We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveller rating
190
78
33
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
190
78
33
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews a family run hotel family owners fantastic weekend mince pies turkey and tinsel every evening coach parties coach trip bar manager entertainment every night friendly hotel varied menu night porter breakfast was included family wedding plenty of hot water central heating
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 317 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We found all the staff exceptionally friendly abd helpful. We felt very comfortable and had a good size full English breakfast. It was quick service and the food was tasty and hot.
Ideal thank you all.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Eloise0906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed here Friday-Monday (came home today) with our 6 vulnerable adults and they had a whale of a time, hotel owner Nick and staff were extremely welcoming and always stopped and took time to chat with residents and were very sensitive to their needs. Very clean with lovely food, too much food in fact (I don’t need to eat for a week haha) thanks Nick and staff you made their holiday a very memorable one x

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

Had a fun long weekend with our bowls club. Nick kept us entertained all weekend ,most of us didn't get much sleep as the bar was open late ! . The food and staff could not be faulted ,it is a proper family run hotel. Thank you Nick .

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

My partner and her elderly parents stayed here as it was very conveniently located for a family wedding at the Tunnels venue (about 400 yards walk away). Ilfracombe harbour area is about a mile away, with some interesting coast path walks to get there, or use one of the many taxi companies in the town. Car parking might be a problem at busy times, but there are several decent size car parks.
We found it to be a very friendly and lively hotel, and the staff were extremely helpful. All guests are made to feel very welcome and valued, and I can see why the hotel was full at all times during our stay. It is especially popular with coach parties, but individuals are well looked after too.
Our twin room was somewhat small, but perfectly adequate for our needs. Older guests (such as the parents) may require a larger room,(and bathroom ) however, particularly if they have mobility issues. There is a lift to all floors.
The cuisine in the restaurant is good basic fare, very well cooked and presented. We didn't come away from there still feeling hungry!
There is some form of entertainment every evening in the large bar area, such as bingo followed by a singer or group, to which all guests are welcome, particularly enjoyed by the coach parties.
I would definitely stay there again should the occasion arise, it was a good fun stay! Thank you Osborne, especially Sandy and Nick, not to mention all the other happy staff that helped us.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank Oxyellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

This hotel has no pretensions, and is clean, and very welcoming. Whilst the decor is dated, it still represents value for money. The breakfast is excellent served by friendly staff. There were no evening meals the week we stayed. The bar is modest and fair priced. The room was spacious and had tv, wifi, tea/coffee, good linen and basic toiletries. There was a good shower and the room was attended to daily. It is very convenient for the town along a flat route. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: For the more agile the top rooms are quiet.
Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank markhO7053QO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews