We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to lay your head..”
Review of Laston House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Laston House
Ranked #15 of 52 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A nice place to lay your head..”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Only stayed for one night but the place was clean, friendly and warm and the host and his wife were very happy to help with anything. The location was good taking 5 mins to walk to the harbour and having walked around the town quite a bit we were certainly happy with where we had elected to stay...

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theworldisamazing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    32
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
83
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Friendly and helpful host - greeted with a cup of tea on arrival. Old manor house style in quiet private grounds location with off-street parking. Nice view and short downhill walk to harbour area. Clean room and shower and great breakfast. Happy to recommend to friends.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eg214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coventry
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Really enjoyed a two night Autumn Break stay at Laston House. Warm and friendly welcome. Nice location in easy reach of the harbour area. Quiet and relaxing surroundings. Our room had good sea views and looked out onto the attractive gardens which surround the house. House is at end of a long drive giving feel of seclusion.
Spacious room with lovely double bed. The owners are gradually refurbishing the rooms to put their own stamp on the place. Served a good quality breakfast in a nice breakfast room. Recommendations from the owners with regard to places for an evening meal were spot on. We had a nice Italian just back from the harbour (10 minutes walk) and the pub next door had a great atmosphere with good pub food. Would definitely like to return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We stayed at Laston House in September and feel we were misled by the excellent reviews. Laston House is beautiful and the hostess was very friendly and welcoming but an awful lot more work and tlc is required before we would rate it as any where near excellent. We stayed in an unrefurbished room, with an avocado bathroom suite, unmatched toilet seat, one small thin bath towel each, incomplete hospitality tray, overall a very 'tired' looking room. My partner's breakfast was burnt and the fruit salad looked quite unappetising. There is loads of potential to make this house stunning but would not recommend it in its present condition.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank honey186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abigail L, Owner at Laston House, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you for your comments, since your review that room is no more! It has had a lovely refurbishment, the avocado suite has long since departed and we have a lovely new white bathroom! At the time of your review we had trouble with our linen company and have since changed to a company with much better quality towels and bedding. As to the incomplete hospitality tray we can only apologise and just wish you had mentioned it at the time so we could have rectified the missing items, and the same goes for the breakfast we can't sort things out after the event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

My enquiry for a room was politely and efficiently handled. We found Laston House easily using CoPilot satnav. The on site parking is a bonus. We were welcomed, and enjoyed coffee in the Guest Lounge before being shown to our room, Room 2, which is by the front door.
The room was cold at 18.00 but the windows had been opened during the day for work to be done, however at 08.00 the next day the temperature in the room was only 17 degrees centigrade.
The windows are lovely and tall, I would have preferred corded curtain rails as the curtains could then be fully closed at night. Also there is light all around the entrance door as the hall is lit all night.
The hall has restored floor boards so one can hear people moving around, and other guests showed no respect for those in the rooms by the front door when coming in late at night.
The bathroom door in our room did not close properly.
The bathroom is also chilly with no apparent form of heating, but warms up quickly when the shower is used.
The bed linen and towels were clean and of a decent quality. The carpet was tired and wrinkled and not well fitted.
I was looking forward to my breakfast and the selection of juice, fresh fruit salad and cereal was fine. But my fried breakfast was dissappointing, the egg was "snotty" & tomatoes tasteless.
I know the owners have not been here for long and I wish them luck, they seem very enthusiastic and the place has great potential, but to rate it as "Excellent" now is somewhat misleading in my opinion.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londonnewbride2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abigail L, Owner at Laston House, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
I agree wholeheartedly with you, we have a way to go yet before we can be considered excellent on all fronts. We took on a very tired and out-dated hotel and are renovating rooms as fast as our finances allow. The room in question has got a pretty bad, albeit clean, carpet and it will be replaced at some point this month. It does though have a storage heater which if turned on would have made the room positively tropical by morning. If the location of the switch wasn't pointed out to you I apologise.
Our breakfasts have so far been very highly rated, it is a pity that as you didn't mention anything at the time we were unable to remedy this particular situation.
The curtains have been replaced in the last 2 weeks, but as to the noise from the front door I can only apologise about that - In the main we have found guests to be considerate when entering the hotel late at night but obviously this isn't always going to be the case.
We encourage feedback and realise that not all of it, sadly, is going to be positive. But we have taken on board all your points and if you stay with us in the future you will have a much more positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
1.2 km away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
392 reviews
0.4 km away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
418 reviews
1.2 km away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Strathmore Guest House
Strathmore Guest House
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
55 reviews
0.0 km away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
362 reviews
1.5 km away
Epchris House
Epchris House
#8 of 52 in Ilfracombe
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laston House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laston House

Property: Laston House
Address: Laston House New Barnstaple Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,858 - ₹ 7,275
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Laston House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run, Grade 2 listed Regency property stood in 3 acres of woodland overlooking Hillsborough headland and the sea. We have 7 en-suite bedrooms, and a single bedroom with separate shower room, we also have a number of family/interlinking rooms. Open all year. Onsite parking. Easy access down to the harbour, just a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Laston House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laston Hotel Ilfracombe
Laston House Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing