We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Braemar Hotel Shanklin(Shanklin)(Great Value!)
US$ 90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bedford Lodge(Shanklin)
US$ 116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 79
US$ 71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 109
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fernbank(Shanklin)
US$ 127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 164
US$ 149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Clifton(Shanklin)
US$ 164
US$ 158
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aqua Hotel(Shanklin)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Hazelwood(Shanklin)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (290)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveller rating
124
91
44
20
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
124
91
44
20
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor poolleisure facilitiesisle of wightpremier roomlovely hotelposter bedmain buildingsandown bayhotel is situatedany queriescold buffetcooked breakfastbooked this hotelquiet locationmini fridgepoached eggsjust returned from a night stay
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 291 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2017

A traditional English seaside hotel in a great location. In need of some investment and modernisation. Rather old fashioned. There is no gym despite some websites stating otherwise, which was a disappointment as thats a feature we always look for. Indoor pool is ideal for a relaxing swim. Pool shower is a small closet affair, does the job but not high end. Best to shower back in your room.
Drinks Bar closes at 10:30 as does the front door. Breakfast buffet is average but tinned mushrooms is a poor product for the price paid. A good base from which to explore the island. Staff very friendly and helpful. Spa services available from a visiting therapist. Wifi didn't work in our room but did work in the lobby.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jaybob777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in a lovely located hotel with super views over Sandown Bay and beyond from the front of the hotel. We received a warm and friendly welcome. All staff were very friendly. Our beds were made and bins emptied next day after the first night, which was a pleasant surprise given we were only staying for two nights. Towels are changed every 3 days, (separate towels available for pool at reception and extra towels were in bedroom too).

The hotel, (then a house) is said to have been given to a Lady in waiting to Queen Victoria, hosts a lovely warm aura in the main building and drawing room, with views.

Breakfast is from 8 to 9.30. (If you arrive at breakfast after 9.3o, you cannot order a hot breakfast). Fair enough.
A lovely selection of continental buffet, plus cereals, prunes, yogurts, pastries, teas and coffees to help yourself too, (plus proper toasters to do your toast, not those roundabout things), after which, Andy, a lovely friendly host, will take your hot breakfast order, where you can have the full English, and select how you would like your eggs done. A lovely breakfast on a hot plate. Kippers were also available, which Andy recommended with a poached egg.

On checking out, we were greeted by another friendly member of staff, (and on booking Carol was very friendly and made us feel welcome before we had even arrived. We will be returning sometime soon.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

The hotel itself was a reasonably well renovated building with a rather old fashioned feel to it. Lots of forgettable art work and furnished in a very traditional style. The staff were friendly and helpful but the food was not really up to scratch. Dinner was poor and breakfast was not well cooked. Tinned mushrooms are really not acceptable.
The room was clean and comfortable but the bathroom was tired. Unfortunately the noise of people walking across the floor of the room above was not really acceptable. Internet did not work in our bedroom but it did in the drawing room.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

Beautiful location and not too far from the village. They hotel is typical style of IOW and very quaint. The room was of a good size and clean, same for the bathroom, which could use abit of a refurb but the shower looked like it had been recently replaced.
The most frustrating thing for me was that there was no mirror near a power point or over the dressing table so very difficult to use a hair dryer or straighteners. I did ask at reception for an extension lead but they were unable to locate one, perhaps they could have offered a room move? Breakfast was really good and the staff were very welcoming. On the whole we enjoyed our stay but as a regular visitor to IOW I would need to double on the situation with power sockets if we chose to stay again in other rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

We arrived to this old looking hotel. Went in to reception and peter greeted us while the other receptionist moaned about aheadache . Then tthe gardener/ handyman stood there dripping in sweat where he had been cutting the grass,eating to take our bags to the rooms . The rooms we had were premier we had a small fridge in our room but the other room didn't. Our 4 poster bed was lovely viewsgreat too. We had breakfast ( the handyman) was the waiter in the morrning very nice man .food was good , the grease fruit was very good . Standard breakfast . Toilet paper in rooms was like public toilets toilet roll so take your own , I asked the owners daughter about the cheep paper and she said it keeps there prices down lol.needs to be up dated with decor . The out door pool was lovely . The indoor pool good , also jacuzzi and steam room good could do with ivy to be removed . About 15 mins walk to old town in shanklin.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews