We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very nice appartment, lovely location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 5 The Priory

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Fisherman's Cottage on the beach at Shanklin
The Crab in Shanklin Old Village
From Ventnor Cascades
Ventnor seafront
The Spyglass Inn Ventnor
Ventnor Wall Lizard
From Steephill towards Ventnor
Steephill Cove
Freshwater Bay rocks from Tennyson Down
The Needles
Alum Bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Shanklin, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
IanNSally
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice appartment, lovely location”
Reviewed 17 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This is a very comfortable, clean well equipped apartment with fantastic views over Shanklin Bay. The owner was very efficient in contacting me and arranging key pick up on our arrival We had chosen this particular apartment mainly due to the very good reviews we had read and it did fully meet and exceed our expectations. The centre of Shanklin is only a short 10 minute walk away but it should be noted that it is a fairly steep incline on the way back! We will definitely make a return visit one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, Views and comfort of apartment
Liked least: Nothing worth mentioning
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy B
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The Perfect Place to Stay”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This was a perfect apartment more than what we expected very clean everything you needed was already there cannot speak highly enough of this place. We are already talking about come back next year and staying at 5 The Priory we can Highly recommend staying here you will not be disappointed 10 out of 10. The views are stunning and the area is so peaceful and quiet you are just a short walk away from Shanklin village which is very picturesque with some great places to eat we went to The Village Inn a few time great food and very friendly staff nothing was to much trouble for them. Cannot wait to come back and stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was just Perfect
Liked least: Nothink there was not anything not to like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrens14...
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everythinh you could possibly want in one apartment”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment is in an excellent location with a short walk into Shanklin Old Town.
The views from the apartment are amazing.It has a large balcony with patio set to sit and take in the views.
A nicely decorated apartment with all mod cons.
We would recommend this apartment due to its peaceful location but still not far from pubs restaurants and bars.
We had a great time

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra M
U.K.
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Beautiful.”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This is a beautiful flat — stylish, modern and very well-equipped. We had good wi-fi and phone signals.

The view alone is worth the visit!

We stayed here during a mini-heatwave in July 2015. As the flat is half-way up a hill, and as all the windows face the sea, we were able to keep ourselves quite pleasantly cool whilst everyone else sweltered.

Luccombe is quite close to Shanklin, where there are plenty of pubs and restaurants. In fact, everywhere on the Isle of Wight is within easy reach if you have a car.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and view.
Liked least: The bed and the sofa.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fern04
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic apartment”
Reviewed 1 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The 5 priory apartment was lovely. Everything you needed was there. Get location with a beautiful view from the balcony/ decking area. I would recommend anyone to go and I look forward to going there again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing