We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inglewood
Ranked #3 of 37 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Everything just worked! Clean, comfortable rooms, great breakfast, great location (approx 200yds from Electric Railway Terminus and with bus and horse tram stops outside) and helpful and attentive owners Pip and Andy worked hard to ensure we had a trouble-free stay. I would certainly recommend this hotel (note that there is no lift - not a problem for us and they told us beforehand).

Room Tip: We had a room at the back (by request) which was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris50259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 206 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2012

A good location on the seafront with a horse-drawn tram stop right by the door. We didn't have a sea view, but the room was an excellent size, well-furnished, and exceptionally clean. Hotel staff were very obliging, even letting us print boarding cards, and recommending restaurants. Breakfast was fine, and the selection of whiskies in the bar was very impressive.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janet s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I stayed here with my mum who has mobility problems and pip & andy were really helpful both in terms of this and general info about the island, where to eat etc. The hotel is spotless & the breakfast was fab. The room & facilities were great. We were in a sea view room which had a stunning view.
The hotel location is really good as it's on the sea front and is close to the electric railway and the horse tram which picks up and drops off almost right outside the door.
The communal areas while spotless are quite dated compared to the rooms. The free Wi fi was great.
The only problem I had was with the on street parking but this was only because of my mums mobility problems and is no reflection on the hotel.

This is currently rated as the best hotel in Douglas as well as the IOM and it's easy to see why.

*Tip to people travelling from the UK the IOM does not have the network o2 so calls and txts are charged at international rated which I found a bit crazy but again this has nothing to do with the hotel. :)
Thanks Pip and Andy for a great stay.

Room Tip: Pay the extra few £ and get a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saz1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

the inglewood great hotel, from the moment we arrived till the last second of our stay andy and pip could not have been better hosts.we will be back and any one reading about the inglewood need have no doubts it is a great hotel.
thanks andy and pip we will be back as soon as possible
chris and kath clegg, cheers.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plumb48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

The Inglewood certainly lives up to it's great reviews and this is down mainly to hosts Andy and Pip who really made us feel at home from the moment we arrived until our departure. They were welcoming, helpful, full of advice on things like pubs and restaurants, likely weather etc and even let us use their phone when we found on arrival that our mobiles didn't work.

The whole place was comfortable and well decorated. Our room, which faced the rear was of adequate size and comfortably furnished and the bathroom was well appointed but a little cramped. There was plenty of tea, coffee and hot chocolate provided in the room, plus a widescreen TV and hairdryer. What could be a downside for some in that like most hotels and guesthouses on the promenade it has four floors, so there could be a lot of stairs if your room is on the higher floors. However the Inglewood's website does make this clear so there should be no surprises.

The breakfasts were excellent with a choice of full cooked bacon etc, kippers and 'healthy' and various permutations in between were no problem. In the evening, the bar (residents only) was a convivial place to share experiences of your day with Andy and Pip and other residents, who mostly seemed to have stayed there before - a testament in itself. There is also a spacious lounge facing the sea.

The Inglewood has a pleasant location on the Promenade about a mile from the town centre and less than half a mile from the Manx Electric Railway and Horse tram terminal at the north end of the Promenade. A frequent bus service passes the door and takes you not only to the Sea Terminal and town centre, but also direct to the Airport, Castletown and Port Erin. The Horse tram also passes the door. There are a number of good places to eat on the Promenade within ten or so minutes walk of the Inglewood. Best ones for us were the Italian Job in the arcade next to the Gaiety Theatre - great food and efficient service even when busy, The Taste of India - which tasted excellent and the Terminus pub, which as the name suggests is next to the horse tram and MER terminal.

Douglas itself disappointed. Apart from a good museum, the Camera Obscura and the promenade itself, there is not a lot for the visitor. The shopping was particularly poor with only one shopping street mostly fast food and low-end High street names. Best then to make the most of the excellent transport system radiating from Douglas with steam trains going west, electric trains going north and a comprehensive and frequent bus service across the island. An 'explorer' ticket for buses and trains is a great buy, particularly for 5 or 7 days. Castletown, Peel and Port Erin had more charm and there are miles of spectacular coastal, hill and dale walks or cycling to be done.

It was our first visit to the Isle of Man and despite mixed weather, we enjoyed it. We will be back and will have no hesitation in recommending the Inglewood.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are larger and have the best views. Ask for a lower floor if stairs are a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark_and_Carolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
1.5 km away
Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel
0.5 km away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 15 in Douglas
439 reviews
1.6 km away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#6 of 15 in Douglas
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#12 of 15 in Douglas
230 reviews
0.9 km away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#3 of 15 in Douglas
202 reviews
0 km away
The Edelweiss Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inglewood? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inglewood

Address: Queens Promenade, Douglas Isle of Man, Douglas IM2 4NF
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range: ₹ 5,341 - ₹ 7,581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inglewood is a four star gold and breakfast award winning guest house. It has been beautifully updated with modern contemporary rooms and facilities. The sixteen rooms are all en-suite and the bayview suites are spacious enjoying uninterrupted panoramic views of Douglas Bay. The inglewood is licensed for residents in the evening. Free wifi is available throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Inglewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inglewood Hotel Douglas
Inglewood Douglas, Isle Of Man, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing