We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (616)
Filter reviews
616 results
Traveller rating
367
166
44
27
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
367
166
44
27
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gun room clay shooting the newly refurbished rooms new owners lovely hotel would highly recommend this hotel owners and staff tunnels beaches high standard reception area first floor local produce breakfast was excellent full english breakfast attending a wedding coach party room was spotless
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 616 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

We booked last minute after failing to find a hotel elsewhere. Loved this hotel from the minute I walked in. Such friendly staff, thoughtfully refurbished rooms, good breakfast, and great location. Free parking was limited but we managed to squeeze in an on-road spot behind hotel. Ilfracombe is great too. What a find.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank 317enidr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Thank you for the review Enid, we are glad you found us and enjoyed the hotel and town. We hope to welcome you again - Michael R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

You're guaranteed a friendly greeting from Michael and a brilliant night's sleep (the hotel is off the main road, so it's nice and quiet). Easy to walk into town for dinner and also a great place to set out from on your coastal walks. It's around the corner from the tunnel beaches (don't miss out on those). We had one of the recently refurbished rooms - hats off to the team - it was beautiful with everything we needed.
Clean, fresh and just what the doctor ordered after a long drive. Thanks guys! If ever in that neck of the woods again, I'll be back to stay.

Room tip: Ask for one of the refurbished rooms (the third floor hasn't been done yet). Also avoid the room next to the lift.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brenda_R_Jhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Thank you Brenda, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and delighted to read you may return - Michael R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Great Hotel, on a bowls tour with 30 ladies. Fantastic food and great choice. If not on menu the staff will go out of there way to help..
The Hotel is being up dated. My room had just been updated to a vert y high standard ..
The staff can't do enough for you..
Would I go back to the Carlton yes I would...

Room tip: Room on the back of the Hotel
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Thank you Barbara for the very kind review, we are delighted you and the bowling party enjoyed the stay and hopefully we can welcome you again soon - Michael R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

Thankyou to the Carlton hotel for there hospitality and fantastic hotel Micheal was a top host and went out of his way to make us feel comfortable and his stories and company will never be forgotten thankyou to Michelle even though was late check in served us with a few beers and was very professional in her role well done guys look forward to see you soon and last but not least the breakfast was stunning would highly recommend to anyone visiting Ilfracombe

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Ludovicus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Thank you so much for the very kind review Ludovicus, we hope to welcome you back again very soon - Michael R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

We attended a large family meal which we had been required to pre- order. Unfortunately it took a long time to serve everyone with each course which left us uncertain whether to start or politely wait until our dishes were cold whilst the others came out. Some of the group were impressed by the flavour of their dishes, noticeably the belly pork and the scotch eggs. I was less impressed by mine -goat cheese salad- cheese dry and salad without dressing followed by cod loin which was absolutely tasteless.The staff were pleasant but appeared to be overwhelmed by the size of our party and just could not keep on top of the service.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisbeth_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Thanks for the review Lisbeth, I regret to read that the service for the group event was not satisfactory. I will share your views with the team and thank you for bringing your views to our attention - Michael R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews