We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Same we had to leave”
Review of The Cherwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cherwood
Ranked #27 of 96 Paignton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Same we had to leave”
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Yet again, another fantastic stay at the cherwood! A truly home from home experience. Pauline has become a friend, not just a landlady, and as for the lovely sue, she can't do enough for you, allways polite and very pleasant. Our usual room was fresh, and clean, lovely comfy bed, and the usual superb breakfast, very,very YUM YUMS!!!! We can't wait to back next year!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAPPHIRE023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    20
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
56
77
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2011

It was my first stay here, but I hope not the last. Pauline really made me feel welcome from the start.
My bedroom and bathroom were very well appointed and the bed so comfortable I went out like a light!
The Full English breakfast was just superb: poached egg, sausage ,bacon, mushroom etc. - it was all good and really set me up for the day.
Thanks Pauline - highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

I was very disappointed. I chose this place on previous reviews. The room was damp and smelt of mould. The bed was hard and uncomfortable. The lady I believe called Sue was extremely rude and abrupt. I found her attitude was awful and offensive. By far the worst place I have ever stayed.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank alysong52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

This was my third vist to this little gem tucked away on a side street off the main costal road in Paignton. The owner, Pauline, was ever cheerful even thought I was running late and checked in mid evening. After a visit to the local Thai (excellent) a very comfortable bed awaited followed by a good nights sleep. A good hot shower in the morning was followed by an amazing breakfast that was so good I didn't bother with lunch! I ate about 10 hours later!!!The best breakfast I have had this year I think!!! I will come again. A lovely hotel. Thanks Pauline!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSBRSB2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

This review is two weeks late owing to the amount of time spent in the gym trying to lose weight from the breakfast provided by Pauline and Sue.
We were welcomed like long lost family even though we had never been there before. We have stayed in other establishments in Torbay, but this by far has to be the best stay we have had, it is in a nice quiet location and very close to the centre of Paignton.
All the review bar one are absolutly spot on and you can beleive them.
We will be returning in the near future without fail.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alan4914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
0.5 km away
Travelodge Paignton Seafront
0.0 km away
Devon House Guest House
Devon House Guest House
#13 of 96 in Paignton
132 reviews
0.1 km away
Dalehurst Guest House
Dalehurst Guest House
#30 of 96 in Paignton
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Ashleigh Guesthouse
Ashleigh Guesthouse
#10 of 96 in Paignton
153 reviews
0.0 km away
Brampton Guesthouse
Brampton Guesthouse
#31 of 96 in Paignton
92 reviews
0.0 km away
The Haldon Guest House
The Haldon Guest House
#21 of 96 in Paignton
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cherwood? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cherwood

Property: The Cherwood
Address: 26 Garfield Road, Paignton TQ4 6AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Paignton
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,898 - ₹ 7,217
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cherwood 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please phone us for the best rates....All rooms with en-suite shower room, guest house offering quality throughout. Free Wi-fi, Fridges and fans available on request,Hair Dryers,Ironing Facilities on request, LCD TVs, Parking Nearby at a cost of £4 for 24 hours,Children very welcome, 2 mins from the beach,5 mins from train/coach station. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cherwood Hotel Paignton
The Cherwood Paignton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing