We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay, this cottage has everything you...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sundowner Cottage

Sundowner Cottage in secluded location, 1 mile from Kingussie.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sundowner Cottage in secluded location, 1 mile from Kingussie.
Private deck looking over the tree lined garden Spacious, open plan kitchen and dining room with high beamed ceiling.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Sundowner Cottage in secluded location, 1 mile from Kingussie.
Private deck looking over the tree lined garden
Spacious, open plan kitchen and dining room with high beamed ceiling.
Living room opening out through patio doors to the deck
Twin bedroom
Double bedroom
Main Bathroom
Ensuite bathroom
Private parking next to cottage
Large tree lined garden
Large tree lined garden with seating areas
View of courtyard garden from kitchen
Table tennis room
Ruthven Barracks (adjacent) is floodlit at night
RSPB Bird Reserve just l mile away
Tromie River just l mile away for paddling and swimming
Entrance drive.  Quiet and scenic, set in 2 acres
Highland Cattle at the entrance driveway with Ruthven Castle behind
Polar bears at the Highland Wildlife Park just 4 miles
Kingussie just a 14 minute walk to shops and restaurants, golf 2 miles
Loch Morlich with the Cairngorms behind, just 20 minutes drive
Ptarmigan restaurant Cairngorm Mountain, winter skiing summer walking and funicular railway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kingussie, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
R M
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful stay, this cottage has everything you need and more!”
Reviewed 15 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A lovely cottage welcomes you along with very welcoming hosts. Right from the start you are made to feel very at home as you are provided with homemade bread and a bottle of wine. Potatoes, salad items and fruit were provided during our stay fresh from the garden. The cottage was spotlessly clean and was extremely comfortable. Our children enjoyed playing table tennis in the nearby barn and enjoyed watching the many birds feeding on the bird table. The cottage is situated in a lovely area. From here we managed several mountain bike rides and mountain walks. We would thoroughly recommend this cottage. We hope to return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How clean everything was
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Feb 2016
Dear Guests, What a great week you had in Sundowner, we are so glad you enjoyed staying in the cottage and had a good time out and about in the area on your mountain bikes.

Best wishes, Julie & John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viv H
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent cottage with extremely friendly and helpful hosts!”
Reviewed 3 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The cottage is in a beautiful location. We found that we didn't have to travel very far to do some fantastic walks and see the gorgeous scenery. It is very well equipped, warm and comfortable. We loved the table tennis room and the use of the bikes. The Wifi signal was very good so my 13 year old was pleased! The owners couldn't have been more helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Feb 2016
Dear Guests, We are delighted that you had such a great week staying in the cottage and enjoyed the table tennis and bikes too. We hope to see you all again in the future.

Best wishes, Julie & John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Home from home comforts in beautiful Scottish setting.”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Sundowner cottage is an immaculately clean and warm retreat with all the comforts of home. Julie had left homemade bread, jam, milk and a bottle of wine which we enjoyed on our arrival. She also gave us lots of ideas on walks and local places to eat.
The kids enjoyed playing table tennis in the barn and I found being able to use the laundry very handy as the wet weather meant we had lots more muddy clothes than I had planned for!
However the weather did not affect the enjoyment of our stay and waterproofs and even winter clothes in July(!!) meant we could enjoy all the local area had to offer.
We enjoyed
The gondola up the Nevis Range and one of the walks outside on the mountain.
A drive to the Glenfinnan Viaduct (for all the Harry Potter fans)
Horse riding at Rothiemurchus and browsing in the Visitors Centre.
Tea and cake at the Potting Shed and up close with all the birds and red squirrels.
A climb to the summit on Cairngorm Mountain with guide Sammy who was excellent and very entertaining.
A beautiful walk around Loch an Eilean (2 hours)
A boat trip from Crommarty where we seen dolphin in their natural habitat.
Good wholesome food at The Bridge Cafe at Spean Bridge.
The Happy Hagis in Kingussie served lovely fresh fish and chips.
La Taverna buffet in Aviemore provided an excellent selection of fresh pizza, pasta and salad (and cakes afterwards).
We also used some of the fresh produce from the vegetable patch at the cottage (turnip, potatoes, lettuce and onions) which was another great little treat provided by Sundowner Cottage.
All in all we had a very enjoyable stay at Ruthven Steadings and would highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The firm mattress
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2016
Dear Guests, What a fabulous review. Thank you so much for taking the time to tell others about the cottage and the area. We hope to see you again next year. Best wishes, Julie & John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neenief
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Family holiday ”
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from this fantastic cottage, cannot praise the accommodation and owners enough. The setting is perfect, close to village with beautiful views. The cottage was immaculate very tastefully furnished, wonderfully warm and cosy and exceptionally clean. Lovely home made bread and bottle of wine ready for us on arrival what more could we ask for? I would highly recommend this accommodation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2016
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for all your wonderful comments and we very much look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best wishes,
Julie & John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolomite...
L
1 review
“Great facility and hosts”
Reviewed 14 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Lovely cottage - plenty of space for two of us, I think there'd be plenty of space for 4.

We were there in winter and it was great having such a great place to come home to. Very close to all the hills and the centre of Kingussie.

Great hosts - friendly but not imposing. Nice touch to have a pint of milk, a loaf of bread and bottle wine on arrival!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, modern accommodation
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2016
Dear Guests,

We are so pleased you had such a good holiday and enjoyed staying in the cottage. Hope to see you again in the future.

Best wishes,
Julie & John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing