We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Find”
other travellers have booked this property
Patio with hot tub and barbecue
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Patio with hot tub and barbecue
Ballawyllin Farm Cottage Ballawyllin Farm Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
25 reviews
Patio with hot tub and barbecue
Ballawyllin Farm Cottage
Ballawyllin Farm Cottage
Hot tub on patio
Relax in the hot tub
Superb view from patio area
Bedroom, with French doors to patio
Lounge / dining room with TV, DVD player, wood-burning stove
Lounge / dining room with TV, DVD player, wood-burning stove
Log burning fire in living room
Fully-equipped kitchen including washer-dryer, dishwasher, oven, fridge
Fully-equipped kitchen including washer-dryer, dishwasher, oven, fridge
Entrance to cottage
Well, outside cottage
Extensive grounds
Local wildlife
Extensive grounds
Grounds (showing main farmhouse, not cottage)
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Isle of Man

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Francine...
Oudenburg, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“lucky there was the hot tube”
Reviewed 8 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

-nice house with all the things you need! I love the animals (cat and chickens) but not all the spiders in the house and the rat living under the tube.
Five stairs to go to the kitchen from the livingroom and again 3 stairs to go outside and another 3 stairs down to the sleeping room makes it difficult for children and older people.
there is no steam hood so if you just cook an egg.... and you can not open a window in the kitchen without climbing up the washing machine.
you need a car to go somewhere because you can't sit the whole day in the tube.
not so very private because cars (owner and for the b&b) are just passing the tube.
because the floor is very sloping, everything is on one side on blocks.
+ You get a welcome packet with bread, milk and butter
it's in the middle of nature.
the owner is friendly

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
Thanks very much for your feedback, and we are sorry the cottage didn't fully meet your expectations. Just to reply on a few points:
- our listing clearly points out that the cottage is built on a slope, with sloping floors and steps between rooms, and that it is therefore not suitable for children or those with mobility issues
- the cottage is a traditionally built Manx stone cottage in farmland and countryside, so unfortunately it is not possible to keep spiders out. There are a range of wild animals in the countryside, not all "desirable" to all people. You are the only guests to have encountered a rat in the vicinity of the cottage and this is likely to have been attracted from the adjacent fields by the food you left out in the patio area. We will add instructions in the cottage not to leave food out in order to avoid this problem in future.
- we hope to install an extractor over the hob in the coming months - although this is difficult due to the nature of the walls and roof in this traditional building
- we note that you do not mention that we allowed you to erect a 10m high / wide radio antenna outside the cottage for nearly two weeks - we do our very best to meet guests' requirements and to address any problems which are brought to our attention (we live on site so always deal with any issues as soon as possible). We also note that you did not raise any of the issues in your review with us while you were here so that we could fix them where possible.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawnandph...
Leek, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Find”
Reviewed 19 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

A spacious comfortable cottage in a beautiful location with friendly hosts who made sure we enjoyed our stay. An easy drive into Douglas. Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would happily visit again. Many thanks to Neil and Graciela for looking after us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2017
Thanks for your review, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda A
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quirky cottage with quiet location”
Reviewed 1 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We rented the cottage for a week in June. The cottage is comfortable and well equipped, very clean and the owners were friendly and welcomed us with helpful information. We even had a hand drawn map of how to find the supermarket. We found the cottage by following the owners instructions as, apart from Douglas, Satnavs do not seem to find anywhere. The week went by to quickly.
I only found two faults with the cottage, the bathroom door I struggled to shut and the many steps between each room which would not do for a less able person.
It's a really quirky place, cosy and comfortable.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2017
Thanks for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We do state in the property listing that it is "Not suitable for small children or those with reduced mobility, due to sloping floors and steps between rooms." Note for other potential visitors - there are 2-3 steps between each room, as the cottage is built on a slope.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“tt race week”
Reviewed 14 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

a good welcome and clean cottage, garage was a bonus for us bikers and after a long day a nice soak in the hottub..brilliant will visit again

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willmanjr...
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay”
Reviewed 12 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely location with beautiful views. Great for exploring Isle of Man Coastal walks, which are stunning

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2017
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay in our cottage and on the Island.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 105
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing