We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant”
Review of The Welbeck Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Welbeck Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Very pleasant”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Although slightly dated in appearance the Welbeck was warm and cosy and the staff were friendly. The room was very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was very good. Didn't try the restaurant but regretted it as it looked very busy and our own choice wasn't that great. It's quite close to the casino in the Palace Hotel too which is good. On arrival we followed the directions on the website walking from the sea terminal but they were for a car round the one way system and involved a super-steep hill so if you are walking do the sensible thing and keep to the promenade and turn off at the appropriate road! (Probably quite straightforward for the intelligent). This is still quite a hilly approach for the less than agile. We booked via kgb deals so it was excellent value for money for us.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cheekychubbychops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    83
    17
    0
    0
See reviews for
66
134
35
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We had four nights at the Welbeck on a quick decision, last minute trip. Only deluxe room was available, so commenting on that level. This is a three star hotel with five star service. Everyone went all out to help in whatever area needed, and always with a smile. Food just amazing, and plenty of it. If I have to pull it up in any area, it would be in the room to room noise, which all hotels seem to get anyway. I would certainly go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaspberryLady2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I have been returning to stay at the Welbeck whilst visiting the isle of man since 2008 the staff always welcome me like and old friend. The food is excellent. I write this after enjoying a perfect fillet steak. The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Murr4y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I only had a short stay here, due to some poor planning at the command level. But what a lovely stay it was. The room I stayed in was a very lovely single. After a full set of XO rounds I can report that the room was up to Admiral rounds standard. It was good to see a fully stocked tea boat, with two packs of biscuits, but I only had the one pack, you know I must keep navy fit. The large telly was a real treat too; it made viewing true blood even more enjoyable. The real treat came when I got turned in, wow what a bed and very good black out blinds, shame I had to get up early, dam the bad planning of my old boss. The only down side is I was so happy I wanted to buy a beer, I know, it wasn’t Christmas but I thought what the hell. I got to the bar only to find no one serving, I waited around for a bit then came to my senses then left before I had to part with any cash. The HOD of the bar needs to re-brief their staff.

Room Tip: My oppos can report all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grumpyoldgunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Stayed here march 12 during our Easter voyage with some Burley sailors, the room could have easily passed as 5 star standard rather than the awarded 3 it has recieved, they were spacious, with quality in every department, curtains, bedding, bathroom , fittings etc etc ..
Good Wi Fi which is a must in these modern but demanding times....we all enjoy a bit of the old Mushroom surfing !?! Breakfast was of a good standard, good to see a bit of smoked fish on the menu...Ding dang bloody doo. say no more...reccomended BZ

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Douglas
1.2 km away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#5 of 17 in Douglas
370 reviews
0.8 km away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 17 in Douglas
610 reviews
0.1 km away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 17 in Douglas
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
19.5 km away
Ramsey Park Hotel
Ramsey Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ramsey
290 reviews
0.5 km away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#6 of 17 in Douglas
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Welbeck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Welbeck Hotel

Property: The Welbeck Hotel
Address: 13 Mona Drive, Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4LF
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
#2 Family Hotel in Douglas
#4 Business Hotel in Douglas
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,192 - ₹ 8,965
Hotel Class:3 star — The Welbeck Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending the style & elegance of a victorian property with all the modern facilities expected by the 21st century traveller, the Welbeck Hotel, Restaurant and Apartments is perfect for leisure and business. Number One Isle of Man Hotel on Tripadvisor since 2013 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Welbeck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welbeck Hotel Douglas
The Welbeck Hotel Douglas, Isle Of Man, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing