We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Country House”
Review of Kinloch House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kinloch House
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Just back from a wonderful night at Kinloch House. We had taken friends for their wedding present and thankfully they were not disappointed either. Both superior bedrooms were extremely comfortable, very spacious with wonderful views over the countryside, very large beds and lovely furniture and the cleanest cream carpets i have ever seen in a hotel bedroom! The public rooms were beautiful with open fires. The staff were super, very polite and helpful which always enhances a stay in my book. Dinner was excellent served in a lovely diningroom with coffee and petit fours in the conservatory, not forgetting the canapes prior to our meal. Breakfast was great too, all fresh and cooked to order. I would definately recommend staying here, we shall definately return at some point.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gchk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (299)
There are newer reviews for Kinloch House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 226 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a 2 night ‘get away’ in March. We came away with very mixed feelings about the place!

Good Points:
-The Hotel is very comfortable and quiet with some lovely sitting areas next to cosy log fires
-Rooms are comfortable and clean although a little dated (aside from some damp on the wall in the bathroom, oh and a stain on the bedcover which was changed on the second day)
-Waiting staff are very friendly, efficient and helpful
-Breakfast on both days was very nice although limited choice for vegetarians.

Bad Points:
-The owners are incredibly rude and unfriendly
-Be prepared to be looked down upon if you are there on any kind of deal – we got a deal on booking.com where B&B was half the price quoted on the hotel’s own website. A point that the owner was quick to point out to us when we had a minor disagreement at check out!
-There are stuffed animals literally everywhere in the hotel
-The evening menu is very limited with around only 2/3 choices for main meals and is fairly overpriced at £50 per head. We decided to eat out on that basis and would highly recommend both Cargills and the Dalmore Inn – excellent service, food and value for money
-There is no service tray in the bedrooms which is really unusual and not sure about the reason for this
-The drinks at the bar are pricey - £7.50 for a Gordons Gin & Tonic
-Be prepared to listen to the owners conversations if you wish to sit at the fire in the reception area. It is so quiet that you feel you have to whisper. The owners, however, don’t seem to mind as they bellow about a horse they are selling on the phone for X thousands of pounds and how much money they are spending on this and that
-The restaurant was so quiet that you felt you have to whisper at your table. Even though we are both very noise sensitive and big fans of peace and quiet we found this a bit uncomfortable
-Overall the Hotel has a bit of a ‘stuffy’ feel to it. The staff are friendly but the owners are particularly ‘hoighty-toighty’
- There are guide books on display at reception area and throughout the hotel (and on some websites) which state that the hotel has a swimming pool and leisure facilities - it doesn't!

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room which looks onto the paddock with highland cows and horses
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VarScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

My wife and I stayed one night on a Travel Zoo deal for our first year anniversary and was really good value for money - £200 including dinner, breakfast, coffee and shortbread and an upgrade to a Superior room!

The hotel was wonderful. Really quiet and scenic surroundings, with cows and horses right next to the hotel! There was plenty of charming areas to sit and relax - from the sofa in the hallway by the real log fire to the conservatory. There was the bar area which had a wide selection of drinks and two other public rooms with another real log fire in one of them.

The rooms:-
We had room number 9 which I think was a superior room. It was situated upstairs above reception. The room was very spacious with a dressing table, sofa and tv, kingsize bed and plenty of wadrobe and drawer space. The room overlooked the fields and hills at the front of the hotel. The bathroom was also spacious with some nice toiletries included along with bathrobes. However, there were a few niggling negatives - the whole decor seemed outdated and old fashioned, there were no tea and coffee facilities in the room, and the pillows were feather pillows which I don't like so didn't have the best sleeps. In the morning, we were awoken by singing birds which was nice.

The food and drink:-
We had tea, coffee and shortbread in the conservatory on arrival. It was the best shortbread I have every tasted! Buttery, crunchy and sweet. The coffee I had was great too.

We had a great 3-course dinner and bottle of wine. We first had canapes and bread prior to our starter. Then for starter, I had the wood pigeon and my wife had the lobster risotto. Both were delicious. For main I had the featherblade of beef and my wife had the guinea fowl, again both were delicous and faultless. For dessert, I had the vanilla panna cotta while my wife had the dart chocolate torte. It was a stunning meal. We had coffee and tea at the bar with some surprise after dinner treats. It was faultless food and superb attentive service. The only downside was the atmosphere. The restaurant was quiet as there were only about five tables came and went. We could hear all the conversations being said and the cutlery chinking against the plates from all the tables. It would have been much nicer if some soft classical music could be played in the background to drown out the silence from tables and create a better, less tense atmosphere.

There was a good selection for breakfast too. I had Orange juice, coffee, toast, yogurt, then bacon, sausage, scambled eggs and the best black pudding I've tried to start me off the next morning!

Facilities:-
As stated above, there were several charming public rooms with real log fires. I wanted to play chess as there was a nice chessboard in one of the rooms but didn't have a chance.

There was a big area of gardens behind the house to explore. This was quite nice and would be great to see during the summer when flowers are in bloom.

Overall, we would recommend this hotel. This is a hotel with charm. Although, it is a bit old fashioned, it will not detract from it's charm. The food and staff are fantastic.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonkeyKong_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We stayed one night at Kinlich house.
Very nice hotel, lots of character yet warm with beautiful views.
We had a lovely large cosy room with a huge bathroom offering molten brown products. Good hair dryer, iron & ironing board etc.
We had afternoon tea infront of a roaring fireplace. Loved the evening meal, breakfast was fantastic. Food overall was very high quality. Service was also good.
Only negative was althought there was a very extensive wine list I seem to recall there only being one type of Rose wine.
We went with a travel zoo voucher and would defiantly go again or recommend it to others, very relaxing and romantic.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veronica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Just returned from spending a night at this wonderful hotel in Perthshire. The food, service and ambience were all outstanding. On top of this the rooms and indeed the whole hotel were spotlessly clean. Nothing seemed too much trouble for the staff who were, bar none, friendly and accomodating. I cant wait to return. Well done Kinloch House for showing how good Scottish hospitality can be!.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EricMooreFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blairgowrie
8.5 km away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
783 reviews
23.6 km away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,996 reviews
12.2 km away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 km away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,303 reviews
4.8 km away
Ivybank Lodge
Ivybank Lodge
#1 of 5 in Blairgowrie
126 reviews
4.6 km away
Angus Hotel
Angus Hotel
#3 of 5 in Blairgowrie
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinloch House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinloch House

Address: Kinloch Kinloch By Blairgowrie | Perthshire, Blairgowrie PH10 6SG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blairgowrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Blairgowrie
Price Range: ₹ 15,488 - ₹ 26,538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kinloch House 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of glorious Perthshire, famous for its stunningly beautiful countryside with lochs, rivers and trees, Kinloch House is the ideal base from which to explore the area while staying in a family-run Scottish country house providing a warm, welcoming and friendly environment. Dating from 1840 the charming house offers bedrooms and public rooms individually appointed with fine fabrics and furnishings and a stunning entrance hall with log fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Kinloch House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinloch House Hotel Blairgowrie
Kinloch Hotel Blairgowrie
Kinloch House Blairgowrie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing