We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of St. Leonards

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St. Leonards
Ranked #28 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

David & Christina were brilliant hosts. Both phoned me before I left home as they were a little concerned about whether I would manage the stairs due to my restricted mobility \& sight and took great care explaining the layout of the property, which was perfectly managable for me. they also gave us excellent advice about suitable attractions to visit. Breakfast was lovely, very tasty & well-cooked.too good because - left me wanting more even though I'd eaten plenty!!!! The whole property is very attractive & well-decorated. Our room (No3) was very bright & airy with 2 big windows. I do agree (being bigger than I should be) that the shower cubicle is "cosy" but you can't expect a huge walk-in wet-room in an en suite ! The front garden is so pretty. Many Shanklin properties struggle with parking, but with a little forethought David & Tina manage to fit you in.

awould definitely go back & thoroughly recommend a stay here to every-one. I really hope I do get back, health permitting.

Room Tip: Just speak to the owners & explain your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyWinwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    16
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
31
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Irthlingborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed 5 nights and would definitely return.

From the moment and we pulled up, the gardens and outside of the building looked inviting. David greeted us, and I fail to understand how he could be described as aggressive. He did what he had to do, told us about the hotel, the area, and yes, asked for payment. I don't understand why this was a problem for a previous guest, the bill has to be paid, so why not get it over and done with straight away?
The room itself was lovely, and had a smell of fresh linen. The bed was comfortable, and even though we were at the front of the hotel (onto the road) there was no outside noise to disturb us. A small shelf in the shower would have been useful for shampoo bottles etc, but this is an observation not a criticism. We were expecting towels to be changed after 3 days, but they were in fact changed daily.
Every morning there was freshly prepared fruit, yoghurt, cereal and fruit juices. Aswell as a chance for a cooked breakfast and unlimited toast. Coffee was free flowing, with Christine ensuring you never had an empty cup!
Our reason for visiting was to go to the Festival. David and Christine were very accomodating of this, and moved breakfast to a later time to make up for the late nights, and provided boxes for muddy boots and the chance to wash wellies in a water butt if you wanted to.
They both had helpful advise on buses to and from the festival, and talked about other sites to see when we return to the island. Our plan is to stay with them again, we would be hard pushed to find another hotel as nice with owners so welcoming.

Room Tip: The balcony catches the sun in the mornings, but is in the shade from approx mid afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We had a great stay at St Leonard's during the festival. From start to finish the locals on IoW were fantastically patient and helpful, considering they were getting a media pounding at the time! We used the local buses, and great value bus passes, rather than the festival ones and never had the need for a taxi, saving a lot of money. The guest house was very clean, Dave & Christina very friendly and couldn't do enough for all the guests. The breakfast was good and set us up for the day each of the three days we stayed. They went the extra mile providing weather reports and advice to make our stay a really good one.
I'm not sure why some people want daily fresh towels, I certainly don't have them at home, there was a hair dryer and plenty of tea, coffee & biscuits, and toiletries. I guess if we had wanted anything else it would've been supplied as our hosts couldn't have been more approachable. Great location for a walk to the beach, also close to the railway and buses to Newport and Ryde.
We stayed in room 3 which was particularly nice and has to be the biggest b&b room I have stayed in. Great value, thanks.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julia_eatatdecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, KY
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed two nights in a room on the top floor (no lift). The room was adequately sized for a double bed and a set of bunk beds. There wasn't much excess room for luggage though. The bath was clean with a good shower, but no hairdryer. No a/c, but it was unnecessary during our visit. I did see a portable fan in the room, however. The couple running the establishment were super hosts and were very friendly. The breakfast had cooked and continential offerings and was good.
The B/B was a bit of a haul from the train or bus station in Shanklin, but it was walkable. Not far from the cliff, Shanklin Chine, or the old village of Shanklin.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skeddadle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2012

i stayed at st leonards for two weeks in january 2012. i was welcomed firstly by christina and felt comfortable right from the start.

the room was spotless and the breakfast was excellent each day.
dave and christina are the most amazing hoteliers. they absolutely dedicate themselves to what they do and you can tell that they enjoy running the hotel.
nothing is hard work for them and everything is done to perfection.

it is very rare to find such a perfectly run hotel these days.
i fully recommend staying here and would even say that you would be very lucky to find a better run place to stay


i have taken a long time to write a review but on reading the discraceful review below that is obviously a personal attack for some reason i guarantee it should be ignored as christina and dave are the best hoteliers that you could wish for and all excellent reviews on this site and others are absolutely true.

Room Tip: if you are on your own i reccomend the single room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike c c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.1 km away
Marlborough Hotel
Marlborough Hotel
#21 of 52 in Shanklin
160 reviews
0.7 km away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.2 km away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#43 of 52 in Shanklin
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#37 of 52 in Shanklin
51 reviews
0.3 km away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
463 reviews
0.7 km away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Leonards? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Leonards

Property: St. Leonards
Address: 22 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,098 - ₹ 8,408
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Leonards 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
St. Leonards Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing