choice of hot and cold food.

Room Tip: Try to get one with sea views- they are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.1 km away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
1.1 km away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.5 km away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.4 km away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
1.5 km away
Wildercombe House
Wildercombe House
#1 of 55 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Collingdale? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Collingdale

Property: The Collingdale
Address: 13 Larkstone Terrace, Ilfracombe EX34 9NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,254 - ₹ 7,004
Hotel Class:4 star — The Collingdale 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Collingdale is an AA 4 star rated Victorian guesthouse, and are proud to have received an AA Breakfast Award. Beautifully situated directly on the South West coastal path, with miles of uninterrupted views from our balcony view rooms across the harbour, Damien Hirst's statue 'Verity' and magnificent cliff top scenery of Hillsborough Nature Reserve. We are just a few minutes walk to the beach and the beautiful historic harbour with its excellent selection of restaurants, shops, cafes and galleries and the ferry to Lundy Island. The town centre, Landmark Theatre and famous Tunnels Beaches are also within easy walking distance. Furnished to a high standard throughout with a cosy bar and an elegant dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your The Collingdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Collingdale Hotel Ilfracombe
The Collingdale Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing