We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
18
17
8
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
17
8
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews a lot of noise warm welcome asta dundee ensuite wee dog
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Initial disappointment as I had booked on line and the photograph gave that the hotel was on the main street; but in fact it was just off the main road and didn't look as welcoming as the photograph suggested. On arrival there was no one to greet us so we went into the bar next door and were given the room keys and directed to our rooms. The rooms were small and the beds comfortable, but generally rather tired in decoration.
Later we met the manager who was very friendly and accommodating, explaining were we could ark the car for the night; it was a shared car park with a business so without her advice we would have been blocked in after 8am the next day.
We had a ong drive ahead the following day so had an early meal and retired soon after 9:30pm. Sadly the bar below did not close early and there was a lot of noise from there, it was around 3am when the last customer left and came noisily upstairs to the rooms near mine. All in all not a good experience but I am sure that we possible got the wrong night.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank chieva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed Saturday 5th for one night. Room 4 overlooking the back. Room had been recently painted. En-suite had a bath which some people like. Nice wee bar. Pool table tbeough in another room. Lady who runs the hotel was very nice and helpful. Decent enough for the money.
Would reommend. Had breakfast at Wetherspoons 2 min walk away. Parking a bit tricky but there are places to park nearby.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank masterchef1872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

Blairgowrie/Rattray, Perthshire is famous for its strawberries and rasberries often supplying Wimbledon.
It is the gateway to visit Glenshee ski centre,Balmoral and Aberdeenshire.
It has an amazing amount of publicbars/hotels with plenty of places to eat.

The cities of Dundee and Perth are within easy travel by bus or car. There is a golf course with another about 5 miles away in the near- bye town of Alyth.
As an ideal base you can travel to Glamis Castle where the queen mother spent her youth, visit J.M.Barries birth town at Kirriemuir and the famous 'Glens'.

The warm comfortable rooms within the Victoria hotel match the warmth from the owners and their staff and after a walk along the River Ericht you can return to a warm base and enjoy a drink from the well stocked bar. A great base to explore the area that the Queen Mother and the Royal Family took to their heart.
If you can fit it all in there is the Pitlochry dam and fish ladder where you can watch salmon climb the water uphill then there's the whisky trails.Book in, go explore and enjoy your stay you will not be disappointed.

Room tip: All rooms are clean and tidy,you do not hear the bar as you are above a different section
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank billsreviews2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017

Stayed for a few nights, as significant other half had always wanted to see Balmoral Castle (about an hour`s drive away). The hotel has recently undergone refurbishing and is clean and unpretentious. The owners are a young couple, who were friendly and welcoming. On learning that I played guitar, Vic invited me to play in the lounge. (For the sake of his clientele, I stayed in my room!)
Our room was small, but clean and the hotel is in a lovely location. A riverside walkway at the Ericht is virtually on the doorstep. We didn`t have breakfast, so unable to comment on this-(there is a Weatherspoon`s just around the corner.) Would stay again and all the best to Vic and his family.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank johnnyt20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

We had only one night in this hotel. Reception situated on dark bar was little creepy. Althought our room was wee, was very nice, comfortable and clean. Bed was comfy and good size. We had a good stay.
Thank you

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Zuzana1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews