We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Laston House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Laston House
Ranked #15 of 55 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

Stayed recently for the second time at Laston House and highly recommend. Great, traditional house, well located, fairly simple but good sized rooms and awesome breakfast... but the stand out reason we'll be back is the hospitality, which is excellent. Really helpful and genuinely accommodating. Will be back

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oz82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    32
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
77
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Only stayed for one night but the place was clean, friendly and warm and the host and his wife were very happy to help with anything. The location was good taking 5 mins to walk to the harbour and having walked around the town quite a bit we were certainly happy with where we had elected to stay...

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theworldisamazing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

Friendly and helpful host - greeted with a cup of tea on arrival. Old manor house style in quiet private grounds location with off-street parking. Nice view and short downhill walk to harbour area. Clean room and shower and great breakfast. Happy to recommend to friends.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eg214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coventry
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Really enjoyed a two night Autumn Break stay at Laston House. Warm and friendly welcome. Nice location in easy reach of the harbour area. Quiet and relaxing surroundings. Our room had good sea views and looked out onto the attractive gardens which surround the house. House is at end of a long drive giving feel of seclusion.
Spacious room with lovely double bed. The owners are gradually refurbishing the rooms to put their own stamp on the place. Served a good quality breakfast in a nice breakfast room. Recommendations from the owners with regard to places for an evening meal were spot on. We had a nice Italian just back from the harbour (10 minutes walk) and the pub next door had a great atmosphere with good pub food. Would definitely like to return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

We stayed at Laston House in September and feel we were misled by the excellent reviews. Laston House is beautiful and the hostess was very friendly and welcoming but an awful lot more work and tlc is required before we would rate it as any where near excellent. We stayed in an unrefurbished room, with an avocado bathroom suite, unmatched toilet seat, one small thin bath towel each, incomplete hospitality tray, overall a very 'tired' looking room. My partner's breakfast was burnt and the fruit salad looked quite unappetising. There is loads of potential to make this house stunning but would not recommend it in its present condition.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank honey186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abigail L, Owner at Laston House, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you for your comments, since your review that room is no more! It has had a lovely refurbishment, the avocado suite has long since departed and we have a lovely new white bathroom! At the time of your review we had trouble with our linen company and have since changed to a company with much better quality towels and bedding. As to the incomplete hospitality tray we can only apologise and just wish you had mentioned it at the time so we could have rectified the missing items, and the same goes for the breakfast we can't sort things out after the event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
2.6 km away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
1.5 km away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
1.7 km away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
2.2 km away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
2.6 km away
Epchris House
Epchris House
#8 of 55 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laston House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laston House

Property: Laston House
Address: Laston House New Barnstaple Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,302 - ₹ 6,807
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Laston House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run, Grade 2 listed Regency property stood in 3 acres of woodland overlooking Hillsborough headland and the sea. We have 7 en-suite bedrooms, and a single bedroom with separate shower room, we also have a number of family/interlinking rooms. Open all year. Onsite parking. Easy access down to the harbour, just a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Laston House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laston Hotel Ilfracombe
Laston House Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing