We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Collingdale Guest House
Ranked #2 of 53 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We had a very good one night stay here. The accommodation was comfortable, very clean, the owner was very welcoming and helpful and the breakfast was superb - what more can you ask from a B&B? Only down side was the lack of on-site parking, but there is a public car park not too far away and we were aware of this before we booked - so not really a complaint but something to bear in mind if you're not too mobile.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Little_Eva64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

336 - 340 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2011

We have travelled many times to Ilfracombe and wouldn't stay anywhere else. The hotel is well placed with lovely views over the harbour and a short walk to the town centre. The rooms are beautiful and well equipped, extremely clean and well serviced. The beds are really comfy. Breakfast is brilliant. I thoroughly recommend the smoked haddock with poached egg (remember to order in advance!) - the best I have ever had. A lovely balance of choices on the menu to ensure you don't get bored if you stay a few days.

The owners are very friendly and knowledgeable about the local area. They will also advise you if there are any planned events in the town so you don't miss out and will happily recommended restaurants to visit. If you have any queries or issues they will do their utmost to put them right. But if they don't know, they can't help!

The only slight downside is the lack of private parking but we have never struggled to park outside, and the local car park is very near if needed. Genuinely surprised to read so much moaning about the stairs! This is a genuine (and beautiful) Victorian guest house with rooms over several floors. It would be difficult to have such lovely views if the property were all on the ground floor! Yes it has no lift, but if you are not disabled and still struggle with a couple of flights of stairs then you should have some serious questions about the state of your health!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RT30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

From the minute we arrived we were made to feel welcome. Everything was so clean and very comfortable. We had a fab view from our room too. Daryl cooked a great breakfast. try the smoked haddock with poached egg it makes a lovely change from the traditional breakfast. Sharon was always around with tips on places to go or things to see. It made for a very relaxing stay and we would have no hesitation in recommending the Collingdale.

If you want to try a Devon Split or just have a cream tea, visit The Old Mill at Hele just up the road.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FionaT938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

I stayed here at the beggining of the Devon coast to coast cycle trip.There was a Freindly landlady who gave us a very warm welcome. The room that we stayed in was quite snug as we had an extra bed but it was very clean and gave all the necessary requirments. There were good recommendations from the landladyof local restaraunts. What i liked best is the welcome of the landlady. The only issue was that you had to wait quite a long time for breakfast but it was certainly worth the wait!!! Overall it was a great stay and i would recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Clean and friendly with an excellent breakfast and a very comfortable bed.
What more would you want.
Excellent, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisgil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
1.1 km away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
446 reviews
0.5 km away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
447 reviews
0.1 km away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#10 of 20 in Ilfracombe
219 reviews
0.5 km away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#17 of 20 in Ilfracombe
342 reviews
1.6 km away
Wildercombe House
Wildercombe House
#1 of 53 in Ilfracombe
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Collingdale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Collingdale Guest House

Address: 13 Larkstone Terrace, Ilfracombe EX34 9NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range: ₹ 6,614 - ₹ 8,247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Collingdale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Collingdale is an AA 4 star Silver rated Victorian guesthouse which also has an AA Breakfast Award. Beautifully situated directly on the South West coastal path, with miles of uninterrupted views across the picturesque harbour of Ilfracombe and the clifftop scenery of Hillsborough Nature Reserve. Just a few minutes walk to the beach and the beautiful historic harbour with its excellent selection of restaurants, shops, cafes and galleries and the ferry to Lundy Island. The town centre, Landmark Theatre and famous Tunnels Beaches are also within easy walking distance. Furnished to a high standard throughout with a cosy bar and an elegant guest lounge and breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Collingdale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Collingdale Hotel Ilfracombe
The Collingdale Guest House Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing