We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

The Terminus Tavern
Ranked #20 of 161 Restaurants in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

Friendly staff and good food (generous portions), this place is worth a visit and was value for money.

Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2018

Went for evening meal. We thought the beer was good, the food reasonable, the regulars friendly, but the surroundings needed an urgent spring clean and the bench seating needs immediate re-upholstering as it makes the place seem a bit dowdy and unloved. The landlord seemed a bit too harassed, not a friendly smile all night and so not your ideal host. In fact a poor couple with drinks got told to leave as he spotted they had a little dog with them. The customer was a bit upset as he had only come because the pub advertised it was dog friendly. He showed the landlord a bit of paper listing The Terminus as one of H&Bs dog friendly pubs. The landord eventually accepted the fact - but then told the guy not to come again as he would get it taken off the friendly list asap. Shame as it caused a bit of a scene and the couple seemed very polite and well behaved - like the dog was. They should come to Sheffield as all pubs are dog friendly.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jody80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeronBrearleyPubs, Marketing Adminstrator at The Terminus Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Hi there jody80

Thank you for taking the time to contact us with your feedback of the Terminus.

I am glad you enjoyed your visit, although I am disappointed to hear you found the landlord not as your ideal host as Dave is one of our most popular landlords, which is evident in all the positive reviews we receive.

We don't look to discuss other customers, but at no point was the couple (or their dog) in question asked to leave nor told not to return. In fact, the couple continued to stay at the Terminus and enjoyed a meal.

Kind regards
Lauren
Marketing Adminstrator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

My daughter and partner took us on Easter Saturday for lunch and it was lovely. The food was served hot and the plates were full. The chicken goujons starter was huge and freshly cooked (not frozen). I had the chicken and crispy bacon salad and that was really tasty too. The restaurant caters for all ages and children are welcome. The view onto the bay is great too.

Thank Wynn07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Arrived here towards the end of service on Friday evening but had a very friendly welcome and got to sit by the fire. Good selection of local beers. Excellent pub menu with local food and big portions. I highly recommend the fishcakes. Desserts are traditional and fabulous. Went back for drinks on Sunday. Great place to visit after a ride on the horse tram or the electric railway

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sam3314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
112
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

I never thought I’d be leaving a negative review for this place. However when myself and my family visited on this occasion, having booked a table in advance, we were very disappointed to be dumped in the pool room in the middle of a load of rowdy youngsters. Our table was literally in front of them all whilst they were drinking, yelling to each other, swearing and playing pool. I can assure you, this was not the entertainment we wanted. It was our first night staying on the island for our Easter break after many years of coming here. After previous positive experiences here, we had been looking forward to a lovely meal. Instead we were forced to hand back the menus and leave, to find somewhere else to dine. It baffles me why there are two tables just plonked in front of the pool table. So out of place. A suggestion; lose the pool table and introduce a few more tables for paying customers who want to order and enjoy the food. The place receives a lot of complimentary reviews and always seems busy, this would make more sense surely?! Then maybe customers wouldn’t have to face a similar experience as ours and have to take their custom elsewhere!

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeronBrearleyPubs, Marketing Administrator at The Terminus Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to contact us with your feedback of the Terminus although I am sorry to learn of your disappointment.

At the Terminus, it is very rare for us to receive a complaint of this nature. The room you were seated in is generally very spacious with adequate room separating the pool table and the couple of dining tables. However, on the night you visited, the pub was very busy with office workers due to the start of the long bank holiday weekend.

Unfortunately, we had no other tables available to accommodate moving you as they were all full with other diners. As we do operate a first come, first served policy, we do recommend you book prior to visiting to ensure you are seated in your desired area of the pub.

I hope this experience hasn't put you off returning to the Terminus as we would like to welcome you back to enjoy some of our delicious food.

Kind regards
Lauren
Marketing Administrator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Terminus Tavern also viewed

Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 
Douglas, Isle of Man
 
Crosby, Isle of Man
Ballaugh, Isle of Man
 

Been to The Terminus Tavern? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing