We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (727)
Filter reviews
727 results
Traveller rating
540
147
31
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
540
147
31
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews daily newsletter home made cakes isle of man fresh milk biscuits ferry terminal little touches coffee machine manx breakfast no lift sea view breakfast was amazing sea front small hotel owners and staff excellent hotel stayed for nights
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 727 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2018

A lovely townhouse along the Isle of Man's Promenade, but only with sea views from the front rooms. I had such a suite, plenty of floor-space, 2 very comfortable modern chairs with footstools placed to enjoy the view out the huge bay window! Modern bathroom with walk in shower (my preference), Very clean and well kept. The staff went out of their way to accommodate me, even running upstairs with me to show me how the old fashioned steam radiators worked.
Note however if you cannot climb stairs, this place has no elevator (lift). Also I would have preferred a firmer bed, but quite acceptable.

Room tip: Only front rooms, which have a higher rate, have a sea view.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John-Kurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllanVanninHotel, Manager at Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

What a lovely review to read John thank you! It was our pleasure to look after you during your stay and we are just delighted you enjoyed your stay - the view across Douglas Bay really is wonderful from our sea view rooms.
Do come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

Another great stay at this friendly hotel on Douglas promenade. Always a warm welcome, nice rooms and staff who really try to make sure your stay is perfect.
Don’t miss the great Manx breakfast! Thanks once again, be back soon!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank ajadwhittaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllanVanninHotel, Manager at Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Thank you for your lovely review Andrew, it's always a pleasure to welcome you and we are already looking forward to your next visit :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

I stayed here for two nights mid-week for a work trip and thought the hotel was lovely. This was my first visit to this hotel. The lady who checked me in was very welcoming. I loved the little touches in the bedroom, from welcome informatIon addressed to me personally to a hand made cake and biscuit in the room, which was replenished the next day. The tea/coffee tray was very well stocked with filter coffee, instant coffee and tea. Fresh milk was available to bring back to the room at any time night or day from the dining room, on a self-serve basis, which was really convenient. The bed was really comfortable and the room an ideal temperature. I had breakfast at the hotel on both mornings. The food was lovely and the people who worked in the restaurant were also very welcoming. I will definitely stay here again and would definitely recommend it.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank judemckay0609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllanVanninHotel, Manager at Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

What a lovely review to read Jude thank you so much, you have really brightened our day :)
It was an absolute pleasure to look after you during your stay and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to the Ellan Vannin Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018

Stayed here on business for around 8 weeks. I moved rooms three times more for my own comfort than the hotel itself, every room is pretty different in size and shape although spotlessly clean. I will say though that some of the rooms are being slowly refreshed and refurbed which did not deter me in the slightest.
Had a chance to have breakfast a couple of times and I must say it was very good.
As for the girls they seemed to work endlessly and were absolutely fantastic nothing was ever too much trouble for them. Although they had most TV channels in the bar they could do with more in the rooms.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 746ml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllanVanninHotel, Manager at Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Thank you Martin for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to look after you during your stay on the Isle of Man and your kind words about our staff really does make our day. We do hope you return to the Island again soon and indeed to the Hotel :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018 via mobile

One night business stay with colleagues. Excellent location and friendly check in service. Room was lovely and warm, and a little treat of snacks in the room. Plenty of sockets for usb charging, clean towels laid out for the bathroom . Had a drink in the bar on our return, chatted to the really friendly owner. Breakfast was great and excellent selection to choose from . Thank you for an excellent stay

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank 308JamieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllanVanninHotel, Manager at Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Thank you Jamie for your lovely review. We are just delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, please do come and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews