We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good atmosphere”
Review of St Georges House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St Georges House
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Aalborg, Denmark
1 review
“Good atmosphere”
Reviewed 31 July 2011

A perfect place to stay, if you seek a b&b with good service and a friendly - almost homely - atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SabroLarsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    35
    9
    9
    6
See reviews for
26
63
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights. The host Mick was very pleasant and worked very hard. It was no problem to him that we arrived later that anticipated. Breakfast was excellent and kept us going most of the day, although we found the hour slot for breakfast a bit restrictive. The room was small but adequate. It was nice and quiet. Parking was first come first served but other onstreet parking nearby. We found a good pub to eat at within short walking distance 'The Plough & Barleycorn'. I would just like to make a constructive criticm that our hotel room had too much furniture which left less room to move around. The room and hotel could do with getting rid of the silk flowers and drapey curtains (less to dust). Our room could also do with a fresh coat of paint and new bedding, and carpet removed from the bathroom as it was very dated. This did not affect our comfort but might matter to some people more than others.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurreySKIers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

I stayed there with my wife on july 7th and hated it - terriable experience!!
very bad service to us as a couple in comparasion to other guests int he hotel!!!we got DIRTY LOOKS AND RUDE BEHAVIOUR WHEN REQUESTED something.i would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jaypatel1280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairport, New York
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We stayed at the St. George's House Hotel in Shanklin for 3 nights from 1 July to 4 July. The hotel has a cozy feel and a personal touch from the owners. From the moment we walked in, we felt very comfortable and relaxed. The rooms are clean and well maintained. The hotel is conveniently located about 2 blocks easy walk from the beach and Shanklin Esplanade.

In the other direction is the Old Village of Shanklin, which has a number of small shops and good restaurants. Several of the restaurants have live music Thursday through Friday and fun atmosphere. We visited several towns on the east side of the IOW and were most impressed with Shanklin.

The full English breakfast was made to order each morning and was very good. I am still getting used to the English breakfasts (ie. the mushrooms, tomatoes, beans), and I have to say this was the best eggs, mushrooms, sausage, tomatoes I have had to-date. A special treat for me was brewed, filtered coffee!

The only drawback was the firmness of the beds which were to say the least firm.

Overall, we thought a nice hotel, with good breakfasts, conveniently located place to enjoy the IOW.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GolfIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopwas, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

we were met and made very welcome
first impressions of room were very good
we asked for a bath if possible and one was made available
room was a nice size with 2 easy chairs
normal teamaking and bathroom bits and pieces provided
also free bottlesof mineral water that was changed every day
the bathroom was small but ok
in the bedroom there was quite a lot of dust on botom of units and also on trouser press it was obvious these hadnt been dusted for quite a time because it was quite thick
also cobwebbs on light and around ceiling a bit disapointing
the plus points were a suberb breakfast i had full english a couple of days and kippers one day excellent quality food and well cooked and presented
the owners were very friendly

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rammie1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.3 km away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
462 reviews
4.8 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
849 reviews
0.4 km away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Rowborough Hotel
Rowborough Hotel
#1 of 52 in Shanklin
211 reviews
0.3 km away
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel
#43 of 52 in Shanklin
427 reviews
0.7 km away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Georges House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Georges House

Property: St Georges House
Address: 2 St. Georges Road, Shanklin PO37 6BA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Shanklin
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,869 - ₹ 9,010
Hotel Class:4 star — St Georges House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming original Victorian building, St. Georges is centrally situated for the town, beach, cliffs, picturesque Old Village and historic Chine. St.Georges is renowned for its freshly cooked traditional English Breakfast, served in the pleasant and sunny dining room. All rooms are En-Suite, and equipped with Colour TV & Freeview, hospitality trays and hairdryers. Centrally heated and double glazed for off-season comfort. Licensed Bar and Lounge. Free off-street parking. Free WiFi access. Car Ferry inclusive packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your St Georges House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges House Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing