We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
18
17
8
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
17
8
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews young couple friendly owners a lot of noise warm welcome asta dundee ensuite wee dog
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2010

No hospitality when we arrived, in a hurry to take payment from us. Rooms were ok, towels a bit shabby. The breakfast was a damned disgrace,cold eggs decorated with a few lettuce leafs, cheap sausage, coffie like treacle when i had asked for a weak one. But the waitress did not understand english,and when she realised we were not happy she completely vanished. Fine as a pub for a drink but aviod B&B

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank curlynewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

dont go if you have disabled problems we booked 2 rooms 1 double and 1 family room the double room was more like a cupbord with nowhare to put clothes and no telly .dad has parkinsons .this hotel has very steap stairs to climb staff were unhelpfull .he then could not stay in this very small bedroom/cupbord and went home. .the family room was better so myself sister and child stayed thare still no telly working staff said it was the didgital turnover !?this is a hotel .we went for what thay call breakfast got to this dark dining room and sat ourselfs down no staff thare .someone then came out and gave us breakfast without asking what we wanted young girl wanted corn flakes she got them then was asked if she wanted breakfast to!? strange hotel we finnished and went back to room then we got a knock at door it was staff asking us to pay for our stay .never had that before at any hotel we said that we looked to pay someone yesterday but no staff were thare and thay still charged for the double room whare dad could not possibly stay we were charged the full lot dont go to this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dolly064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2009

This Hotel is very old, and good be very charming, if it was runned more professional. There is a nice old restaurant with a warm an victorian atmosphere. But the interieur of the room was awful, and cleanliness could be better. The bed was obviously not completely renewed after the last visitor, since we found several - different - hairs in it. Breakfast was very simple.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frosch20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2007

Wonderful. One word i would use to describe my stay in this cosy family run establishment. Its not buckingham palace by any means however i was made to feel very welcome and at home by the staff who were very friendly and hospitable.
The food was of a very good standard and i did not have to wait a long time for it,after my delicious meal i was entertained in the lounge bar where i had a few drinks,a chat with the locals and joined in with a sing song. All in front of a roaring coal fire. My room was comfortable and homely and most importantly,very clean.
In the morning i enjoyed a tasty and varied breakfast and left the hotel feeling thoroughly satisfied.
All in all i recommend the victoria hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank foodie22352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2007

It’s no surprise that the owner was anxious for us to settle the bill as soon as we checked in. Our room was shabby with a musty smell, missing light bulbs, and bedding and towels that had seen better days. If we had had time enough to look for an alternative we would certainly have walked.

Without much hesitation we decided not to eat there that evening and judging by our breakfast experience we made the right decision. We also found the dining room locked and the whole ground floor in darkness when we came down in the morning. After 5 minutes of hanging around someone eventually appeared and we were brought the standard full breakfast without being asked what we wanted. After that the staff disappeared into the kitchen and we didn’t see them again.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Bullen010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews