We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Second Great Break at Lower Hyde”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lower Hyde Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2017

This was our second visit to the Holiday Park after our initial visit was so good, Certainly nothing had changed it was still the wonderful place it was.
The Caravan was clean and well situated and more than ample for our needs, The staff were excellent we only had 1 meal on the site choosing to eat in the nearby town but the meal we had was very good and we enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServicePR, Guest Relations Manager at Lower Hyde Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Hi there.

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us!

Were glad we didn’t disappoint! I’m delighted that you enjoyed your break and made great use of the local area.

We are lucky to be so close to the town where there are shops, cafes and even a supermarket at the entrance. We have some great deals for 2018 right now so give us a call before they’re fully booked.

Thanks again for this review.

^Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 1,282 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed in one of the safari tents for a short break before the children returned to school.
After having spent our 2 week long stays at Haven sites this summer & having a terrible experience on both occasions I must admit I was slightly apprehensive about our stay at lower Hyde, & this was to be out first family camping experience.
I can honestly say we all loved every second of our stay & had a amazing experience which I would highly recommend to anyone wanting to give camping a try without all the hassle of bringing your own.

The safari tent was spotlessly clean & well equipped with fridge freezer, kettle, microwave, toaster and sink! Bonus with 3 young children!
The beds were very comfortable & over all we were very impressed with the accommodation.
We did however not have any lamps in the bedrooms or the heater in the living area, but it would appear that the people in the neighbouring tent had raided our tent before we arrived to make there stay more comfortable!
This was in no was the parks fault and the lovey cleaners did say they would find replacements but we didn't mind as it just added to our glamping experience, the kids loved using their torches at bedtime & there was other lighting in the living area.
I wasn't particularly cold of a night time but we did make sure the children all had sleep bags as well as the duvets provided.

The shower block facilities were clean most of the time, and always had hot water.

The park facilities were clean and never to over crowded like we'd experienced at.
We managed to get a seat in the entertainment every evening & the children really enjoyed the entertainment.
The outdoor pool was nice, and the water warm. There was timed sessions but this was probably better for all using the pool as it meant the pool wasn't overcrowded and the loungers and chairs not occupied by people's towels so you could sit next to the pool if you wanted to. Also there wasn't a Que for the water slide which was also down to the times sessions, again a plus!

I noted there was a crèche facility onsite which although we didn't use whilst on this stay will definitely use on our next stay, fab idea!

In all this is a lovely little park close to lots of the islands attractions & price wise I thought it was a bargain and we will are looking forward coming back again in half term.

Thank you Park Resorts for ending our summer holidays on a high and restoring our faith in British holiday parks :)

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Mrs C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServicePR, Guest Relations Manager at Lower Hyde Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Hi there.

Thanks for this 4 star review on your stay in our safari tents!

While I’m saddened to hear on your experiences this summer I’m glad to hear that time with us at Parkdean Resorts was a good one!

I’m happy to hear that all areas of the park and your accommodation were to standard, although I apologise on the couple of items that you were missing when you arrived, however you did identify that the housekeepers were happy to help and warmly welcomed you to Lower Hyde.

We look forward to seeing you again soon, call us direct for great 2018 deals

^Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

I used to come here ~45 years ago with my family for two weeks every year. The barn that used to be the shower block is now part of the entertainment complex I was happy to see something I recognised.

This is a busy site, the pool is definitely too small and the open seating area between the pool and the restaurant needs to be enlarged. At peak times there is a considerable wait for a meal, which is explained before your order is place..... it gets even noisier with hungry children around!

Check-in was listed as 4pm but people were getting in earlier and this depended on whether you accommodation was ready for you. On collection of the keys we were directed to Signature Grove - it is a small circular area away from the main site, extremely quiet and consisting of 12 lodges, some of which are privately owned.

Number 9 was stunning. Very clean and comfortably furnished. Accommodation consisted of a master bedroom with en-suite shower, a double room with two large divans and family bathroom. The main room (double the width of a 6 berth caravan) was open plan and had two sofas, a dining area and the fitted kitchen had an island which housed the fridge and freezer,

A nice addition was the "scullery area " where dirty/sandy items could be washed and stored.

The lodge came with bedding and towels, and was all made up ready for us.

Within a short distance there are multiple supermarkets to choose from including Lidl, Morrisons and Aldi. Prices very similar to those at home. The site shop was well stocked and reasonably priced too.

A short walk to Shanklin beach following the tiles in the footpath, this has not changed but the route down to it has!

All in all an enjoyable week away, lots to see and do but the changeable weather was the only let down.

Room Tip: Highly recommend Seahorse Lodges
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Darkwench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServicePR, Guest Relations Manager at Lower Hyde Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Hi there.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in the Seahorse Lodge.

Thank you for your feedback on your experiences with the pool I will definitely pass your feedback on, however in the meantime I’m happy to hear that your accommodation and location suited your party well and that you became familiar with the local area.

Did you know that you can book a specific unit for 2018? We now have a system where you can pay a request fee that locks you in a specific unit therefore it is guaranteed and you know what to expect! Call us direct for some great deals on 2018.

^Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

We had paid for this venue through a Sun Newspaper Promo and after the initial booking had paid for a couple of upgrades, it was sooooo worth it and a fab place to take our two year old toddlers!

We had accommodation in Meadow View and the holiday home was very modern (nearly new) and, other than the disappointing smell of stale cigarettes, was outstanding! All the mod cons, central heating, fully fitted kitchen, flat screen TV, etc etc.

The site was clean and tidy, the staff (all areas) could not have been nicer, the grounds staff even wave as you drive by! The facilities are first rate, and although we didn't exploit them to their full potential, the staff couldn't do enough.

As a guest of the Lower Hyde site you also get the use of the facilities at the Landguard site next door. Kids fun pool and playpark within a few minutes walk, highly recommended, staff were awesome there too! Only down side was the pool was freezing and the boys only managed 20 mins in the water.

We had a minor issue with the shower and despite me telling them it would be fine and they could deal with after we'd left the site it had been rectified by the time we came back later that day. Brilliant!

To summarise, great for families and a lovely clean site. Well worth pushing the boat out an upgrading, we were very impressed and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank goldenballs999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServicePR, Guest Relations Manager at Lower Hyde Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Hi there.

Thanks for your 5 star review!

Were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Lower Hyde, and upgraded your accommodation.

With the Sun newspaper this gets you into a promotional entry level accommodation.

Everyone has the option to upgrade to a higher specification caravan, and it sounds like you had a great time in result of this!

I’m happy to hear you were warmly greeted by all the staff that you met on park and we hope to see you again soon. Call us direct for some great short break deals for 2018

^Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

We booked this site because of its location. It is in walking distance to the town. We booked a Reef caravan which was formally a gold. The caravan itself was clean and tidy. It had double glazing and full central heating which proved to be a must in September. We had an ensuite toilet in the double room. This was really useful because we had three adults in our group. The site is very clean and tidy. We took our dog and there are numerous country walks going off the site where we could take her. Dogs are not allowed anywhere in the clubhouse which is disappointing because we had to pay an extremely forty pounds so that we could take ours. You are not allowed to leave dogs in the accommodation on their own. There is a shop on site and their prices are reasonable. Staff are polite and hardworking. We had to call for help to light the cooker and staff arrived within minutes. All in all we had a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BevMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServicePR, Guest Relations Manager at Lower Hyde Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Hi there.

Thank you for your 5 star review on your recent break with us.

We are so happy you, your family and your pet enjoyed their stay with us at Lower Hyde.

We have extended our accommodation for guests that wish to bring their pets from entry level up to gold standard accommodation.

There is a £40 supplement for pets however there are many dog walks and dog friendly beaches nearby.

Were happy to hear that you liked your accommodation and made use of the facilities we have on site.

Don’t forget we do also have a Barkdean activity on at Landguard to meet other pet owners on holiday.

We hope to see you again soon at Lower Hyde, call us direct for some great 2018 deals.

^Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
8.2 km away
Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park
2 km away
Cheverton Copse Holiday Park
17.5 km away
The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Rookley Country Park
Rookley Country Park
#2 of 2 in Rookley
788 reviews
1.2 km away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
1.3 km away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lower Hyde Holiday Park - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Hyde Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Address: Landguard Manor Road, Shanklin PO37 7LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Shanklin
Price Range: ₹ 828 - ₹ 4,140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lower Hyde Holiday Park - Park Resorts 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Shanklin, with stunning sandy beaches and delightful coloured beach huts, Lower Hyde is great for families and lovers of the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lower Hyde Holiday Park - Park Hotel Shanklin
Lower Hyde Holiday Park - Park Resorts Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing