We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food as always”
Review of Ocean's Diner - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ocean's Diner
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
totnes
1 review
“good food as always”
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We are regular customers here, and always have a good time. The owner always remembers us, and treats us like friends.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank veronica g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“Something has gone wrong - sadly”
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Loved this restaurant when it first opened. Great American Diner feel, menu to match, great music and fab decor.

Have eaten many times, but on my last couple of visits something is just not 'working'.

Have waited exceptionally long time for food. Items missing from orders. Desserts where the ice cream was 'fluid' and general apathy from newer staff.

Last visit sat at the back of the restaurant only to hear the 'chefs' swearing and shouting....not good.

Would be a shame to see this one 'fail'...they can and have done better!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Quinonostante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Most Disappointing Meal Ever....”
Reviewed 16 September 2011

After reading some of the reviews on here we decided to eat here for my niece's birthday.

We ordered our food, after half an hour we were told some of our choices weren't available!!! HALF AN HOUR AFTER ORDERING!!!!!

We waited for over 1 1/4 hours for our food,
- when it came it was cold.
- All the steaks were cooked the same even though we asked for varying levels.
- "Veg" came in the form of sweetcorn and sweetcorn only!!
- Most of the food was microwaved, including Jacket Potato and the BBQ Ribs!!

All in all, the service was ok, the food was terrible, the wait was ridiculous and to cap it off thy cant take payment by card!!!

I have travelled through the deepest and darkest parts of Africa and had better meals and been able to pay card!!

DO YOURSELF A FAVOUR, CHOOSE SOMEWHERE ELSE!!!!!!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hungryandbored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
“brilliant.”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

this restaurant is brilliant, polite staff and so clean, i would highly recomend

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bob j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christchurch
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“"lovely"”
Reviewed 30 August 2011

"stopped for a coffee and soft drinks for the children, we were really impressed with the decor and cleanliness the toilet are a credit the staff very polite and o top it off we were given free doughnuts with our coffee"" we will visit again".

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kezza21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean's Diner also viewed

Paignton, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing