We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gem of an Apartment - A* !”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Shanklin, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

JNorthWal...
North Wales
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Gem of an Apartment - A* !”
Reviewed 8 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed for seven days at this lovely apartment in what we judged, an upmarket side of Shanklin, just a short walk down a manageable hill into town. It was our first visit to IOW and if we return, we will book here again because we know exactly what to expect: - modern, clean and tastefully decorated, quiet peaceful location with super coastal views from the decking area, just as photo shows. The soft furnishings are a luxury with Egyptian cotton bedding to a very comfortable bed. Our hosts were charming - friendly without being intrusive - in fact, we met them only once, on our arrival. Caroline was very hospitable, leaving us wine and home made scones. Many thanks for allowing use of such a nice place.

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The luxury bedding - immaculate and comfortable
Liked least: minor point - but would have liked a table lamp in lounge for softer light, evenings
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle...
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“first class apartment, and owner”
Reviewed 17 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

first time staying in this apartment, but definitely not my last. the accommodation is first class in every way, feels like a real home from home, with that extra bit of luxury. the owner was so helpful, and friendly. and the home made scones on arrival along with milk and coffee extra were a lovely bonus. can not recommend this apartment enough. i'm booked in already for next years holidays.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: there was nothing not to like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CooperS2
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The best holiday apartment we have ever stayed in”
Reviewed 30 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Ocean Deck is a lovely apartment & so well thought out by it's caring & welcoming owners.The Priory is in a wonderful & peaceful location. We will definitely return. The only point I would add to those reading reviews is that this is not in fact a ground floor apartment but a basement. There are several steps leading down to the entrance & this could make it difficult for the less mobile. Once in the apartment you are all on one level & the decking is a really good size with excellent furniture.

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All the little extras the owners provide & knowing they could be contacted if needed.
Liked least: nothing at all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrots20...
London
2 reviews
“Best Apartment on the Island - Exceptional”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Absolutely beautiful apartment with stunning views. We have been visiting the Island for over 20 years and this is most definitely the best apartment we have ever stayed in. Top quality everything - welcome was fantastic, beautiful cup cakes and cheese scones, wine and milk in the fridge. The interior of the apartment is stunning, very good quality, lovely bedding, towels and beach towels all included. Having a dishwasher and washing machine was a luxury, my boys loved that we had Wi-Fi. Have already booked for next year, had the best holiday ever, very relaxing, with breakfast on the decking every morning. Thank you.

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The Views
Liked least: It was perfect
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lesley_gl...
Ankara, Turkey
1 review
“Absolutely fantastic - why stay anywhere else on the Island!”
Reviewed 18 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

The apartment was luxurious - outstanding - we were greeted by the delightful owners who showed us around the property. The personal touches were fabulous, we had home-made cheese scones and cake - delicious! Milk in the fridge and more. All the furniture in the property was really good quality. A lot of effort and thought has been put in. It was like home from home - satelite TV, internet, lots of DVDs, books, games etc. Beautiful view over Shanklin Bay. There's a lovely sundeck - perfect for alfresco eating or just sitting and soaking up the view. All amenities - bars, restaurants, cafes, beach etc all within walking distance. This really is the Isle of Wight's five star holiday apartment - we are definitely coming back!

Date of stay: April 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The luxury
Liked least: Walking back up the hill after a great night out
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.