We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MUCH IMPROVED!”

Coast Bar and Brasserie
Ranked #39 of 165 Restaurants in Douglas
Price range: US$ 13 - US$ 46
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, View, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: A truly unique dining experience conveniently located on the Loch Promenade, Douglas, Coast Bar & Brasserie is renowned as a first-class dining experience. Choose from a selection of exquisite dishes as you enjoy the idyllic sea views, or enjoy a drink with friends from an extensive wine list. Cocktail menu and a range of both local and international beers. Now also serving traditional Afternoon Tea, (pre bookable).
Reviewed 6 April 2018

My wife and I had lunch at Coast Restaurant in the Claremont Hotel on Loch Promenade, Douglas, Isle of Man, today.

Our previous visit for lunch several months ago had proved a disappointment but - what an improvement this time! The appointment of Richard Birch as Executive Head Chef has certainly made a difference!

We ate of the A la Carte Menu - a fixed price menu was also available - and our starters and mains were excellent. Food beautifully presented and seasoned and served with a smile. Indeed, the service was courteous, friendly and efficient.

All in all, a most enjoyable lunch and we have decided already that we must return!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Antony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at Coast Bar and Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Dear guest, may we thank you for taking the time to leave us this very kind review. We are naturally delighted to note that you enjoyed your recent lunch with us, we are indeed very proud to have Executive Chef, Richard Birch, heading up our excellent kitchen team, and hope to now see you regularly at Coast. Many thanks once again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Visited on a Tuesday night and was very impressed. Service was at attentive and informative. The menu offered enough options to make choices an interesting challenge.

I fail to see how this restraunt is not in the top 5 on the island...

Thank AshbourneIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at Coast Bar and Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Dear valued customer. We are delighted to note how much you enjoyed your recent dinner with us. May we thank you for your kind words regarding our rating, the Trip Advisor algorithm is one we often have frustration with but we hope, with continued feedback of this nature, to see our position rise over time. We look forward to serving you in the near future, Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We had a large group of friends at Coast for dinner. Nice menu, but the food was nothing to write home about. Average at best. Disappointing considering it was quite pricey. The wine list was also quite pricey with few choices under £35. The best part of the evening were the very welcoming and friendly young wait staff. Sorry I don’t know their names, but they were very nice, very attentive, and always had a nice smile.

Thank yecats59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at Coast Bar and Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Dear Guest, thank you for your review. We are delighted to note you enjoyed the service and interaction from our excellent staff at Coast, but naturally disappointed that there were some aspects of your meal experience you feel we could improve upon, as such we will naturally discuss your feedback as a team. Whilst have wines that start from around £17 and an extensive list thereon, we also apologise if we could did not meet your personal expectations in this regard. We are always looking to adapt and improve wherever possible and as such may we thank you for your helpful and constructive feedback. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

Sandwiches and cakes were ok.
No tea or coffee was served.
Staff were not attentive enough.
Will not return

Thank manxcat19712017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at Coast Bar and Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

May we thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We are always looking to improve the service and products we offer our customers, therefore your feedback is greatly appreciated. We note your comment that neither 'Tea or Coffee' was served with your 'Afternoon Tea' at Coast Bar and Brasserie. As an extensive Tea and Coffee menu is an integral part of the Afternoon Tea experience we offer, we would welcome to opportunity to clarify this with you and having spoken to all our staff we do believe there must be some kind if misunderstanding? Either way, we do of course note your comments and will of course ensure that we address any service concerns accordingly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

Had a great afternoon sharing afternoon tea with friends. Lovely food - although my personal choice would be for more sandwiches, less cake - helpful, friendly staff, pleasant surroundings.

Thank EDIOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coast Bar and Brasserie also viewed

Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 
Douglas, Isle of Man
 
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to Coast Bar and Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing