We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What is happening with Shearings?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We have just come back from 8 days in this hotel in Ilfracombe and are really disappointed with Shearings.This hotel is in a good position in Ilfracombe but unfortunately it is quite outdated. Our own room had been patched up on the ceiling and paper was coming off the wall. (Whilst we stayed a large part of the ceiling fell down in the restaurant) The bathroom was tiny with inadequte shelving for two persons. The TV in the bedroom was so tiny you could hardly see it from the bed. The food was adequate but lacked the extra touches. On a couple of times during the week we stayed there were repeat meals offered. Service was very bitty and the waitress seemed incapable of serving one table at once. We would be left without toast, coffee etc and had to re-ask for it. Overall the staff were very friendly and helpful - Jon the host and entertainer was very good as was the entertainment each evening. The trips out were mostly very interesting but at times we were left too long and other times not left long enough, i.e. Watermouth Castle - could have had a whole day there but only a couple of hours - no time to see round fully. We all know that Shearings Holidays are good value for money and that the hotels are not always of top standard but are generally very clean and tidy. They are now cutting back a great deal - no sandwich packs, no lunchtime meal on 1/2 day trip, all inclusive has now been changed to 4 drinks vouchers and glass of wine at dinner, bingo tickets are now £3 for one book of which £1 is taken by the company. I am sure on previous occasions we have been told that all money goes back into the prize money. Last year our bingo tickets only cost about £1.30 or so!! We paid £319 this time as opposed to paying about £100 less on previous holidays - prices seem to be going up and standards going down!! The coach was only half full - what is happening to the last minute bargains?? Although we were not 100% happy I am sure we will go again on a shearings holiday as we usually meet some really nice people and they make a holiday!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sueejan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments.
It is pleasing to see that you like Shearings Hotels and that you will be travelling with us again.
I am sorry you were disappointed with our hotel. After reading your comments, we have been taking them into action and we have been improving our restaurant service, so thank you for your comments as were a great help to us.

Regarding the Bingo, we put the Bingo tickets up so prizes are better for our customers, and I can guarantee you that the money goes to the prize. We have received nice comments about it as guest can have higher prizes.
Regarding the All Inclusive Holiday, we still offering a great package and our Bar is open for lunches from 12 noon until 2, offering an excellent value of sandwiches, hot meals, cakes…..
I am sorry you felt the standards were going down, but I can assure you that any problems will be rectified.
Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again travelling with Shearings.

Pedro Anzules
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

593 - 597 of 706 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2012

My sister and i went on holiday by coach with shearings to the Dilkhusa Grand Hotel for a five days, we arrived and was welcomed really good, the staff were very helpful, food was very good, coach driver was great, all very friendly, had bingo most nights, then entertainment which we really enjoyed, its not far from shops and the water front, all in all we had a great holiday, it does make a difference when you neet really friendly people,which we did, i would recommend it to all my friends

Room Tip: My sister and \i had a ground floor room and we were never kept awake, the area is lovely and quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank lyndyloo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments.
It is pleasing to see you and your sister enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass your lovely comments onto all staff.
We have a great team of staff here at the Dilkhusa Grand Hotel and it is always rewarding to see it commented on.

We are looking forward to see you again.

Pedro Anzules
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

went on a weekend trip with friends. hotel is very tired could do with a complete refurb.room was ok could of been cleaned to a better standard.food was bland and small portions.4 free drinks per person per day was a nice touch also a glass of wine with your evening meal.entertainment was rubbish.most guests are at retirement age but we enjoyed the banter.position of the hotel is ideal.

Room Tip: go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JOC1960PortTalbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

Many thanks for taking your time to post your comments.
I am pleased you were happy with our bar offers.
Sorry to hear you did not enjoy our entertainment; we have a great programme for all ages and most of our customers commented about it.
After your visit, we have updated our public areas and look lovely.
Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope to see you travelling with Shearings again.

Pedro Anzules
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Just returned home after spending a very enjoyable weekend at this hotel. Arrived on the evening of Friday 1 June by car, they have a small carpark to the left of the building as you look at it which we had pre booked a space for. Had asked for a high floor, double front facing room and thats what we got. It was quite adequate for what we needed with tea and coffee making facilities, but dont know if we could have slept in the bed for longer than the 3 nights, it was the most uncomfortable bed we have ever slept in, every time you turned over you felt and heard the springs ping and we are not large in build so can't say it was because of our weight! The en-suite shower room was compact but adequate and very clean Jackie was very good at making sure everything was clean and tidy for us...thank you Jackie! The food was good nothing fancy but we didnt expect fancy it was tasty but perhaps could have done with being slightly bigger portions, we had the pate starter one evening and it was lovely but only two thin strips of toast which wasnt enough for the amount of pate they give you. A lovely bonus which we didnt know until we arrived was they give you a drinks card for 4 free drinks per day per person which can be, tea/coffee etc, soft or alcoholic plus you get a free glass of wine with your meal. So all in all a very reasonable place to stay with everything within in walking distance of the hotel.

Room Tip: room 302 had a nice view of the gardens and could even see the sea but the bed is sooooooooooo uncom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank lyn14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

I would like to thank you for taking your time to post your comments and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
We have a great team of staff and I will pass your lovely comments onto them and especially to Jackie (your bedroom cleaner).
Regarding the bed, I am sorry to hear you were not happy with it, and after your comments we have rectified it.
Once again, thank you for your lovely comments and we hope to see you travelling with Shearings and taking advantage of the great packages we are offering.

Pedro Anzules
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Just returned from a 8 day Shearings holiday and all I can say is that it was great value for the money.
The hotel required decoration in parts but the staff and food made up for this.
All the staff were helpful and always had a smile on their faces.
Big thanks to Sara our waitress she was fantastic.
The entertainment was good and John kept everyone entertained - loved the quizzes but am sure John will be pleased the 'eggheads' (as he named our team) have returned home!!!!
The excursions were interesting with lots of information given by the drivers Mark and Mike.
Thank you Shearings for yet another relaxing enjoyable holiday - looking to book the next one.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank JAH25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, Assistant Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

Many thanks to you for letting us know of your enjoyable stay with us. I am so pleased that you found so much to your liking and I will be sure to pass on to Sara your comments regarding the service you received from her, and the other staff and drivers.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Matthew Smith
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.2 km away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
456 reviews
0.2 km away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#7 of 20 in Ilfracombe
286 reviews
0.6 km away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#17 of 20 in Ilfracombe
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
394 reviews
4.9 km away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
633 reviews
1.4 km away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel

Address: Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Price Range: ₹ 4,136 - ₹ 10,684 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the level seafront of this hugely popular Victorian seaside resort stands the welcoming Dilkhusa Grand Hotel. The hotel was originally a private house, bought by a Raj at the turn of the last century as a gift to his wife - Dilkhusa translates from Hindustani roughly as ‘House of the Happy Heart!’ The hotel overlooks the picturesque Runnymede gardens and is close to the Landmark theatre which attracts many national acts. It is also just a short walk from the bustling 10th-century harbour where Britain’s most famous living artist, Damien Hirst, owns a restaurant. The Dilkhusa has a well-appointed restaurant combining excellent hospitality and service. A spacious and comfortable entertainments suite provides the ideal setting in which to sit back and enjoy the acts at this friendly and sociable hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing