We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A short but lovely treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Channel View Hotel
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2017

We stayed just one night at the Channel View Hotel, while seeing Swan Lake at Shanklin Theatre. It made the theatre trip into a real treat. Such a lovely hotel with lovely people. A complete contrast to the usual "chain" hotels. We arrived early to take advantage of the heated leisure pool (all to ourselves while other guests were watching the rugby!!). Another early morning dip before feasting on a gorgeous breakfast overlooking Sandown Bay. We live on the Island, but love to see it with "visitors' eyes" as well. Always good to be able to personally recommend hotels to friends and relatives. Would love to stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGino, Owner at The Channel View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

We are delighted with your review really pleased you enjoyed yourselves.
Thank you Gill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2017

Stayed at this hotel for a short break in October . We checked in later and was greeted in a lovely way. We had a superior double room on the third floor and it was super. The view was amazing and we couldn’t of asked for more . It was spotlessly clean and the breakfast and staff were firstclass. We have never stayed at this hotel before but are frequent travellers to the island . What a find !!! Many thanks to everyone at the hotel as we had a wonderful weekend.
Many thanks we will visit again I’m sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view well worth it .
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGino, Owner at The Channel View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Thank you for your wonderful review we like being 'a find' good to hear you enjoyed your stay and you will return. All the best Gill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

My husband and I are very impressed with everything about The Channel View. The accommodation was perfect for us with wonderful views of the sea both from our room and the restaurant. I’ve never before been able to look out over the sea whilst drinking my morning cup of tea in bed! Oiane, Josh, Monica and our wine waitress were all very attentive and welcoming and their service we feel is a large factor in our enjoyable holiday experience there. The owner of the hotel and his wife were equally friendly and efficient in ensuring we had a comfortable and memorable stay, and were a pleasure to know! They went above and beyond!

Room Tip: Room 60 is a beautiful room with lovely furnishing and decor and a spacious ensuite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillnPhil2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGino, Owner at The Channel View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review on Trip Advisor telling the world about us. Your review is amazing. Hope to see you again Gill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

Really clean hotel, staff all very nice. We stayed here for two nights & our room was cleaned daily & towels replaced if left in the shower. Bed was very comfortable, room was nice & warm. We will stay here again if ever we come back to the isle of white.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rollsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGino, Owner at The Channel View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Thank you for your review good to hear you would return to the hotel that says alot. All the best Gill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

Another year, another fantastic stay at the Channel View Hotel.
To find a place where you are treated like a returning friend or family member is a rare find & channel view is defiantly one of them. A hidden gem on the Isle of Wight and a place we are so pleased we found.
Everything here is just wonderful, the fantastic clean room with outstanding views. The staff are the most amazing people we have met staying at hotels. Always a warm welcome and time for a chat, arriving back after a year is a great time for a catch up! Food is always tasty & real home comforts!
We cannot thank you enough for our amazing stay here & as always we are sad to be leaving & cannot wait to book again.
See you all soon
Danielle & Jonathan

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MrsSullivan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGino, Owner at The Channel View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thank you for such an amazing and comprehensive review. It is so wonderful that you choose to return to the hotel when could be going on another cruise exploring the world. All the best hope to see you next year Gill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
1.1 km away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
882 reviews
5.2 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
954 reviews
1.1 km away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Rowborough Hotel
Rowborough Hotel
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
231 reviews
0.7 km away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
3 km away
The Wight
The Wight
#4 of 29 in Sandown
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Channel View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Channel View Hotel

Address: 24 Hope Road, Shanklin PO37 6EH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Shanklin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: ₹ 8,360 - ₹ 11,212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Channel View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channel View is a highly respected family run 3 star hotel that prides itself in offering high quality customer care, exceptional service and excellent value for money. Situated on the cliff overlooking the bay, the hotel offers an unrivaled position within walking distance of both the seafront and the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Channel View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Channel View Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing