We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bourne Hall Country Hotel
Ranked #22 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were participating in two Classic car shows so the main reason we booked this hotel was for the car park. On arrival we were greeted by Emma on the reception desk. What a delightful young lady. So very cheerful and friendly. She checked us in and we dumped our bags and had a look around the hotel and grounds. It is a lovely Victorian house with 2 pools and a spa.Around the outside pool is a great suntrap. All of the other guests were classic car owners, so the atmosphere was great. The couple who own the hotel mix with the guests and you can see where Emma gets her personality from. Dining in the restaurant was an experience in its self with the 2 waiters Andy and Chris providing great service with humour and great interaction with the guests. The chef cooked the most delicious food and presentation was faultless. I have dined at Gordon Ramsey's and it was of equal standard. There was a great chap who multi-tasked on reception and as a cheerful barman. (Sorry I couldn't remember your name.) We couldn't fault our stay. We are going to recommend to our local car club to stay there next year. Thank you all so much for making our stay memorable. Hope to see you next year.

Room Tip: The whole hotel is in a quiet location with no through traffic, so lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giza P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I had not looked at any reviews beforehand as we were travelling with a group of other people, and we were all staying together in one place.
Whilst I say our room was basic and functional, it was also of a standard not at all similar or as high a standard as to what you'd expect from a Premier or Holiday Inn.
There is plenty of parking front and rear, and outdoor space. We did not use the pool or spa facilities but some of our group did and commented on the high chlorine levels in the indoor pool. That concerns me as to how often the pool is cleaned.
So, starting with breakfast;
Continental had all the usual expected foods, cheese, ham, bread etc.
The cooked breakfast consisted of almost anything you would or could ask for, even kippers! It was plentiful, but I would have expected better quality produce.
The breakfast service itself was very well organised and lighthearted with the staff, some guests may not have liked the gentle banter.
The dining room was clean, tidy, well set out and comfortable.
We had a pre- ordered dinner here, it was ok for the cost, but to charge for a coffee seemed a little cheeky given normally in hotels, coffee or tea would be complimentary or included.
The bar lounge is comfortable. A traditional decorated room of any Victorian property. The chap who serves the bar is friendly and very amenable, but also assists with other hotel duties therefore meaning, be patient and ding the bell. He is sure to return..

On to our room......we booked for a kingsize or at least double room. To find two small single beds, with an ocean of carpet in between, was really not acceptable. We spoke to the very nice and polite girl on reception, who told us there had been a problem with the original bed frame collapsing. Which then using our powers of deduction, clearly it was a very old frame as was the rest of the furniture in the room. My husbands bed creaked and squeaked every time he took a breath let alone when he moved! The bed linen was rough and didn't really fit the mattress, no protector, and the valences un-ironed complete with large stains YUK!!! The lighting is poor, few downlighters and the table lamps not very useful. The bath towels are poor quality, no face cloth, the hand basin wasn't very clean, mould formed in the overflow inlet, grouting poor and grubby almost mouldy. The vanity mirror above the hand basin needs throwing out asap! The air vent allowed a cooking smell in, but didn't help steam escape. The toilet paper was purely a disgrace. What you used to have in school toilets in the early 1980's! Rough and skin scraping! Upon using public toilet facilities on Ryde Esplanade, that was positively luxurious! And FREE!
The bath with shower over was ok. Not too much mould, YET, in the grouting, but forming a little film. The shower curtain is poorly fitted, a one size fits all, with clips that come apart so you have to re-clip regularly. However the curtain may have been new or cleaned properly as it was spotless. The splash back wall at the handbasin needs a good wipe down as I don't really favour other people's mouthwash or toothpaste staring at me! Grubby.
We were disturbed early in the mornings and quite late in the evenings with other guests walking past our room due to very creaky floor boards, likewise above us too, and you can hear every switch flicked, when someone coughs or sneezes in the neighbouring rooms.
Upon checking out, my husband did mention various things to the very nice lady at reception, and I believe she's heard all this before.
I have given this review an average rating as the staff really are making up for the negative points of this hotel.
In short, sadly we would not return based on this hotel not being value for money.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Cagneydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We tried this hotel for dining through The Price is Wight. On arrival we noticed there was a large coach party and thought we might be in for a long wait, however, we did not wait at all. As we were slightly early we had a drink in the bar and were then escorted into the dining room where we were not lumped in with all the coach party but had a lovely table in the window and our sea food platter arrived almost immediately which was by far the best sea food platter that we have ever had or seen. There was lobster, crab, green lipped mussels, prawns, cockles, mackeral, mussels shrimps, crab sticks, potato salad, three further dressings and strawberries with an extremely fresh salad. Excellent house wine which we were offered to taste first. Staff were excellent and very helpful, we were not rushed at all. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgieandLucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

The hotel is in an advantageous elevated position with lovely views. The location is quiet, away from noise and traffic. Some parts of the hotel and facilities are, put politely, tired and in need of some decoration. Our room had very creaky floors as did other rooms, we could hear, which were a little disturbing at night. The staff are very welcoming and friendly and food and selection excellent. Liaison with the coach travel company was excellent and well planned for arrival, tours and departure. Midweek evening entertainment was a 'karaoke singer' who, although not to my taste, was entertaining (with hotel staff assistance!). Overall a decent hotel with excellent food.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank viljo26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

hotel easy to get to at top of a hill in shanklin good parking room where good easy acesses to all off island food was good staff very friendly indoor pool heated and a out door pool town center short walk from hotel very good place to stay

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.4 km away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
1.5 km away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
410 reviews
0.3 km away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 51 in Shanklin
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
899 reviews
0.8 km away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
486 reviews
0.8 km away
The Nightingale Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourne Hall Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourne Hall Country Hotel

Address: 11 Luccombe Road, Shanklin PO37 6RR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range: ₹ 4,556 - ₹ 7,737 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bourne Hall Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bourne Hall, an elegant Country House, Hotel and restaurant, set in mature grounds in Shanklin, Isle of Wight. Originally built in the late 1860’s, said to be for one of Queen Victoria’s ladies in waiting, the "house" still retains its sense of history whilst providing comfortable accommodation enhanced by its original Victorian features. Uniquely located on an elevated position at the foot of Luccombe Downs, benefits both countryside and coastal Vistas. The Hotel enjoys exquisite views, by day and night, across Sandown and Shanklin Bay, and onwards to Culver Downs. Situated minutes walk south of Shanklin "old village," this 30 bedroom, 3 star hotel offers a range of classic and premier rooms, family rooms and suites, comprehensive leisure & health facilities, and a stylish restaurant. Bourne Hall provides the ideal setting for weekend special breaks or longer stays, private functions, weddings and business meetings/conferences. We take pride in our friendliness and attention to detail and always endeavour to make your experience comfortable and most enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Bourne Hall Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bourne Hall Country Hotel And Restaurant
Bourne Hall Country Shanklin
Bourne Hall Country Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing