We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Would Highly Recommend”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gulabin House

Gulabin House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gulabin House
Double Ensuite Looking up from the lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Gulabin House
Double Ensuite
Looking up from the lounge
Upstairs Bathroom
Kitchen
Dining Room with kitchen in background
Looking from the Dining room table
Main lounge
The lodge in the distance
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Blairgowrie, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BeckyDB
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Would Highly Recommend”
Reviewed 26 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Booked this house for a weekend away with a group of friends (in our twenties). Lovely modern house in excellent condition. Even better and grander than in the pictures! The lady who owned it was really friendly and happy to help.

The place was equipped with more amenities than expected and the views were lovely. Also managed to get skiing which was a bonus (so close by!) with an amazing log fire to come home to as well as a drying room for our wet clothes.

The only downsides I can mention was the lack of hot water for the size of the group, however there were two electric showers we could use therefore this was only really a problem for the main bedroom en suite shower (which is amazing with lots of jets and shower heads- shame we couldn't get any hot water out of them!) and the bath. Also, although we were given our privacy and no one walked in and out like previous reviews have mentioned, we did catch a few glances in the window! Although a bit off putting, this is understandable with a group of our age which could have negative stereotypes attached (which we hoped to have disproved!). The wifi was a bit slow but I think we tested it to its limit as a large group of twenty somethings.

The place was spotlessly clean on arrival, which is worth a mention due to previous negative reviews as they are not the case. All in all lovely cosy beautiful house in just as beautiful surroundings. I had looked at other properties of a similar size and spec that were all more than double the price. Yes you have to clean up after yourself but it is well worth the value. Really hope to visit again. Thank you for having us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2016
Many thanks for your comments, these are much appreaciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma C
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great house but needs a good clean”
Reviewed 7 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed at Gulabin House as a group of friends with young children. The weather was wild so we stayed in and made use of the fire most of the time. The house was warm and well equipped, but was very much let down by the upkeep and standard of cleanliness. To mention a few problems - the downstairs floor was filthy - sticky to walk on, and covered in hair, dust and debris - not ideal when you have young children playing on the floor. The highchair seat was covered in a thick layer of dust. I can only comment on one bedroom, but there was hair and even a bug (!) in one of the beds. We found a half-used pack of diazepam in a bedroom cupboard (just as well we found it before a child did). The bathrooms were reasonably clean, and the showers were hot and powerful. The kitchen was well equipped with utensils etc, but again, was not as clean as it should have been. The kitchen cupboards were filthy. We were left with a dirty, used washing up sponge and wiping up cloths and not an abundance of cleaning materials. It was obvious that the property is used by a lot of hen and stag parties, given the detailed notice to "not vomit in the sinks" and to "wipe up all traces of vomit, no matter where they are" - not exactly what one wants to read or envisage. There were very detailed instructions given as to how to clean the property before you leave - including cleaning the oven, fridge, floors, emptying the dishwasher (with its cycle length of 3 hours - yeah right!), stripping the beds etc - I agree with leaving a holiday rental in a satisfactory condition, but to ask guests to essentially do the job of the cleaner, is a bit of an insult! I suspect that whoever is meant to clean the property relies on the job done by the guests - which, in this case, was pretty poor!

If the place was deep cleaned, and some of the furniture replaced (e.g. the grotty sofas, the living room rug), this would be a lovely place to stay - though better suited to hen/stag parties than folk looking for luxury/privacy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The living space, the fire and the views
Liked least: The poor standard of cleanliness
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2016
Many thanks for your review Gemma. Having spoken with you on the phone hopefully some of the issues have been cleared up. I did take the time to contact another person in the party who booked the house and she commented she thought the property was very nice with no problems apart from the sponges. However, I will reply to your comments below as It is obviously very disappointing to read your comments. These as an owner I take very seriously. As I explained the beds would have been made up the day you arrived with fresh linen that comes straight from the factory so very surprised the beds were not to your satisfaction. I can only apologise for the medication found in the cupboard, our cleaners have been instructed to ensure all cupboards are thoroughly checked in the future. Clean sponges are now left for all groups. Unfortunately our managers accidently left a notice out for you which is the cleaning notice for our Stag and Hen groups and not the normal family cleaning notice. On occasions we do have all male and all female parties stay and this is just a reminder for them to clean up after any accidents. All we ask is that groups clean up after themselves and leave the house in a tidy state. I can confirm we do not rely on our guests to clean the property. The sofas have now been replaced with 2 modern settees and at the time of your review they had been on order for 5 weeks. Regarding the sticky floor, we have now changed our floor cleaner and this has resolved the issue of the stickiness. We have now taken the time to review our procedures and hopefully after a glowing review from our New Year group that have just left we have rectified all of the issues raised.
Darren (owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dundeegir...
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great house, lovely location, privacy concerns”
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

A large group of us stayed at Gulabin House for a hen party. The location is fab, it is secluded without being too rural and very scenic. The house itself is lovely and there was absolutely everything we needed. We were given a good arrivals tour by the on-site managers. Our only issue was that of privacy. We were told that the on-site managers lived directly behind the house and had access to the drying room via a door. We did not realise that this meant they would use this door as a throughway whilst we were staying in the property, which happened on at least two occasions. We were particularly perturbed when at one point on the Saturday evening as we were sitting in the lounge, the female (I'm sorry I don't remember her name - Ash?) strolled in without any warning to retrieve a vase for some flowers she had just been given. Now we realise that access to the house is probably necessary when you are an on-site manager, however we did not think it was right that she was able and willing to walk in unannounced whilst we were in the middle of a private party. Furthermore on the Sunday morning as we were packing up our cars, but still technically 'in' the house, we noticed both of the managers come through the door from the drying room, coffees in hand, to get outside. Again we just don't think this is right if you have paying guests using the house.

That aside, we had a great stay and I would not hesitate to recommend Gulabin House. We did unfortunately leave a stain on the dining room tablecloth that, even with our repeated scrubbing and use of cleaning products and lemon juice did not budge! We will happily replace this.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayleighl...
Inverurie, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Weekend”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Stayed here for a long weekend along with 11 others and the house had everything that you could have asked for. Darren the owner was accommodating when arranging activities for during the day and very helpful when needed. Highly recommend staying here and would definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gazza73
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent weekend”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

11 of us stayed here for a hen weekend, house is more than adequate with great facilities. Fully equipped kitchen with everything you could ask for. Log fire is amazing as are the views. Our only constructive criticism would be that a bit TLC is required. The place could have done with a deeper clean, a shower curtain in main bathroom and blackout window coverings in the bedrooms. Bathrooms all had mini bottles if you forget your shampoo. We did rifle shooting whilst there which we all thoroughly enjoyed. A BBQ was also provided which we used. All linen, towels, cleaning stuff provided. On the whole great value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing