We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A super almost hidden hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bourne Hall Country Hotel
Ranked #25 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Reviewed 30 June 2017

But for the fantastic staff this may have only got four points ....
I stayed here for four nights with a car club tour about 30 people, including a few with disabilities, in total. It's an old privately owned hotel and inside, particularly upstairs, a bit of a rabbit warren.
Being located on a quiet road leading out of Shanklin to nowhere means there is very little passing traffic.
If you need WiFi then I have yet to find it in the rooms but it is available in the public areas downstairs ... it also seems the TVs can be a bit hit and miss. The car park isn't quite big enough when the hotel is full but, as the hotel is located on a quiet lane that goes nowhere parking on the road isn't a problem.
On the plus side, which really does outweigh the negative, the restaurant is very good and the staff are not only very helpful and friendly but quite entertaining too. Our disabled guest had ground floor rooms and were given help with their luggage.
The hotel is situated looking over Shanklin Bay and is about 15 minutes walk from Shanklin ... the swimming pools (indoor and outdoor are good).
It's good value for money too and I would return to Bourne Hall with no hesitation whatsoever.

Room Tip: Anything upstairs at the front (or on teh east side) overlooks Shanklin Bay - the rooms do get quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rojrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2017

Found this hotel and area of Isle of Wight by accident, but were pleasantly surprised by the wonderful room and location. A quiet and beautiful location, walking distance to the sea. Lovely breakfast as well. Recommend as a nice break from Cowes :D

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Robin13_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

Have just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel. This is a lovely hotel, very charming and with wonderful views from the terrace. The room we had was very nice and spacious, well equipped (although a hairdryer would have been nice, as I forgot mine). It had a mini fridge which was an added bonus. It was also absolutely spotless with a very nice shower.

The reception staff we met were both wonderful.

We found the breakfast experience a bit of a letdown. More table service would be good, you have to make your own toast which would be fine if it wasn't for one of the guests changing his mind from brown to white toast after having handled most of the slices of bread in the brown loaf!!!!!!! The man taking the orders (wearing a full black uniform as opposed to black and white) decides who can and who can't have any more than one of any item on the menu, for example, my partner wanted two sausages but he said he didn't think the chef would let him have this - I had to have one put on my plate for him even though I didn't want any but the next morning he proudly bought out breakfast for another guest with two sausages on the plate!!!!! The next morning I only wanted eggs on toast but he told me that the chef may not allow me to have two eggs while again bringing out breakfast for someone else with two eggs on the plate, what's that all about???

This seems trivial but if there is a policy that you can only have one of the items on the menu, that should apply to everyone and all guests should receive the same level of service.

This is a lovely hotel but with breakfast being 50% of the bed and breakfast experience, we probably wouldn't return. Shanklin itself is a lovely place and we will definitely be coming back to the area.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison6577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed at this 3 star hotel for a quick overnight stay on the island. I was put off immediately on arrival by a resident at the hotel smoking just next to the entrance on a verandah of sorts (I could not tell if this was a designated smoking area) this created a really tacky and unpleasant first impression. The hotel would be well advised to move this impromptu smoking area to somewhere away from the front door.

Reception staff were polite and friendly. We were showed to our room, which was in the main house part of the building. Our room was a large one with a 4 poster bed, for the price, it was good. There were some marks on the ceiling, possibly from a leak. The room had a clapped out sofa and chaise langue. There was a mini bar fridge (which was empty) on the floor of the room (!) it could come in handy in the hot summer months I would imagine.

The bathroom was large and tiled from floor to ceiling. The shower sadly was a bit dodgy and the pressure was not great.

The bed was really comfy, and there was not a lot of noise from the rest of the hotel (there was no wedding or other event on the night we were there).

The breakfast was ok, nothing special, the staff were however polite and efficient. The range of items on offer could have been better but was adequate. Lovely warm and freshly baked croissants were great.

Overall, a bit of a mixed bag; truth be told, I probably won't return. The hotel was full so maybe I am a bit too fussy.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank S_KWoking_SURREY_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

We were invited to our good friend's wedding in March.
From the moment we got to the hotel, the staff were attentive.
There were 40 of us staying at the hotel including the before
the ceremony the bride, and the bride and groom after the cereromony

The food for the reception was superb, the staff attentive.
The hotel was a short walk from the town. A bit steep but doable.

We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The front rooms had sea views. We had a lovely room. The bridal suite was amazing. Stunning place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank charmaineg940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.4 km away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
1.5 km away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
411 reviews
0.3 km away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
902 reviews
0.8 km away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
487 reviews
0.8 km away
The Nightingale Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourne Hall Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourne Hall Country Hotel

Address: 11 Luccombe Road, Shanklin PO37 6RR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range: ₹ 4,639 - ₹ 7,818 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bourne Hall Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bourne Hall, an elegant Country House, Hotel and restaurant, set in mature grounds in Shanklin, Isle of Wight. Originally built in the late 1860’s, said to be for one of Queen Victoria’s ladies in waiting, the "house" still retains its sense of history whilst providing comfortable accommodation enhanced by its original Victorian features. Uniquely located on an elevated position at the foot of Luccombe Downs, benefits both countryside and coastal Vistas. The Hotel enjoys exquisite views, by day and night, across Sandown and Shanklin Bay, and onwards to Culver Downs. Situated minutes walk south of Shanklin "old village," this 30 bedroom, 3 star hotel offers a range of classic and premier rooms, family rooms and suites, comprehensive leisure & health facilities, and a stylish restaurant. Bourne Hall provides the ideal setting for weekend special breaks or longer stays, private functions, weddings and business meetings/conferences. We take pride in our friendliness and attention to detail and always endeavour to make your experience comfortable and most enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Bourne Hall Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bourne Hall Country Hotel And Restaurant
Bourne Hall Country Shanklin
Bourne Hall Country Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing