We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveller rating
38
24
2
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
38
24
2
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely spacious room very comfortable stay pot of tea both mornings lovely hotel stayed here for one night star hotel on arrival cottage dog devon paul twin path hosts break
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 68 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2011

I cannot agree with the review given from the person with a "Puppy". I have an elderly dog who had an accident in the hallway. Very embarrased I told Sue and Peter and instantly Sue arrived with a bucket and mop and cleared it up for me.
We have been going to the Darnley for over 9 years and have always been treated well and as friends returning.
There are not a lot of places that take dogs when one does not like leaving them in kennels.

Room Tip: rooms clean and comfortable
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank refinej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

My wife And I stay at the Darnley Hotel two or three times a year it is such a friendly hotel its like going to visit family our dog loves all the fuss we have also spent the last six xmas at the hotel there is all ways a warm welcome.
The food is excellent and they grow all there own veg

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terence04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We found the Darnley a few years ago, and have been visiting every summer since. The facilities are absolutely perfect for us, and the food - all home-cooked, and much of it home-grown - is exceptional (and ridiculously cheap). The service is professional without being stuffy, and the relaxed atmosphere created by the proprietors gives you that "holiday" feeling from the moment you arrive.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikehm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2010

I recently (26/28-11-2010) spent a very rewarding three days in Devon made more so via the welcome offered by the owners of ' The Darnley Hotel and the peaceful atmosphere that prevailed within. My room was very comfortable despite the arctic weather conditions outside. The Darnley has been the first hotel I've stayed in which comes complete with it's own Jester. Peter's humour flowed at meal times which added to the excellent food served.
Most adult age groups were represented from the late 20's to the near 70's complete with dog and in observation of body language and facial expression found no evidence of discord.
Observational Foot Notes.
It was noted that when the dog arrived it was exercised a little on leaving the car to prevent little accidents within the hotel.
Granted the car parking is a little restrictive but hopefully drivers do so in accordance with prevailing circumstances which includes parking (Highway Code).

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vulcan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Excellent small hotel. Home cooking. Very clean and tidy. Plenty of parking. Near to centre of Ilfracombe. Owners are very kind and friendly and Peter, in particular, has a wicked sense of humour - prepare to be teased and tease in return!!!
Thank you for a lovely 3 day stay. We hope to be back

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Larden04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews