We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveller rating
108
57
10
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
57
10
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews presidential suite complimentary soft drinks wood paneling tasted delicious complimentary newspaper traditional decor dvd player restaurant food is mini bar waitress service both dinner and breakfast first class service isle of man public rooms are charming hotel beyond the call of duty staff were friendly helpful
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 180 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

Dinner, the medium steak turned up rare/raw, after a comment it was taken to the kitchen, and came back rare again, stiff staff, sorry but I won't come back. Location great on the seaside, classy interiors but don,t be fooled.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Geir A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

Stayed for 4 nights at the Regency Hotel, first impressions were wonderful as we arrived early and our room was ready so we could freshen up and get out and about straight away. We upgraded our room after one night but this was not a fault of the hotel as I booked through a travel company and had asked for a kingsize bed but somehow ended up with a basic room. Upgrade was immediate and efficient so we could carry on with our holiday.

I love character properties and traditional décor so it was a real treat to stay here, the lift is charming and some of the furniture is just stunning.

We stayed in room 102 which was spacious, spotless and lovely with the windows open overnight to keep it cool, it was at the rear of the hotel so very quiet.

Breakfast was a treat, I had the full breakfast and the kippers, both were excellent quality & delicious along with wonderful big pots of tea.
All the staff were friendly & helpful and made our stay just brilliant especially James & his wonderful whiskies.

This was our first time to The Isle Of Man but wont be the last & we will return to The Regency.

Room tip: We had a room at the back 102, quiet & large.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

We stayed for three nights. Our flight was very early and, though check in is normally 3 pm, we were able to check in at 11 am. There is free parking for guests beneath the hotel though access is a little tight. Our room was cleaned while we were at breakfast. the breakfast staff knew what was in each breakfast item to be able to advise my wife who has a few food allergies. They quickly cooked some mushrooms in oil for her.
Our room had a balcony overllooking the inner atrium which we never used as you would be overlooked. There were no seats on the balcony anyway.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank exfordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

Two days here on business and what a hidden gem. Smallish promenade-fronted and most definitely from an era that time seems to have forgotten. Comfortable rooms with decent mattresses make a change from orthopedic hard-as-ironing-boards beds that most modern establishments provide.
But the thing that sets this above the rest is the dining. A complimentary amuse-bouche from the chef was an absolute delight. Beetroot meringue with a whipped creamed goats cheese filling. Wow! Just wow! Oh why isn't this on the main menu? It would sell out. King prawns in a very mild garlic, not over powering, for starters, and they melted in the mouth. Divine.

The main course of sea bass served with locally grown baby potatoes and greens was superb. Somewhere on the Isle of Man is the World's Best garden pea grower; they are served in most restaurants in the IoM, and they have proper flavour and texture.
Dessert was an assiette of blackberry delights - sorbet with a smattering of wild blackberry sugar, blackberry jelly and a blackberry macaroon. All were executed just right.
The offering of most wines by the glass is helpful if you don't have the capacity for a whole bottle by yourself. The Chilean Merlot was excellent and porty enough to prove its legs.
There aren't many restaurants in my World that score all 5 out of 5 in the courses and wine, but this one most definitely does.
Excellent work chef, and waitress service that is friendly without being intrusive... Do keep it up, as I will be back.
Well done.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank LordKnowle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

Stayed at this hotel for the first time and it was wonderful from start to finish. Check in, room, food location and the view from our room was all amazing. We were catching the early ferry back and we where tight on time however after ordering breakfast the previous night the staff pulled out all the stops to have it ready as soon as the restaurant opened. Highly recommended.

Room tip: The rooms with a sea view are amazing
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews