We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic! Highly recommend this apartment.”
other travellers have booked this property
Wish you were here? A short walk from The Courtyard.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wish you were here? A short walk from The Courtyard.
Front of the house with allocated parking space. Lounge with double size sofa / bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Wish you were here? A short walk from The Courtyard.
Front of the house with allocated parking space.
Lounge with double size sofa / bed
Kitchen
Bedroom with king size bed
Bathroom with a bath and shower.
Shared garden
Entrance path
The lounge with double size sofa/pull out bed
Arrived !
Kitchen
King sized bed
Seasonal flowers
Big Mead duck pond
Big Mead
Thatched cottage a couple of minutes walk away.
St Blasius Church (nearby)
View towards the ledge
Pond at the nearby Big Mead
Some more Old Village thatched properties
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Shanklin, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cindy L
Basildon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic! Highly recommend this apartment.”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A perfect location from which to explore the island. A quiet, comfortable and pretty apartment with allocated parking made even better by all the little extras that the owners have very carefully added for guests comfort. The homemade cake was a delisious suprise and we really appreciated the supply of basics (tea, milk, coffee, sauces etc) which were a very welcome addition on arrival. The owners warm and friendly welcome made us feel very at home and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. If we return to the island we will definately come here again!.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet and privacy just 5 minutes walk from the old town and 10 minutes to the beach; great location
Liked least: The weather!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
We are delighted that we were able to make your holiday enjoyable with your stay at The Courtyard.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan P
Scotland United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A little gem of peace and quiet”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I loved my stay at The Courtyard. It is in a lovely quiet location but within a short walk of the town and the beach. It is very secluded and the owners were on hand for a quick chat or to give advice, but were very unobtrusive. I stayed there on my own and felt very safe at all times. The cottage has every amenity you could want, small but well equipped kitchen, nice comfortable bed with a wall mounted tv in the bedroom an added bonus. As other reviewers have mentioned, the cake provided on arrival was tremendous! The garden was absolutely lovely, with a cherry blossom tree providing shade when the sun shone. I would have no hesitation in recommending a stay at The Courtyard.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The seclusion
Liked least: Could hear the person moving about in the property above
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2015
Delighted that you enjoyed The Courtyard and it's location. Comments like these are much appreciated by us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny A
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely apartment situated in a quiet area of Shanklin”
Reviewed 13 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Thank you Miriam and Richard for making our week in Shanklin so enjoyable and for the delicious cake and drinks you provided. We enjoyed our chats and found your local knowledge of the Island very interesting and helpful.
Your apartment is lovely and and we found it idealy situated in a quiet part of Shanklin but only a short walk away from all the amenities. We have visited the Island several times and your accommodation and warm welcome have certainly been the best of all and will be our first choice next time we visit. We would have no hesitation in recommending your Courtyard apartment to friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A very clean and well furnished apartment
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2015
Much appreciated comments which we are pleased added to the enjoyment of your holiday on the island.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic T
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Third Times the Charm”
Reviewed 4 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Out of our three visits, this has been the best place we have stayed on the Isle of Wight so far.

The flat is located in a nice quiet spot off the High Street still within easy walking distance of the shops, Esplanade and the Chime.

The Flat itself is comfortable, with a well equipped kitchen, and a good King sized bed. If the weather is on the cooler side the flat is well heated in all rooms. A welcome Victoria sponge waiting for you in the kitchen is a nice touch.

On my wish list for improvements the flat could use a better TV and DVD player (both are quite old) and having a mattress topper to make the bed a little softer would be good (we slept on top of the duvet and used our own sheets).

All in all a really good place to stay if you want to explore the Isle of Wight...highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2015
Reviews are always appreciated and we endeavour to make improvements each year to the Courtyard to make sure that it does not become dated. The flat screen television was purchased two years ago and we were not aware that the dvd screen mode had been changed so was not as good as it should have been. Will in future check this out. Can understand that the softness of the mattress is a personal choice, but the reason we don't provide a mattress topper is because we find they make the bed very hot, but we will bear this comment in mind. We also provide a spare duvet so this could always be used to make the bed the softness required if necessary. The sheets we use are 100% cotton which we find the most suitable especially during the summer months, but can understand that they may not be everyones choice.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pirbright, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Nothing to add
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Apr 2015
Delighted that the Courtyard added to the enjoyment of your stay on the Isle of Wight and that the extras provided were enjoyed by you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing