We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely family friendly park.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shanklin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Certificate of Excellence
south wales
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely family friendly park.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

We came on a newspaper break (mon-fri). Upgraded to a silver plus caravan and ended up paying more than if we'd booked direct with the park. The caravan was lovely, clean, warm and had everything we needed and more. We were not told by reception that there was a car park at the bottom end close to our van so we lugged everything all though the park only to find we could of drivven there! Luckily it was dry when we were unloading the car and the morning we left as it got very water logged when it rained.
The club was excellent and very child focused, free face painting during bingo and adult puzzle sheets for when kids entertainment on. Didn't really stay late enough for any caberet acts so cant comment on that. We ate at the restaurant on site and the food was fab, much better than we'd expected and unfortunatly our last night.
The pool was also very good nice and warm, friendly life guards and clean changing facilities and showers.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carrieSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    275
    110
    54
    55
See reviews for
581
106
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

My over all stay was good due to the company, the entertainment isnt great have been to other sites with much better. The facility's on site were okay but as I said above other sites are a lot better. The prices of alchol in the main bar are ridiculas compared to the prices in the restaurants in the town. You had to park in a car park at the top and walk to you caravan, luckily we were only the forth one down so wasn't to far to walk for us, considering the park was farly empty we found there was not enough parking Spaces and every night arriving back on site after 9 there wasn't any spaces, leaving up to Park our cars on the ends, (at the risk of being hit)
Overall I wouldn't return to this park as there is other better resorts to go to!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilippaC37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I've been visiting the isle of Wight for 23 years at least twice a year, cottages on the island can become expensive so we decided to give a £9.50 sun holiday a go and book a caravan. We chose landguard and thank goodness we did, it's the best caravan site I've ever been to, so much so we have been three years in a row. The staff are all helpful and friendly and the cleaning team are a credit to the company! The caravan has been spotlessley clean every time and all the vans are modern with all the appliances and equipment u need. I'm always nervous going to caravan parks as I've been to some dives that claim to be excellent, I can honestly say I never feel nervous visiting landguard as everything is always fab!! I even took my parents this year who loved it and we are taking more family next year! Well done landguard and look forward to returning in 2013!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jaynenuneaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poole
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

we stayed at Languard for the weekend with our 4 children aged between 4 and 13. we booked through the Tesco clubcard deals and took the best accommodation available on the deal, which was a gold lodge.we were really impressed! the lodges are beautiful and laid out in a secluded woodland area but there is a short cut leading to the main complex so still no long walks back at the end of the night. the lodge was lovely, really clean and tidy with washing machine, dishwasher and tv and stereo. there was a nice big bathroom and a 2nd separate toilet. we could have happily stayed there for a long time. the bad thing about the woodland area was the lack of pathways in some areas, causing it to get a bit muddy during rainy times.

the park is quite small but well maintained and very clean. the staff were all really freindly and helpful and worked a lot of hours. the bar is a bit pricey and we were a bit lost as the draught cider was strongbow which we don't like and all the bottled ciders were between £4-5 per bottle!
there are a lot of pubs in town that might have been good to check out but the walk was a bit far for us with the little ones so we stayed on site in the evenings.

the evening entertainment was the same type of thing that you expect at any family resort. it was aimed at the younger ones (between 4 and 10 really) but they did a good job, and being a small resort, it was nice that they got to know all the children quite well. our kids had a great time and we barely saw them for most of the evening whilst they were joining in the fun and games so we got a nice break too!

there are not a lot of facilities on the park, but there is a 2nd park just up the road that you can use as well. we ended up using the pool at lower hyde as there was a problem with landguard's pool when we went to swim, which was a bit of a shame as the pool at landguard looked a lot nicer but the children still enjoyed themselves and it was good to know that they put the safety of the residents first.

the island is small so it does not take long to get anywhere by car, there are plenty of days out to choose from. we visited blackgang chine, which the kids really enjoyed. i would not suggest taking kids much older than 9 or 10 there though.

all in all we had a great weekend in a beautiful setting and will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clairenewton79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This site didn't get off to a great start when we found out that we weren't allowed to drive past the car park and had to drag all of our luggage etc across a muddy site in the pouring rain! We have an 18 month baby and have all of the accessories that that entails. I think this is something that needs to be highlighted as it would definitely have made us look elsewhere for our holiday. I'm not against a car free site, but a warning would have been good.

It was pretty cold when we were there and the heaters in the rooms were pretty useless in warming the rooms. When we went to make the bed we found that the douvet wasn't as wide as the double bed so thinking we had been mistakenly provided with a single douvet we asked for a replacement double douvet which turned out to be equally narrow and useless for the task. Again, if we'd known that we would only have a single douvet for the two of us we would have brought our own.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cooking_lawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
I'm sorry that your trip to Landguard did not meet your expectations. We make every effort to ensure our visitors have an enjoyable stay, so I would like to take this opportunity to apologise on behalf of the team and to assure you that we take all feedback seriously. Your comments will be passed to the staff and team at Landguard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
5.6 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
1.9 km away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
7.1 km away
Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Cheverton Copse Holiday Park
6.8 km away
Rookley Country Park
Rookley Country Park
#1 of 2 in Rookley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
1.7 km away
Old Shanklin Guest House
Old Shanklin Guest House
#3 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Property: Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Address: Landguard Manor Road, Shanklin PO37 7PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Shanklin
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landguard Holiday Park has a lovely friendly atmosphere, set in sheltered woodland, just a short walk from the traditional seaside town of Shanklin. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Landguard Holiday Park - Park Hotel Shanklin
Landguard Holiday Park - Park Resorts Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing