We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apalling service and room, I'd sooner sleep rough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Royal Britannia
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Reviewed 5 September 2011

The room I stayed in loook like it was a converted landing! it only had a rooflight. I was overcharged from the rate advertised in the window. the poster stated singe £30, having booked in and showered i was charged £40. when i quiered the post , i was told that ws last winters price and i was going to have to pay £40. from then on til I left the landlady (i assume) was quite off and sharp with me, Will certainly never go back and would sooner sleep in the street first

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clarky14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
np1257315, Manager at The Royal Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2011

Walker wanted a roomand and HE HAD A LOOK AT THE ROOM that was avalablet in the centre of the hotel with only a skylight ( we use this room for groups of 4 on paarty nights)
HE WAS HAPPY with the room and paid £40 including breakfast
later he wanted discounts as he found a 2010 price list and as we did not give any discounts so he turned nasty hence the report.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

315 - 319 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2011

We stopped in the nelson room with the 4 poster bed and the harbour view, absolutely stunning room and the hotel is in a great location. would definately stop here again. the staff were lovely, and so was the breakfast which was included in the price. we didnt eat at the hotel but the place was always busy with customers. lovely stay, thank you :)

Room Tip: room 2 nelsons room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abc023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

I stayed at the Royal Britannia Hotel with my husband and our three children (ages 9, 6 & 3 months) for a week during the summer holidays. We received a fantastic welcome and were more than impressed with the accommodation. Our room was spacious and clean with a wonderful view of the harbour. Every member of staff was friendly, helpful and extremely good with the children as were the local people. The food was very good and great value for money. My children made lots of friends on the small beach at the front of the hotel, and spent hours catching crabs when the tide was in. There is lots to see and do in Illfracombe and Woolacombe beach is only a 10 minute drive away. Thank you Richard, Yan & staff for a fab stay and I will be recommending you to my family and friends.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaime w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Very good value for money! Very basic but extremely comfortable. Friendly helpful staff. Owners made us feel very welcome. Location is perfect, everything on the doorstep, however if you want a very quiet time the noise from the roads would be troublesome, it did not effect us because we were out every night or in the bar too. Food was plentiful and fast service.There was 9 of us 3 adults and 5 older kids and 1, 5year old,we had an whole appartment for ourself,with the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in. The kids enjoyed being right next to the harbour and the local sights of ilfracombe, therefore we did not venture out of the area, apart from one day by bus (bus stop across the road) 20min to woolacombe beach. Great location

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeniffer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We a group of 9, were so exhausted from our everlasting journery, from London to Ilfracoombe, but that was soon forgotten when we opened the door to our 9 bedroom apartment, situated on the 1st floor! Rooms were spacious and clean, although we only had one bathroom to share between us, it was massive, with a bath n Shower, so that worked out fine too! Cant complain, staff were very helpful, and I reccommend their restaurant, food in their pub were very large portions and very good value for money! Hotel is situated right by the harbour, so what more could you ask for!! Not to mention all the tourist shops and bus stn just round the corner to take you wherever you need to go! Myself and my family enjoyed our stay very much we would definately go back!! They are also looking to expand their hotel, further so this will make it even more good value for money! Great for families, lots to do nearby!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clard111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.8 km away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
446 reviews
0.9 km away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
447 reviews
0.8 km away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#10 of 20 in Ilfracombe
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
621 reviews
0.5 km away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#7 of 20 in Ilfracombe
278 reviews
5.0 km away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Britannia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Britannia

Address: The Harbour Broad Street, Ilfracombe EX34 9EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ilfracombe
Price Range: ₹ 3,714 - ₹ 7,232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Britannia 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel sits on the Harbourside and we have a waterside seating area two restaurants Carvery on Sundays and two bars open from 8.30am until late. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Royal Britannia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Britannia Hotel Ilfracombe
The Royal Britannia Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing