We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Royal Britannia
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Very good value for money! Very basic but extremely comfortable. Friendly helpful staff. Owners made us feel very welcome. Location is perfect, everything on the doorstep, however if you want a very quiet time the noise from the roads would be troublesome, it did not effect us because we were out every night or in the bar too. Food was plentiful and fast service.There was 9 of us 3 adults and 5 older kids and 1, 5year old,we had an whole appartment for ourself,with the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in. The kids enjoyed being right next to the harbour and the local sights of ilfracombe, therefore we did not venture out of the area, apart from one day by bus (bus stop across the road) 20min to woolacombe beach. Great location

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeniffer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

322 - 326 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2011

We a group of 9, were so exhausted from our everlasting journery, from London to Ilfracoombe, but that was soon forgotten when we opened the door to our 9 bedroom apartment, situated on the 1st floor! Rooms were spacious and clean, although we only had one bathroom to share between us, it was massive, with a bath n Shower, so that worked out fine too! Cant complain, staff were very helpful, and I reccommend their restaurant, food in their pub were very large portions and very good value for money! Hotel is situated right by the harbour, so what more could you ask for!! Not to mention all the tourist shops and bus stn just round the corner to take you wherever you need to go! Myself and my family enjoyed our stay very much we would definately go back!! They are also looking to expand their hotel, further so this will make it even more good value for money! Great for families, lots to do nearby!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clard111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

I have read with dismay some disparaging reviews of The Royal Britannia Hotel of late. And would ask people to get real for the following reasons.

The hotel has recently reopened after being closed for a few years and had fallen into a terrible state of disrepair. The new owners have spent to date approximately one million pounds on it and are continually improving it.

Look, five stars it ain’t, the Ritz it ain’t but if you want an oldie woldie hotel with bags of history and charm the Britannia should be right up your street.

It was good enough for Admiral Lord Nelson and King Edward V111 who both stayed there, and is nestled in the heart of the old harbour, with some of the most spectacular views in Devon.

We have just returned from a long weekend there, where we met up with my daughter, son in law plus the grand children. Two girls aged nine and six who have had a wonderful week playing on the beach, crabbing, playing in the rock pools etc.

The welcome is good, the place is clean, the food is excellent and the price is great, and is real value for money.

And best of all, we can take our pooch Jilly, as the Royal Britannia allows pets, and Ilfracombe is a very dog friendly place. It’s doggy heaven.

Our thanks to Richard and Yan who made us feel very welcome; we will be back soon.

Pete & Sue Browne plus Jilly the dog.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete-Browne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

This hotel has no curb appeal despite the "fortune" spent doing it up. The area around the front door from the street is filthy, and coming in from the harbour entrance you could easily think the place was shut down. The window in our room was so dirty we could barely see across the street! Poor welcome from the owner, in fact no welcome at all - the first thing he said to me was did I want to pay my balance now or later! Absolutely no information in the room about the hotel, we had to ask two different members of staff how and when we got breakfast. The breakfast itself was quite nice, freshly cooked full English - but there is no choice, it's full English or nothing! The room was a decent size with a comfy bed, but no hanging space, wardrobe or drawers to put anything in - just a waste of space chair and mirror in one corner. The en-suite was OK, but poorly finished off. The sealant around the basin and shower was dirty and the shower leaked over the floor. Great location, but for me not good value for money and I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoseHaven37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
np1257315, Owner at The Royal Britannia, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2011

For every 100 happy customers we get in one who will complain regardless of what they receive and they make it clear from the time they enter the premises, having greeted the customer in carried the bags to the room and showed where to park it’s not so bad just to ask if they prefer to settle the bill now or later (most places don’t give that option these days)
As for us looking closed down, we are in the centre of it all and on the harbour with 100s of people coming in and out all day long who don’t think we are closed I am amazed at the animosity publicized.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We stayed at the Britannia recently on a last minute deal. The Hotel/Inn after it has been sorted out fully could be a little gold mine, however it still seems very dated even though it has had money spent on it ??????. We moved rooms as the room that we were allocated was I would class only big enough for a single person (it had a double bed) and not a lot else in it. When arriving it all seemed a bit like you were on your own and had to ask about things etc but everyone was friendly. The food was good and plenty of it.
Overall i would return again (the price and the views if on the harbour side)however things just need to be better finished off and a bit more style and money spent.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeaviewShires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.8 km away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
455 reviews
0.9 km away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
447 reviews
4.3 km away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
1.1 km away
The Darnley Hotel
The Darnley Hotel
#10 of 20 in Ilfracombe
52 reviews
0.7 km away
Devon Bay Hotel
Devon Bay Hotel
#19 of 20 in Ilfracombe
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Britannia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Britannia

Address: The Harbour Broad Street, Ilfracombe EX34 9EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ilfracombe
Price Range: ₹ 3,052 - ₹ 5,845 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Britannia 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel sits on the Harbourside and we have a waterside seating area two restaurants Carvery on Sundays and two bars open from 8.30am until late. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your The Royal Britannia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Britannia Hotel Ilfracombe
The Royal Britannia Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing