We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$195
View deal
Priceline$195
eDreams$195
FindHotel$194
Tripadvisor$195
ZenHotels.com
Destinia.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (467)
Filter reviews
467 results
Traveller rating
293
102
41
24
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
293
102
41
24
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view isle of wight michelin star dining room large room tea and coffee facilities special occasion fresh milk fine dining lovely view great weekend a real treat excellent food nothing is too much trouble balcony wines emily
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 467 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2021 via mobile

What a wonderful stay we had at The Hambrough! Lovely rooms. Fantastic location with sea views. Warm staff members. And a restaurant with gorgeous food to boot! What more could we want?!? Highly recommend! Well worth the checking it out!!!

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LondonClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 November 2021

Firstly we discovered that this is not a 5* hotel, when we commented about a particular item we were then advised that is a 5* bed & breakfast! So good points , very good breakfast, obliging staff, great views.
So what’s it all about then? There are over 50 steps to some rooms ( this was never mentioned when we booked ), no offer of daily newspaper, no biscuits in room, we couldn’t’ get the tv to work basically there is no welcoming information package in room, a very small info pack was brought to the room. Ok we are in our 70’s & maybe should be better informed about things. Room 5 has no pictures or painting on the walls, a bit austere for us but each to his own.
Apparently there is Michelin starred chef now operating & we are advised the his food is excellent

Room tip: Check parking facilities.
Date of stay: November 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peterandjenny282
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hambrough Restaurant and Bar, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hambrough, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2022

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a valuable review.

Your points have been noted and were discussed shortly after your departure. My apologies that you thought we were a 5* hotel, there is a difference in amenities between the two.

We do indeed have a great chef Matthew Tomkinson in 6 months with us he has gained The Hambrough 2 Rosettes and a mention in the Michelin guide.

Room 5 is one of our Luxury rooms and situated on our second floor, maybe a Studio Suite on first floor might be better suited should you return. Sadly due to being a Victorian building we do not have a lift but our staff are happy to help with any luggage.

We do hope that you may return in the future.

Kindest Regards

Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2021

OK.. here we go, we got a sea view room with balcony, large room and good size bathroom,. Whilst the room was a bit tired it was clean and comfortable albeit the bed was too firm for us. Now.. dinner.. you must eat here, truly outstanding .. best mean of our holiday moreover the excellent food was confirmed with breakfast the following day. Staff were really friendly and they had a decent affordable wine selection. Just one thing, be warned that the car park whilst ample does have a narrow approach.

Room tip: Sea view room is a winner
Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank bensmith989
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 October 2021

Good location close to the beach and coastal path - so plenty of walking opportunities. Rooms comfortable and good choice of breakfast food. You currently need to book ahead for evening meals in the hotel, and also for outside restaurants.

Room tip: Go for front-facing rooms
Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank A_Hotel_Visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 September 2021 via mobile

We were lucky enough to select the Hambrough Hotel for our wedding ceremony. It was an intimate service just the two of us and 2 witnesses but was made perfect by Suzanne and the team.
A gorgeous hotel, our wedding evening was perfect, we were served outstanding food and our room with balcony and a sea view was perfect for our relaxing stay.
Thank you
Brydie and Tim Hill

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 769brydieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews