We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Break”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in April. Two female receptionists greeted us and although we were slightly early for check in they made the effort of finding out if our room was available for us. Room was quite small but lovely and clean and well supplied with tea and coffee that was replenished everyday, also clean towels daily. Food was very good and plentiful with a wide variety of dishes.
Although the outside of this hotel looks rather tied do not let this put you off, as the friendliness of ALL staff is second to none. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2015
Thank you for taking time to review this hotel Sharon. On behalf of the previous Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    132
    31
    22
    6
See reviews for
71
127
44
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
S Wales
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Stayed at this hotel over the bank holiday,we were greeted by two members of staff at reception who could'nt do enough for you.Our room was spotless and modern.Breakfast was nice and so was the bar area.All in all this hotel is great value for money and i would thoroughly recommend it if you are going ti Ilfracombe!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2015
Thank you Lewises for a great review. On behalf of the previous Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I supported a friend on this holiday - a mystery tour with a coach company. What a smashing time we had, an older hotel but immaculately clean, fresh towels, bathroom cleaned and beds made & teatray replenished everyday. Restaurant choices were great, always a meat dish, a fish dish and a veggie dish (smashing quorn cottage pie!) something for everyone. My friend has a disability and staff could not be more helpful, we wouldn't hesitate nto recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rolfies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2015
Thank you for the review Rolfies. On behalf of the previous Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Took a coach party of 61 mature folk for a 3 day weekend walking visit. Management and staff very helpful. Hotel midway through a refit.Rooms already refurbished are very good, the remainder are still very acceptable, comfortable, clean. Not all rooms have scenic views, but there is nothing to complain about. With a mixed group, you would expect a few moans/complaints, but not one problem mentioned, many commented on the varied menu of good quality fayre. One couple stayed on for a further 3 days, and were very complimentary at the service they received. Overall we would all recommend staying at this hotel.This was not my first visit, my previous time was in 2007, and although the refurb was only just started it was still a good hotel.

Room Tip: rely on the management
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2015
Thank you for the review Graham. On behalf of the previous Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2011

I stopped for just the one night as I came down to watch the lighting of the lights.
First impressions of the hotel from the outside was very good. Some hotels tend to let themselves down with how the outside looks, but not the Carlton.

As I walked into the reception area I was greeted by two smiley happy members of staff. One of them read the terms and conditions of booking and gave me the ins and outs of the hotel in a humorous way which made a nice change from the usual style given in other hotels.

My room was was very clean, it wasn't a fairly big room but I was a single traveller so that was to be expected, but it was very clean and warm and I couldn't fault it even if I had scrutinized every nook and cranny. Also it was well stocked of refreshments, there was a nice choice of different coffee's or tea and there was even an Aero drinking chocolate in the choice too, so this was a delight as usually hotels I stop in only offer one brand of tea and one brand of coffee!

The hotel itself was very bright and airy, nice carpets in the corridors, even the lift had a nice decor hehe.

I woke for breakfast and took the lift down to the dining room which was fairly large in size, it reminded me of a room I would of seen in the 1930s with how it was kitted out - now that is meant as a compliment because it really was a cool dining room, even had some nice music playing softly over the speakers. I was immediately greeted by the lady from the reception the previous night who was always smiling and seemed to be the happiest person in Ilfracombe, such a nice lady - anyways the full English Breakfast was the best I've probably eaten - big rashers of bacon, a huge sausage that was very tasty and the fried egg was nice and fluffy - my compliments to the chef!!

If you have reached this far in my review then answer the following few questions:

Do you want a hotel in a good location in Ilfracombe?
Do you want to stay at a nice clean and well managed hotel?
Do you want an awesome breakfast to start your day?
Do you sometimes wish the staff at the hotels you stay were a tad friendlier?

If you answered YES to those questions then I really suggest you give the Carlton some consideration because for the price I paid to stay here I feel it's a great value for money hotel and then some!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khaizarana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2015
Delighted to learn that you will be returning. On behalf of the previous Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
1.2 km away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
363 reviews
0.0 km away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
208 reviews
1.6 km away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#6 of 20 in Ilfracombe
269 reviews
0.3 km away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#7 of 20 in Ilfracombe
264 reviews
0.8 km away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel

Property: Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Address: Runnacleave Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8AR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,310 - ₹ 14,116
Hotel Class:2 star — Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned and operated, conveniently located in the maritime area, close to the seafront, tunnels and harbour. Hotel offers all day dining and is fully licenced. All rooms are en suite, centrally heated and well appointed with flat screen TV, telephone, hair dryer, hospitality tray and WiFi throughout. A friendly team will look after you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing