We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$84
View deal
Priceline$92
Agoda.com$92
eDreams$84
FindHotel
Etrip$92
Traveluro
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (772)
Filter reviews
772 results
Traveller rating
174
203
161
114
120
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
174
203
161
114
120
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast and evening meal a sea view room the ritz waiting staff bit dated tea and coffee meal times could not fault full english esplanade ferry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 772 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2021

Visited on coach trip, advertised as turkey and tinsel.
Bedroom freezing cold. Radiator on wall cold. Difficult to turn or or regulated due to controls being against wall.
Electric heater was delivered to room next day. Water pressure none existant. Only brave enough to have 1 shower on 4 day break.
Food poor. No evidence of turkey and tinsel meals.
Fish and chips 1st night with 6 chips on my plate.
Breakfast poor. 1 rasher of bacon, 1 sausage, 1 egg, 1 slice of tomato, beans and half slice of fried bread, I dont eat beans. All food inc, soup luke warm.
I asked on day 2 for extra rasher of bacon, told no. Then was offered extra slice if I forego the sausage.
On a turkey and tinsel break you arrive xmas eve, next day should be xmas day. Our evening meal that day was curry, fish pie or veg option.
Next day ( sunday) should be new years eve. This became xmas day , and was told its because we always do a roast on sunday.
Entertainment was adequate, but each night singers sang same songs. On singer only knew words to first verse of each song.
Our trip organiser distributed party poppers this night to try to give bit of atmosphere to ( new years eve ). Manager told everyone as they were leaving bar that the night porter would be fuming at having to clean up our mess. One member of our party even offered to sweep floor. Some staff were very friendly and worked hard. Others were quite aloof and rude at times.
Wouldnt visit this hotel again, which is a shame because it has excellant location.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil Palin, Owner at OYO Shanklin Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2022

Sorry that you didn't feel your turkey and tinsel trip was not value for money. Our T&T is normally miscopies and mulled wine on arrival and then a full Christmas Meal with crackers etc on the Sunday or Wednesday. The other days are as normal. This is because for the £21.50 we get from the coach companies each day for each guest we must first take the VAT away and pay our rates and lease.
And of course the Utility bills. Once we have done that of course, we need to pay the entertainment each evening and the laundry bills, and the staff who serve you with the food. Oh ... almost forgot, we need to buy, cook and give you a full English breakfast with juices and teas, coffees and toast and a 3 mouse evening meal and a place to sleep during the night. But we are right on the seafront so hopefully you had nice views to ease your disappointment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2021

Yes,I agree, the hotel needs some tlc and some sound proofing in the bedrooms lol
but some people want 5 star hotel for peanuts!
The bedding and towels were spotless though and the food good but where it excelled was the staff , young and so friendly and helpful

Date of stay: November 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 November 2021 via mobile

Room was basic but clean and cleaned every day of our stay. Mattress was too big for the bed so every time you sat on the edge of the bed you slipped off. But once in bed it was very comfy. The shower was cold so no way of having a shower. The food was OK but on occasions cold, and we were very rushed. Situated right on the beach so in a lovely location. I would visit the island again but I have to say I won't be returning to this hotel. Also we visited on 5th November would have liked some information on firework displays.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank fluzysuzy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 November 2021 via mobile

Thanks to all the staff. Great stay.

Service was excellent and very organised at meal times.

Room was clean but a bit dated. comfortable bed but pillows need replacing.

The food was a little odd but ok.

Entertainment was good.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sharonwJ7104IR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 November 2021 via mobile

Staff were absolutely lovely and food not bad. A central location in Shanklin so easy to reach other places and a nice walk along the sea front.

Only thing that bothers me is paying a single room supplement (under occupancy) and being put in a room that can be nothing else but single and a very uncomfortable single bed at that!

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank b4ugo_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews