We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab Break in Bonny Scotland” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duke of Gordon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
GreenLeadersBronze level
blackpool
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fab Break in Bonny Scotland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

8 Of us went on a trip staying at The Duke of Gordon, very nice hotel, very old fashion but really warm & friendly, fab settings,
The food was good, but friends of our who also came with us said the meals were not as good as the last time they stayed here
,But what we paid for this trip it was excellent value for money I would like some one to find a cheaper trip for what we paid, and also to the same standards as well, all the staff were amazing, rooms lovely clean & comfortable all in all a good time was had by all.
Only 2 moans 1st is that the bar shuts up at 11pm, could do with staying open a bit longer, also the 2nd moan same entertainment each night that needs up dating sorry but its true, younger folk do go on these Trips now as well you know.
& Also
Our Driver Richard was fab nothing too much trouble for this guy he was excellent well done to him.
Would we stay here again????? yes we would xx

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlackpoolKingsCourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel.

Thank you for your comments. With regard to the entertainment. we do our best to provide a varied ensemble throughout the year with local entertainers. It is unusual for us to have similar entertainers on consecutive evenings but at times, due to previous bookings, this does occour. I trust this did not spoil your short break with us too much. Beverage service is after 11pm is provided by the night porter. This information is printed in the room directory but a notice at the bar and reception would be an advantage. Thank you for bringing this to my attention.
I hope you and your party had a pleasant journey home and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Paul Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    141
    51
    20
    27
See reviews for
48
189
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Travelled with a private party of 40+ from Blackpool with Cairngorm Coach Tours. Great driver, Richard, very informative. We had a lovely warm welcome on arrival enhanced by speedy check in. Manager came on coach and gave everyone a card with their room numbers on it, keys in doors waiting. Lovely room, number 5, on ground floor, spacious, warm and well equipped with a great en-suite. Hubby loved long bath! We were originally on 2nd floor but when I rang to ask if it would accomodate my wheelchair, they said it would but if they could bring us down lower they would, and they did. I couldn't have asked for a better placed room. Food was great and of a good quality, bacon was delicious! Bar and entertainment was good, especially George the vocalist. He sang a great selection of songs at a volume where you could still have a conversation if you wanted to. He was kind enough to open his spot by asking for requests etc and also said if we just wanted to sit and "blather" that was fine too. The main thing that made our stay was the staff, a real credit to the hotel. Even came out to wave our coach off. Nice little touches like this make a difference. Having been brought up in the hotel trade and worked in it I have high customer satisfaction standards and these were all met here. Thank you to them all. Lovely location too with lots to do in area, with lots of help available from reception. Intend on returning soon.

Room Tip: Ring hotel and tell them your requirements and I am sure they will oblige.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui13Blackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel.

As General Manager I feel it is important for all of the team to read guest comments. All reviews are posted on the staff notice board for the team to see. Your comments will be a great boost to them and I thank you on their behalf. We look forward to welcoming you to the Duke of Gordon again.

Thank you

Paul Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birtley
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Highlands & Mistletoe break with party of 30 members of arthritis charity.
First class food, very good service, very accomodating all round. recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birney11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel.

It is pleasing to know that you had a good short break here in Kingussie The team and I thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you to the Highlands again.

Regards

Paul Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

we booked through a living social deal which was expensive for what you get..The hotel is owned by a bus tour company catering for pensioners on bus tours so is very much geared towards them..which is fine, they all seemed to be enjoying themselves, But I was quite disappointed with the food..I would recommend eating in the Tipsy Laird in the village.
Our room was very nice, bright and clean..and the staff were very friendly and helpful.Our stay included passes to the Highland Wildlife Park which was really worth visiting and is only a couple of miles away.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nambarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel.

I am sorry that you were unhappy with dinner and found the menu not to your liking. Disappointingly, on this occasion we were unable to meet your expectations which we sincerely apologise for. Table d’Hote inclusive dinner menu is served in the Balmoral Restaurant. The Lounge Bar offers an alternative menu that is also available to guests with a suplement cost. All meals are prepared on the premises using fresh local produce where possible.

Many hotels throughout the UK accommodate coaching holidays during the quieter months of the year, which is a necessity to ensure the on going sucess of the business and the local economy. The hotel is privately owned and caters for coach tours throughout the year as well as Golfing Parties, Tourists, Weddings, Conferences and family holidays.

Please be assured that we do everything we can to make our guests visit as pleasant and relaxing as possible. I trust you will visit this special area of natural beauty again.

Paul Brown
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Having booked a living social deal we were sold something which this hotel just did not deliver. The average age of the other people in the hotel were 80+ which was quite a shock for us when we walked in. The first thoughts of the hotel were it was very old fashioned and the musty smell hit you when you walked in. On being given our room key we were even more dissapointed, the tired and musty theme continued. The room appeared clean but on further inspection the walls were stained and would generally benefit a full refurb. The bathroom vinyl was loose and bubbling and the bath was chipped/burned. The window in the bedroom would not shut properly due to it being screwed shut. The shower was more like a big drip, there was no water pressure and to get any type of hot water you had to run it for 10 minutes first. The bed was the most uncomfortable place to sleep - if you have booked you would be more comfortable in the car!

As part of our deal we had a dinner on the first evening. We decided to book later to miss the rush and were presented with a menu for a 4 course meal with a choice of dishes for each course having ordered we were presented with food which was luke warm which was plated up hours in advance - it was truely terrible. I have never experienced fast food quite like it, after you had poked round the first course and decided not to eat it your next course was there. I would really recommend not eating in the hotel at all. The breakfast was not much better - after a quick look at it and sampling of the porrige we left and did not even bother going back the next day.

Such a disapointment however it forced us to get out as early as possible and not come back until as late as possible.

There is nothing to do in the area however Aviemore is about 12 miles away - I would really recommend finding something there instead as its close to the Cairngorms and much more to do.

On our last day we were woken by the bus company running their engines for hours, however it turned out that the hotel is owned by a coach tour company so what they want is more important.

On check out we were not even asked if we enjoyed our stay maybe because of the look on our faces ready to complain. We decided that there was no point in complaining as between the ages of 80 - 100 you may quite like it - we are 28 & 35.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeofGordonHotel, General Manager at Duke of Gordon Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Duke of Gordon Hotel.

Firstly I apologise for not responding sooner, I have been on annual leave and have only just returned. It is disappointing that you did not enjoy your visit to the hotel and the town of Kingussie. I have taken on board your comments and I am looking into each of your points.

The Duke of Gordon is an Edwardian hotel built in 1906 where we have tried to combine the period décor with modern facilities without changing the charm of the building. It is noted that you found little to do in the area. I am afraid that throughout the highlands many of the attractions are closed during the winter months opening again at Easter. Each evening we provide live entertainment with dancing for all hotel guests with a range of board games and an extensive library of contemporary and modern books in the Lounge for those who prefer a quieter evening. The hotel is privately owned and caters for coach tours throughout the year as well as Golfing Parties, Tourists and conferences.

I am sorry that you were allocated an un-refurbished room and that you had a problem with the shower during your visit and I thank you for letting us know that it was faulty. There is an ongoing refurbishment programme at the hotel, 75% of the bedrooms and public areas have been completed to date.

With regard to your meals, I am disappointed that you were unhappy and found the menu not to your liking. The Table d’Hote dinner menu is changed daily using fresh local produce. Full Scottish Grilled Breakfast is offered on the buffet table with a varied choice of Juices Cereals, Fruit, Natural Yoghurt, with further choices cooked to order.

I can assure you that we do everything we can to make our guests visit as pleasant and relaxing as possible. Disappointingly, on this occasion we were unable to meet your expectations which we sincerely apologise for. I do hope that you will visit this special area of natural beauty again at another time of the year when you will find so much to see and do in and around Kingussie.

Paul Brown
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.7 km away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.0 km away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 km away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Star Hotel
The Star Hotel
#5 of 5 in Kingussie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
18.4 km away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
3.5 km away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 4 in Newtonmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke of Gordon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Gordon Hotel

Property: Duke of Gordon Hotel
Address: Newtonmore Road, Kingussie PH21 1HE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Kingussie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,432 - ₹ 10,300
Hotel Class:3 star — Duke of Gordon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Gordon is one of the premier privately owned hotels in the heart of the Scottish Highlands and the Cairngorm National Park,a truly unspoilt and spectacular part of the world. The hotel is one of the few highland hotels that can offer all the home comforts of a modern hotel combined with the traditional charachater and heritage of an old scottish coaching inn. The open log fire welcomes our guests into the warm and friendly enviroment that is the Duke of Gordon Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Duke of Gordon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Gordon Kingussie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing