We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We just want to go back” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cross at Kingussie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Cross at Kingussie
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
Certificate of Excellence
Fife
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“We just want to go back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

As we all do and having read other reviews it would be easy to follow a thread about room quality versus dining experience BUT as an overall impression The Cross delivers everything for the price paid , once you get to know it. Outstanding food , not the same food, a daily changing menu that was served impeccably , comfortable rooms , WiFi , accessible wine list , pleasant staff , superlative breakfast ( it worries me that few reviewers mentions this ) , lazy lounging and minutes from some of Scotlands finest scenery , choose your holiday to suit your pursuits and you could never argue against the standards here. Look forward to returning for a fourth time , thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: Worried about previous reviews , ask the owners , they are there to help !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VisitScotlandFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    40
    9
    8
    3
See reviews for
17
128
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lanark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

Just stayed at this little gem hidden in a mini glen at the edge of Kingussie. You go up the brae and nearly at the top turn left down into a mini glen with the mill at the bottom alongside a beautiful burn. Although in the midst of housing etc it is completely hidden and all that kept buzzing in my head was Brigadoon!

Anyway, it is very much an individual restaurant with rooms and not a hotel so don't go there if you are looking for everything with bells on! Our room which was at the back, was spotlessly clean, not large but had a nice selection of mags, good toiletries, good quality tea tray, tv and a stereo with small selection of cd's. Best bit was the bed for us! We had the best nights sleep I have had in a hotel. Reading others' comments, I would imagine sound proofing could be a problem if you were unlucky enough to be there with other noisy guests but we weren't!

Our dinner was of the highest quality and an absolute treat, only two choices in each course but if you love your food this is not a problem! Amazing winelist to go with it which took quite some reading. The young staff are all very charming and friendly.

All in all we had a wonderful stay at The Cross and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask the owners advice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baldiebane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

Owner and staff offer warm friendly welcome and service.However this is not a four star hotel, rooms and common areas all very tired with very poor insulation, noise travelling up through the floor and adjoining rooms. Restaurant food not five star although it does have an extensive wine list.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AussiePhill010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

We spent a really enjoyable night at the Cross earlier this month. The food, the terrace, the ambiance, the staff were all of high quality and we left feeling relaxed and wishing we could have stayed longer.

The food was truly lovely with complementary flavours creating a culinary delight. And then there's the wine.....!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arcadiansteps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

The Cross sells itself as a restaurant with rooms - which is rather pretentious and meaningless - because you have to pay for the rooms – they're not giving them away free of charge!

Our room was directly above the kitchen, and although we were warned about this when we booked, the noise was more than they described. I didn't sleep. At all. For two nights. I was glad to get home to my own bed.

The room itself was basic. Dated decor, no view, a brand new TV with no reception (yes, we know they don't want their guests to view TV - they say so in the guest folder - but on a wet Friday night in Kingussie it would be nice to be able to watch 20 mins whilst your other half is getting ready).

The food was fine, although when I ordered lamb and asked for it to be cooked so there was no blood, I was told to order fish instead. For the price, you don't expect to be treated like an ignorant schoolboy, even if it was done in the most hospitable way.

The guest folder contains 2 A4 pages of instructions asking (ordering) guests to refrain from placing reviews on TripAdvisor. The reason boiled town to the fact that in the owner's view, guest aren't professional reviewers. Pretentious nonsense. A bit like The Cross itself.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sc_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.4 km away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.7 km away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.4 km away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.5 km away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
0.4 km away
The Star Hotel
The Star Hotel
#5 of 5 in Kingussie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
26.7 km away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cross at Kingussie? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cross at Kingussie

Property: The Cross at Kingussie
Address: The Cross Tweedmill Brae Ardbroilach Road, Kingussie PH21 1LB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Kingussie
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kingussie
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,650 - ₹ 13,791
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cross at Kingussie 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary five star restaurant with eight comfortable bedrooms set in a converted tweed mill and situated in 4 acres of riverside grounds within Cairngorm National Park. AA three-rosette award winning dinners feature the highest quality fresh, local, and seasonal produce, all complimented by a 300 bin wine list and around 40 specialist malt whiskies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your The Cross at Kingussie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cross Kingussie
The Cross Hotel Kingussie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing