We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
16
7
1
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
16
7
1
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews airy dining room lovely garden twin room great location isle of wight ann breakfast cleanliness lounge island
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2021

Having stayed at this hotel on previous occasions
John clearly explained that due to COVID restrictions our room would not be serviced on a regular basis
However our room was in excellent condition as was the breakfast, lounge, TV room and garden
I felt the breakfast had improved from our last visit but in the last two days I had to refuse the excellent fry up.
Many thanks to your excellent staff hope to see you again in 2022.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 23 August 2021

Our second stay at Somerton Lodge. John is a welcoming and helpful proprietor,e.g. accommodating allergies. Our room was compact, clean and comfortable but suffered from some car park noise. Breakfast was good, with friendly, efficient service. John's team seemed to be making a good effort to manage social distancing, e.g. in the airy dining room.

Room tip: Rear rooms modern but have some noise from gravel car park
Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_lucy_show
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 9 August 2021

The most basic needs met but the room we stayed in was barely big enough to get changed in. We found a used sleep mask on the floor and some old pain killers amongst various other previous guests’ dusty belongings; just more attention to detail required in general, when cleaning the rooms. The furniture is cheap and outdated leading us to pretty much live out of our suitcases instead. The clothes that we did store in the wardrobe became damp over our 3 day stay and the pillowcases smelt damp too. The wifi, whilst it was free, was atrocious and pretty much redundant.

Overall, I found the bottom floor of the hotel quite claustrophobic and would not stay again by choice.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Amyyyymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 4 August 2021 via mobile

Lovely old house set close to the heart of shanklin - we did room only for our stay - staff were friendly and accommodated an early arrival - Rooms are basic but. Very comfortable and well equipped and when we asked for more tea making facilities these were with us within minutes - On site parking lovely garden to sit in
This is a non alcohol hotel which we didn’t realise but lotta of pubs locally to visit
Great stay and excellent value for money would recommend

Room tip: On site parking / alcohol free hotel
Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Sallprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 August 2021 via mobile

This hotel has recently had new owners, so previous reviews which we read before booking should not be taken into consideration.
Vegetarian cooked breakfast was poor, Mattress was old and bed broke when sat on. It felt a business first, hospitality second.
We left after one night, got a refund but the relaxing time we had hoped for was gone.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank hazelw772
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews