We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$192
View deal
Priceline$192
eDreams$192
Agoda.com$194
FindHotel$194
Tripadvisor$192
ZenHotels.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (467)
Filter reviews
467 results
Traveller rating
293
102
41
24
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
293
102
41
24
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view isle of wight michelin star dining room large room tea and coffee facilities special occasion fresh milk fine dining lovely view great weekend a real treat excellent food nothing is too much trouble balcony wines emily
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 467 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2021 via mobile

We booked this hotel thanks to some good reviews we had read and the pictures on the web site. We stayed for one week and have not been disappointed. We stayed in room 5 which had amazing views of the beach. The children were comfortable on the sofa Bed. The bathroom was well apportioned and the shower was hot and powerful. We loved the tea and coffee facilities in the room and the fresh milk every day in the little bottle.

The staff have all been very friendly and accommodating to any need we had and helped us to book some amazing restaurants during our stay (the Hut, Smoking Lobster, Stripped burger).

The breakfast and evening meals (we booked for two nights in the restaurant) have been fantastic and a real treat. The dining room is a great setting for dining and the chef is amazing. Again staff were accommodating to our needs and we always got exactly what we wanted with no fuss or bother.

The location of this hotel is great for walking around Ventnor and we had a lovely walk to the botanic gardens and back along the coast.

Another pleasant surprise when we stayed was the fact that there was actually a car park. Not sure if this is permanent thing but it was very convenient to park behind the hotel rather than up the road.

Room tip: If you want to dine in the evening at the restaurant you should book in advance. Booking in advance for good restaurants is essential.
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank ITrueman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 August 2021 via mobile

Gorgeous food. Really exceptional cooking. We understand there is a new chef in situ who has worked in several Michelin star restaurants. You can completely tell!

Seasonal ingredients treated well, reasonably priced wines and a sea view.

Room tip: Parking is tricky- take a cab. We used A Cabs from Shanklin 01983 866772
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank dulcieandjamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 August 2021

We arrived on the Isle of Wight after enjoying 3 amazing nights at Rheinfeld House in the New Forest. We had booked an early ferry so we could enjoy the day once we had unloaded the car at our apartment.

We arrived at the hotel around 1200 hrs. I spoke with a mid 20s/early 30s female receptionist and was told that check in wasn't until 1500 hrs. I asked if we could have lunch, but was told that wasn't possible as all meals have to be pre-booked so "...the kitchen knows what they are doing." No attempt was made to try and cater for us. No basic courtesy of offering tea or coffee in the lounge so we didn't have to walk around outside in the pouring rain. I asked her exactly what we were supposed to do until check in. She flippantly responded "You can do what you like" Seriously, WTF?!

We decided to take our sons to see a movie and returned around 1800 hrs. I returned to reception and was given the keys for the 'Villa' by a different member of staff. She took me outside the hotel for the walk to the apartment. It had been explained at the time of booking that the apartment was not in the hotel itself, but the impression was given that it was in the grounds, at the end of a long garden or something. The reality is that I was taken along two different streets and the 'Villa' was pointed out as we walked past.

The apartment is accessed via some shady looking steps into a damp and mould covered Courtyard.

Excuse the colourful language, but what a sh*t hole. The 'Villa' is a squalid ground floor flat, in a very rough looking street. I have served tours in Afghanistan and Iraq, and either location would be vastly preferable to another visit to that apartment at the Hambrough.

A short list of the issues has been attached as an image. The main one being the apartment smells and feels damp; but that is just the start.

No other hotel on the island had availability, so we were forced to stay there that night. We rebooted our ferry for the following day, cutting short our holiday by 2 nights. The car was repacked and I returned the keys at 0900. At that time I spoke to two older ladies who were apologetic, but didn't really seem to care our holiday had been ruined.

They asked for a list of issues be sent by email which we did. No refund was offered for the balance of our stay, and we have had no communication from the hotel at all.

I have since looked at other feedback for the Hambrough, and was surprised to find another 'Terrible' review from 2020 setting out exactly the same issues we had identified. The owners have had at least a year to rectify everything and they have done nothing; disgusting.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Pioneer623569
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 August 2021 via mobile

Just had a very pleasant week on the Isle of Wight stayed in the Hamborough guest house/mini hotel staff very cheerful and helpful, food locally sourced, well cooked and presented displaying the flare of the kitchen team and their deservedly highly rated head chef. Rooms are nicely decorated and very clean. The owners also own the winter garden restaurant down the road the staff there also very helpful and friendly. Each telling us about their favourite beach and offering suggestions for us and our three active teenage sons. Had a brilliant time. Would go again and highly recommend. Thanks guys and gals very much appreciated.

Room tip: If you are eating out early bookings are definitely needed everywhere to avoid disappointment. Wasn' t keen on the metropole Italian place
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank blueboing102
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 August 2021 via mobile

Just arrived home from a wonderful week at the hambrough
A new type of adventure for us which was wonderful from start to end
Suzanne was so helpful in sorting us out prior to our trip and tbe staff are so warm and welcoming
Nothing is too much trouble and the room is tidied each day with the fluffiest towels ever!
Breakfast is lovely with lots of options to set up the day
The feel is welcoming with staff who genuinely seem interested in your stay and want you to be comfortable
We have already recommended to our friends and hope to return in tbe future
Thank you hambrough like many others it's been a funny old year but you gave us back some normal xx

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Odyssey50883051632
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews