We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel ,good location ,friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bourne Hall Country Hotel
Ranked #22 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Stayed in Shanklin for a short pre-birthday treat as it accessible by train from London Pleased with this slightly old fashioned hotel ,red walls, leather armchairs .It was comfortable ,lovely views from our premier room
Food was good ,staff helpful and friendly .Nice swimming pool and little sauna

My only quibble were the toiletries which were rather mean ,nasty little sachets and I think a false economy .I would have liked some conditioner and body lotion .
That aside it was a very nice stay,to be recommended

Room Tip: Think it is worth getting the premier room for the view over the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank beaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2017

A traditional English seaside hotel in a great location. In need of some investment and modernisation. Rather old fashioned. There is no gym despite some websites stating otherwise, which was a disappointment as thats a feature we always look for. Indoor pool is ideal for a relaxing swim. Pool shower is a small closet affair, does the job but not high end. Best to shower back in your room.
Drinks Bar closes at 10:30 as does the front door. Breakfast buffet is average but tinned mushrooms is a poor product for the price paid. A good base from which to explore the island. Staff very friendly and helpful. Spa services available from a visiting therapist. Wifi didn't work in our room but did work in the lobby.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jaybob777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in a lovely located hotel with super views over Sandown Bay and beyond from the front of the hotel. We received a warm and friendly welcome. All staff were very friendly. Our beds were made and bins emptied next day after the first night, which was a pleasant surprise given we were only staying for two nights. Towels are changed every 3 days, (separate towels available for pool at reception and extra towels were in bedroom too).

The hotel, (then a house) is said to have been given to a Lady in waiting to Queen Victoria, hosts a lovely warm aura in the main building and drawing room, with views.

Breakfast is from 8 to 9.30. (If you arrive at breakfast after 9.3o, you cannot order a hot breakfast). Fair enough.
A lovely selection of continental buffet, plus cereals, prunes, yogurts, pastries, teas and coffees to help yourself too, (plus proper toasters to do your toast, not those roundabout things), after which, Andy, a lovely friendly host, will take your hot breakfast order, where you can have the full English, and select how you would like your eggs done. A lovely breakfast on a hot plate. Kippers were also available, which Andy recommended with a poached egg.

On checking out, we were greeted by another friendly member of staff, (and on booking Carol was very friendly and made us feel welcome before we had even arrived. We will be returning sometime soon.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

The hotel itself was a reasonably well renovated building with a rather old fashioned feel to it. Lots of forgettable art work and furnished in a very traditional style. The staff were friendly and helpful but the food was not really up to scratch. Dinner was poor and breakfast was not well cooked. Tinned mushrooms are really not acceptable.
The room was clean and comfortable but the bathroom was tired. Unfortunately the noise of people walking across the floor of the room above was not really acceptable. Internet did not work in our bedroom but it did in the drawing room.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

Beautiful location and not too far from the village. They hotel is typical style of IOW and very quaint. The room was of a good size and clean, same for the bathroom, which could use abit of a refurb but the shower looked like it had been recently replaced.
The most frustrating thing for me was that there was no mirror near a power point or over the dressing table so very difficult to use a hair dryer or straighteners. I did ask at reception for an extension lead but they were unable to locate one, perhaps they could have offered a room move? Breakfast was really good and the staff were very welcoming. On the whole we enjoyed our stay but as a regular visitor to IOW I would need to double on the situation with power sockets if we chose to stay again in other rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.4 km away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
1.5 km away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
409 reviews
0.3 km away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 51 in Shanklin
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
899 reviews
0.8 km away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
486 reviews
0.8 km away
The Nightingale Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourne Hall Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourne Hall Country Hotel

Address: 11 Luccombe Road, Shanklin PO37 6RR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range: ₹ 4,554 - ₹ 7,733 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bourne Hall Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bourne Hall, an elegant Country House, Hotel and restaurant, set in mature grounds in Shanklin, Isle of Wight. Originally built in the late 1860’s, said to be for one of Queen Victoria’s ladies in waiting, the "house" still retains its sense of history whilst providing comfortable accommodation enhanced by its original Victorian features. Uniquely located on an elevated position at the foot of Luccombe Downs, benefits both countryside and coastal Vistas. The Hotel enjoys exquisite views, by day and night, across Sandown and Shanklin Bay, and onwards to Culver Downs. Situated minutes walk south of Shanklin "old village," this 30 bedroom, 3 star hotel offers a range of classic and premier rooms, family rooms and suites, comprehensive leisure & health facilities, and a stylish restaurant. Bourne Hall provides the ideal setting for weekend special breaks or longer stays, private functions, weddings and business meetings/conferences. We take pride in our friendliness and attention to detail and always endeavour to make your experience comfortable and most enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Bourne Hall Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bourne Hall Country Hotel And Restaurant
Bourne Hall Country Shanklin
Bourne Hall Country Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing