We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW”
Review of The Hideaway

The Hideaway
Ranked #10 of 85 Restaurants in Shanklin
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 20
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Bar/Restaurant with amazing sea views above Shanklin Beach and over to Culver Down. Great food, lovely garden and friendly staff.
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

We stumbled across this place and we're glad we did what a gem, there's no parking but don't let it put u off a small walk and your in for a big surprise, it's the best homemade food on the island trust me. If you want a proper meal at a good price look no further it was amazing good friendly staff and the chef is amazing Marco white eat your heart out I'll definitely be going back next year, and the view is amazing 10/10 guys thank you for the best meal in a week ☺️☺️

1  Thank Jamiestoke85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Hi James,

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your experience at our restaurant.
We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Kind Regards
The Team at The Hideaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

Perfectly cooked fish and chips and burger. Generous desert. Staff service was excellent. Definitely returning!

Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Hi Kelly,

Thank you very much for your positive review. We are so pleaded you enjoyed your time at The Hideaway and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
The Team at The Hideaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

This place was recommended to us and as the name implies is hidden away from most shops and bars Ina residential street but overlooking the seafront from the clifftops. This is a small, cosy, welcoming place so I advise booking as seating is limited to 30 people. The staff are brilliant, very helpful and approachable. The food is coked to a high standard and we returned for a second time as all enjoyed it sooo much. The bar staff treated us to a local rum cocktail which I would recommend getting a jug of as it's lovely. This is a great place to eat, it's like a home from home andkids friendly. Loved this place.

Thank terryfenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Hi Terry,

Thank you for your review, yes we definitely recommended booking, you're quite right. I'm really pleased you enjoyed the food & drink and we hope to welcome you back in future.

Kind Regards
The Team at The Hideaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
51
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

My father and I decided against eating on the seafront and resolved to continue with the cliff walk and eat further down the line. We stumbled across this place completely by chance and ordered chilli con carne and a chicken and leek pie. Easily the best meal of our holiday.

Fantastic views and a warm welcome at good prices. Well worth a visit.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Thank you for taking your time to review The Hideaway, we really appreciate positive feedback, it reassures our staff that they're doing a great job.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards
The Team at The Hideaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Had the best bacon,chicken and leek pie ever last night. Excellent value and very polite and helpful staff particularly the young girl who served us. Obviously something went badly wrong on previous days as the place usually receives excellent ratings.Only negative was there was still only one toilet available .

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MaryNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

We're pleased you didn't read them too, the problem with trip advisor reviews is that every body has different expectations. So whilst one person might not like certain things another might, like yourself.
I am happy you enjoyed your experience and hope to welcome you back in the future.
Our toilets are our priority this winter.

Kind Regards
The Team at the Hideaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hideaway also viewed

Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing